We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good example of a well run Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good example of a well run Premier Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here just one night on business, parking is in a car park under the hotel and finding a space was a little tricky (parking sensors on Scotty!). Check-in was a breeze and Michele was extremely helpful and friendly. Room pretty much standard premier inn, but clean and no issues there. Used the attached Brewer's Fayre for both evening meal and breakfast. Both meals great and well presented, though the breakfast (cooked to order) had the edge. Staff all friendly in the restaurant too. Overall a pleasant stay by the seaside.

Room Tip: Sea views are available but the funfair is between you and the coast so don't expect unrestricte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    262
    127
    38
    19
See reviews for
239
311
20
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North London UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

To be clear from the start I've always rated Premier Inns in the UK as good value hotels, so when we decided to spend a few days in the Portsmouth area we chose the Premier Inn Southsea. for the unprepared this hotels location can be a bit daunting as it's right next to a full size funfair, pier, amusements, and the hoverport. The hotel however is well soundproofed and we were not bothered during our stay by any of these.

The room was as expected clean, tidy, and basic. This Premier Inn has no air conditioning but this was not required in early September. Could be an issue in summer but rooms had fans provided. Pub next door was the usual standard no gripes there, breakfast was good, freshly cooked to order. Eating out in the evening requires you to drive the 5-10 minutes into Southsea or Portsmouth.

Best of all was the attitude of the staff, very helpful, and willing to please. To the degree one sweet young lady gave up her staff parking place to us when the hotel car park was full. The hotel car park is small and can be used by non hotel residents. Quite honestly the staff could not do enough for you.

We are already planning to go back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the beach give you a good view of sea traffic going to and from Portsmouth, but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagdabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

the inn is in a great location. lovely breakfast eat as much as you want. parking as been good so far on my visits. with a sea view can watch the ships passing on the way in and out of portsmouth. handy for naval base and shops. lovely pub you can seat outside and watch the ships passing

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garylinda0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Lovely long weekend stay at the Premier Inn Portsmouth,location amazing hotel met with all our needs,breakfast was easily the best value for money yummy! & Tony who seated you at breakfast was an absolute hoot! what a gem!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here for one night in September with our little girl checking in was very quick room was a family room and was really spacious and incredibly clean. The room had a lovely view and the hotel itself is in a great location. The price to stay one night was quite pricey at £97 without breakfast. But with the location u can forgive the price. The only bad point of our stay was the room was absolutely baking hot!!! The window opened a minimum amount and we were given a fan which helped a little but the room was uncomfortabley hot! But I would stay again! But avoid room 21

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here previously 3 years ago, and again for the last weekend of summer holidays.

Very clean, rooms adequate for stay.

Hair dryer not very good, bring your own.

Breakfast very good selection. Drinks prices reasonable.

Our room over looked fair, no noise after 9:15, fair closes at 9:00pm.

Only gripe room warm, no air con, just a small fan in room.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbyb70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the South Sea premier inn for a week in August. We were down from Sheffield for a close family wedding and chose the hotel as we have stayed there once before. The location is outstanding, a stones throw from the sea front, an adjoining restaurant, a fun fair and cafes and shops all just a short walk away. One point I will make is that the fun fair is quite noisy and is open until late on weekends so if you are looking for peace and quite at all times this may not be the hotel for you. We found though that once the window was shut the noise was negligible. There is no air conditioning in the room but we were provided with a large fan which was more than adequate for our needs. Our room was nice and big, the bed as with all premiers was amazing! A wonderfully comfortable kingsize bed that if I could fasten it to the top of the car and drive home with it I would!! The room was immaculately clean and there is a daily housekeeping service, you can opt out of this if you want a lie in by placing a do not disturb sign on your door, which we did after a couple of late nights. The en suite bathroom is a good size and again immaculate. You are only provided with one towel each but you can ask at reception for more. We found all the staff to be friendly and attentive, we will definitely stay here again. It can be expensive on certain nights of the year but I really feel that it is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
4.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal spot on Southsea seafront, walking distance from the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Please note that there are a limited number of parking spaces at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing