We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Portsmouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ferry House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferry House Lodge
Ranked #12 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Port Richey, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Portsmouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Ferry House Lodge is a surprise. Like a hidden treasure. Located across from the cross channel ferry port, on a very busy roadway, it is accessible to the city attractions and easy exit and only a 90 minute drive to Gatwick Airport. The building is mid 1800's and has an interesting history. The interior is clean, spacious and modern with lobby decor connecting to its historic roots with a few antique furnishings and old paintings. The rooms are modern, comfortable bedding and huge bathroom. The staff couldn't be more friendly, helpful and pleasant. Breakfast tasty and filling. The only down side was our room as in the front of the building and facing the oncoming traffic, constant sounds of traffic could be sleep disruptive.

Room Tip: Because it is on a main road, ask for a room away from oncoming traffic and towards the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    50
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
20
55
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Well located for city centre bus stops - a short walk from town / shops and only a few yards from Dickens' house (and opposite ferry port for those who need it). Very pleasant ambience in the public areas, rooms very clean and tidy with toiletries, kettle / drinks etc in rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent full breakfast included. Rate for B&B compares well with other options in the city. In front rooms traffic a little noisy but not too annoying. A faulty shaver point in 1 room.

Room Tip: Get a room not fronting directly on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

One night stay before catching the ferry, the terminal for which is across the road. Didn't have time for breakfast as the ferry meant an early start. Would have given five stars if an alternative was offered (such as a take-away breakfast like a yoghurt, fruit and cereal bar, or similar). I stayed in a premium room which at £70 (£75 with breakfast) was good value for money. The room was spotless, well appointed and the bathroom was excellent, with a huge walk in shower. Very friendly welcome and check out. This b&b definitely punches above its weight.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DazHelColeRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subiaco, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Like most when I first saw the Ferry House I wondered what I had done but once through the door could not have wished for more. The two ladies went out of their way to make me as comfortable as possible and even arranged taxis and a hair dressing appointment for me. The room was very comfortable and spacious and it's closeness to the town and the Ferry ports very convenient. I have nothing but praise for both the management and the facility.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagledocwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for one night en route to a cross channel ferry as the B&B is very handy for the port, literally five minutes walk across the dual carriageway but with underpasses and proper crossings. We'd arrived by train and got a taxi to Ferry House as it's a little distant from the Station and Portsmouth is not very pedestrian friendly. Our room was quite small but comfortable and well equipped. We were on the ground floor which meant complicated use of keys in different doors but also meant we didn't have to lug cases up stairs. The breakfast was very good. Special thanks to the young Indian who is there doing hotel management training as was so helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroleburrows9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just spent 2 days and nights here recently, and I can fully recommend this B&B. Friendly staff, great breakfasts and the rooms were clean and welcoming. The bathroom was superb, with a great shower!. A bit tricky to get to from the motorway, but not really much of a problem after the first time.

Room Tip: Spent two nights here, and I can fully recommend both the friendly staff, excellent breakfast and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights. The staff is very helpful and present, breakfast was good and the rooms are really clean.
We got a shock when we arrived as the hotel is between the motorway and blocks of flats. We had read good reviews on tripadvisor but it was a real shock !
The car park did not look safe, the doors of the hotel are always locked.
In fact all went well. We didn't have noise in the rooms and we could walk to the main places to see in Portsmouth.
We will try the GEORGE next time (same owner)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l-anglais1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
8.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.0 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferry House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry House Lodge

Property: Ferry House Lodge
Address: 472 Mile End Road, Portsmouth PO2 7BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located opposite the international ferry port, our 12 bedroom B&B boasts all en-suite rooms, free parking and Wi-Fi and a delicious cooked or continental breakfast. Newly refurbished to a very high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ferry House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing