We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend football stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“weekend football stay.”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

great location. staff great 10/10.. as usual prem lived up to its repartition . 10/10. now stopped in 6 different prems and all are excellent. the prices are great value, the beds vary comfy, rooms spotlessly clean. all so right next to hovercraft for i.o.w. and the war museum and castle just a mile away well worth a visit...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    285
    134
    45
    24
See reviews for
259
338
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Our room was large, comfortable and very clean overlooking the solent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Cooked breakfast in Brewers Fayre was inferior quality and not enjoyable. We would definitely not eat there again. It was a15 minute walk to Gunwharf Quays where there are lots of restaurants!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mocat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2013

the premier inn was great ..food next door not so good . worth looking around to eat somewhere else..parking could be a problem if you arrive late as it is very small and opprates on a first come basis..plenty to do with children within walking distance

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Next to the Hovercraft Terminal at Clarence Pier. Stay tainted by noisy residents. Good location for Gunwharf and our favourite restaurant " Relentless" The Brewers Fayre Pub looked at little bit dated and the buffets did not look good. But much better food than the White Horse

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul22harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed for three nights, main purpose of visit was to visit two lots of relatives, one in Ryde IOW and the other in Portsmouth, so we chose this hotel for convenience - the Hovercraft goes from round the corner and the Portsmouth address was within walking distance. The reception staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area, and coped with the complete loss of the computer system with admirable calm! Luckily the rooms operate with ordinary keys, not sure what would have happened with a card system in the circumstances. The beds were comfortable and the room well sound-proofed, could not hear sounds outside despite being very close to the funfair and ferries and Hovercrafts (if you open the window you can hear the passenger announcements on the ferries, but nothing otherwise). We luckily got a car park place and didn't move the car until we left. The restaurant is OK (three nights probably the most you would want). The historic dockyard attractions are a short walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prisyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Long weekend - marathon on the Sunday and attractions of Portsmouth. Well located, bus stop within yards or about 15 min walk to Portmouth Hard/Spinnaker/shops/Victory - or similar to city centre.
Had sea view at rear, overlooked the fun fair (closed in December) could see the ferries and just about hear the nearby hovercraft.The fun fair would probably be quite noisey when open.
Car park was ok for us, parked Sat and din not move car until leaving on Monday - the council car parks are very expensive - not sure what happens if the Premier car park was full.
The Premier was as expected,clean and tidy - a full sized bath,room soon warmed once heating on - friendly staff.
.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHWMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

As usual the Premier Inn lived up to its reputation. Stayed here for the first time and chose it on price. (An offer running for the date we needed) Parking is the problem. Plan to arrive early and do not leave your space if you manage to get one. We were late and nearly had to stay on the council car park for £10.00 overnight!!!! The night porter was magic, and found us a space foc.
Did not rate the Chef and Brewer. Restaurant closes at 9.00pm. Food was motorway standard, but filling. For convenience we would definitely use again. Staff were all helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deepee561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
997 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,526 reviews
4.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal spot on Southsea seafront, walking distance from the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Please note that there are a limited number of parking spaces at this hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing