We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free wifi - not!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Standard Premier Inn experience.
One of the reasons that I stay at Premier Inns is the free Wifi. It didn't work at this site, but the paid for service was fine!
Probably wont use again as there are other Premier Inns nearby that are easier to get to.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

On arrival the receptionist was very helpful,the room was clean but cold however once we switched on the radiator it soon warmed up. The bathroom was clean but no heated towel rail. The shower is average and not of the power variety. Breakfast is the only meal that I can say about and it was excellent, the coffee was the best I've had in a hotel. I looked at the menu out of interest and think that there was something for anybody. All in all a good place to stay but I wonder what the noise value outside would be in the summer as there are amusement arcades nearby.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you will have to ask. The other side is a view over the rugby pitches consequ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryBGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed at the Premier Inn at Southsea, Portsmouth, as it gave us easy access to the excellent shopping in the city and is a great hotel for the money. The staff were charming and helpful - the restaurant was very good and overall we were very pleased with our stay. We will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cerisy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. The room was spotless and the receptionist friendly and helpful. The view out of the window was of a roof! We stayed in November and it was very quiet, however I would imagine it could be noisy in the summer as it is next to a fun fair/crazy golf etc. Breakfast was good, with fresh fruit and yoghurt as well as cooked. We were a bit miffed that it cost us £2 each more to book breakfast online with our room than booking it when we got there. Nice walks along the seafront watching the big ferries coming in and a good view of the Spinnaker tower. Car parking is free in a small underground car park, but is on a first come first served basis. We went out in the evening and had to park on the side of the road when we returned as the car park was then full.

Room Tip: check to see if it is cheaper to book breakfast when you get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My daughter is at Portsmouth University and lives in Southsea. This Premier Inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting. It's right on the seafront and next to the funfair, but don't let that put you off. There was no disturbance and it closes at 9pm anyway. The hotel staff were pleasant and efficient and the place extremely clean and comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant next door which was very pleasant. The food was well served and the staff friendly. We have stayed at many Premier Inns and this is up there with the best of them. We will be staying here again for certain.

Room Tip: Book in advance on a Premier Saver if possible as you can get a really good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I found hotel very clean, good position - just 2 minutes walk from bus station, superb beds and pillows, warm and friendly staff. The restaurant is so warm with nice view, food is good - the best deserts ever and the staff is so helpful - just excellent!!!
I was for 2 nights only but if you are not looking to have pool, gym... in the hotel this one is just what you need.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badurinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

As soon as I arrived, I rang my husband to say that we had to come back here to stay as a family.
Excellent value for money, beautiful location. I don't think I've ever stayed so close to the sea.
I didn't have time for breakfast, but I did have a nightcap at the bar. Very friendly staff.
A place to recommend, even if you'd really rather keep it a secret to be sure of getting in next time. About 20 minutes walk (along the quay) to Gunwharf Quay and the Historic Dock (just follow the trail along the pavement). Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
988 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £60 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal spot on Southsea seafront, walking distance from the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Please note that there are a limited number of parking spaces at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing