We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab as always”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Southsea premier inn is brilliant. We often stay in premier inn and we're always happy with the service we recieve.

Definately recommend it. Great place, near the pier and the restaurant is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophandLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    285
    134
    45
    23
See reviews for
257
337
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

stayed at the premier inn southsea with family 2 children aged 4 and 9 had a great stay, rooms very clean and bed really comfy, a little noise from the fairground but we were all asleep by time it had finished so did not cause a problem, excellent for location as we were in portsmouth to visit the HMS Victory but also needed something to keep the kids entertained too, which the pirate crazy golf and fair did just the job, also great if visiting the isle of wight as the wightlink and hovercraft are just a short walk away. i would definately recommend this premier inn, staff were very welcoming and helpfull and the resturant was very good value for dinner and breakfast was everything you needed, also a small soft play for the kids!

Room Tip: rooms on the back are quieter as you are less likely to hear the fairground
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

excellent, clean rooms, resonable quiet location, although situated close to archade this wasn't a problem.situated right beside the sea and a costal walk which was good at the end of the day to stretch your legs for 10 mins,
staff very helpful and polite, restaurant well run and food very good, meal deal offers excellent value for money. travelled on my own lady 43, felt safe and secure there. 10 mins walk to the holiday inn,which was almost 3 times the price!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

we stayed here twice now in catching the ferry from Portsmouth to Caen. It's really well located next to a little beach with a hovercraft crossing, and fairground. There's a massive park opposite, and a restaurant on site. The rooms have always been spotless and more than adequate for the job. Restaurant on site has a little soft play area for the children which we wore our kids out in before crashing for an early crossing

Room Tip: book early if you want a room that sleeps four
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianjojohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This is a very nice little PI right on the front at Southsea. We were very impressed with the location combined with cost of staying.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susi-of-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

For a business trip, this hotel is in a great location to get to the isle of wight and good for restaurants on the harbour front.

It needs a face lift in terms of decor but that is my only criticism.

As you would expect with premier inn, good service, good breakfast and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richnkirst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stopped for 2 nights whilst visiting the area. Free car parking under the hotel, it is a bit tight to get in and out of though! Check-in was quick and easy and the staff helpful. Room was clean, comfy, surprisingly spacious and everything in good working order. One down side was a lack of soundproofing, both internally and externally, you can hear quite a lot. Whilst this was not too annoying as it was quiet and off season in summer when it is busier this could be more problematic.

Room Tip: Top floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
994 reviews
4.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,524 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal spot on Southsea seafront, walking distance from the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Please note that there are a limited number of parking spaces at this hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing