We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fab location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Lovely long weekend stay at the Premier Inn Portsmouth,location amazing hotel met with all our needs,breakfast was easily the best value for money yummy! & Tony who seated you at breakfast was an absolute hoot! what a gem!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    259
    122
    38
    19
See reviews for
232
306
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here for one night in September with our little girl checking in was very quick room was a family room and was really spacious and incredibly clean. The room had a lovely view and the hotel itself is in a great location. The price to stay one night was quite pricey at £97 without breakfast. But with the location u can forgive the price. The only bad point of our stay was the room was absolutely baking hot!!! The window opened a minimum amount and we were given a fan which helped a little but the room was uncomfortabley hot! But I would stay again! But avoid room 21

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here previously 3 years ago, and again for the last weekend of summer holidays.

Very clean, rooms adequate for stay.

Hair dryer not very good, bring your own.

Breakfast very good selection. Drinks prices reasonable.

Our room over looked fair, no noise after 9:15, fair closes at 9:00pm.

Only gripe room warm, no air con, just a small fan in room.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbyb70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the South Sea premier inn for a week in August. We were down from Sheffield for a close family wedding and chose the hotel as we have stayed there once before. The location is outstanding, a stones throw from the sea front, an adjoining restaurant, a fun fair and cafes and shops all just a short walk away. One point I will make is that the fun fair is quite noisy and is open until late on weekends so if you are looking for peace and quite at all times this may not be the hotel for you. We found though that once the window was shut the noise was negligible. There is no air conditioning in the room but we were provided with a large fan which was more than adequate for our needs. Our room was nice and big, the bed as with all premiers was amazing! A wonderfully comfortable kingsize bed that if I could fasten it to the top of the car and drive home with it I would!! The room was immaculately clean and there is a daily housekeeping service, you can opt out of this if you want a lie in by placing a do not disturb sign on your door, which we did after a couple of late nights. The en suite bathroom is a good size and again immaculate. You are only provided with one towel each but you can ask at reception for more. We found all the staff to be friendly and attentive, we will definitely stay here again. It can be expensive on certain nights of the year but I really feel that it is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a short family break was a very enjoyable experience. brilliant location very clean, hotel staff were always on hand to help. Brewyers pub was nice, good selection of food and breakfast is worth getting if you have kids under 16yrs as they eat free. marina is about a 20 minute walk worth visting as they have a designer outlet which u can grab some bargains, lots of nice restaurants too good day out. Would definetly stay in premier inn southsea again if i was to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neelam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great hotel to stop at.friendly staff who will do anything for you. Ideal for stop over to France. Very good for a base to discover parts of the south coast.very close to the beach and town centre. Felt very safe walking around Southsea.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkM131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

A noisy old fashioned hotel, the rooms are still locked using keys which is most unusual in 2013, there is an amusement park out side so lots of noise! You could try closing the windows but in summer it's difficult as there's NO AC in the rooms, food very poor quality, furniture antiquated, avoid at all costs!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Southsea Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
1.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal spot on Southsea seafront, walking distance from the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Please note that there are a limited number of parking spaces at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing