We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Standard Premier Inn”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stopped for a single night and location was excellent - whilst my room faced the city, I'm sure the sea facing rooms have a good view - the hotel is adjacent to the Pier and on the seawall - bracing walk along the seafront! Rooms are obviously like all other premier inn rooms! Only issue was with breakfast as they lost my order

Room Tip: Sea view - even numbered rooms I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djgwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    274
    128
    43
    22
See reviews for
249
322
21
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
195 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Typical premier Inn. Rooms fine. Staff friendly. The public areas of the hotel are a bit shabby. The brewers fayre attached to the hotel is average. Food okay. Polite service. Not sure what hotel would be like when funfair running. Or in the heat

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardenhodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacena, Brazil
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I and my wife enjoyed stayng there.It worthed the price.It is very close of the most important things we had to visit there.We got there 6 p.m and leaved
at 2 p.m. next day.The hotel staff is very nice and polite.


  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We received a very warm and friendly welcome and then the service only got better. The staff couldn't do enough to help during breakfast as my husband was on his own with our baby son. The room was excellent, clean and comfortable.

I would recommend this chain of hotels to anyone

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here just one night on business, parking is in a car park under the hotel and finding a space was a little tricky (parking sensors on Scotty!). Check-in was a breeze and Michele was extremely helpful and friendly. Room pretty much standard premier inn, but clean and no issues there. Used the attached Brewer's Fayre for both evening meal and breakfast. Both meals great and well presented, though the breakfast (cooked to order) had the edge. Staff all friendly in the restaurant too. Overall a pleasant stay by the seaside.

Room Tip: Sea views are available but the funfair is between you and the coast so don't expect unrestricte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

To be clear from the start I've always rated Premier Inns in the UK as good value hotels, so when we decided to spend a few days in the Portsmouth area we chose the Premier Inn Southsea. for the unprepared this hotels location can be a bit daunting as it's right next to a full size funfair, pier, amusements, and the hoverport. The hotel however is well soundproofed and we were not bothered during our stay by any of these.

The room was as expected clean, tidy, and basic. This Premier Inn has no air conditioning but this was not required in early September. Could be an issue in summer but rooms had fans provided. Pub next door was the usual standard no gripes there, breakfast was good, freshly cooked to order. Eating out in the evening requires you to drive the 5-10 minutes into Southsea or Portsmouth.

Best of all was the attitude of the staff, very helpful, and willing to please. To the degree one sweet young lady gave up her staff parking place to us when the hotel car park was full. The hotel car park is small and can be used by non hotel residents. Quite honestly the staff could not do enough for you.

We are already planning to go back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the beach give you a good view of sea traffic going to and from Portsmouth, but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagdabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

the inn is in a great location. lovely breakfast eat as much as you want. parking as been good so far on my visits. with a sea view can watch the ships passing on the way in and out of portsmouth. handy for naval base and shops. lovely pub you can seat outside and watch the ships passing

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garylinda0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
4.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
974 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,498 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal spot on Southsea seafront, walking distance from the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Please note that there are a limited number of parking spaces at this hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing