We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for an out of season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good value for an out of season”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hotel is very nicely situated between Southsea attractions and Portsmouth - Historic Dockyard, Old Portsmouth and Gun Wharf Quays. All these areas are within about 20 minutes walk away. You would not want to stay at this hotel when the Fun Fair is operating unless you were young and it was one of your reasons for staying in this particular place which is more or less attached to the Fun Fair.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    274
    127
    43
    22
See reviews for
249
321
21
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Needed somewhere to stay after a family birthday party, ideal sea front location, free underground parking, very friendly receptionist "Michele"
Nice clean room,cot provided for baby, and room pre heated.Only minor was could not get the wifi to work, apart from that will book again

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MRELECTRASCAPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Booked a room online for the weekend, for me and my Wife about a week before we arrived.
Gave them a call and asked if it was possible to get a room with a sea-view. They said they will try, and they did. Nice to wake up to that in the morning.
We were over an hour early for check-in, but again, this was no problem at all.
Got parked in their car park easily enough.
The staff were always helpful, friendly and polite.
Room was spotlessly clean.
Also ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night. They were busy, but still managed to get my slightly awkward food order to us quickly and correct.
Would definitely go back again, this branch of Premier Inn, is a great advert for the rest of them.

Room Tip: If you book online, phone the branch and ask if it's possible to get a room with a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have just spent the weekend here with friends as a base for exploring Portsmouth. We couldn't have had a friendlier welcome from the staff. Our room was spacious, modern and with everything we needed to make us comfortable. The location is excellent, overlooking the sea and within easy walking distance of the historic dockyard, shops and restaurants. In the opposite direction there is a lovely walk along the promenade. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Received great service here, staff so helpful and welcoming.

Great location for the maritime museums/shopping/eating out.

We had a sea view room looking out on the ferry route and the arcades, we were off peak being 12th Jan but it wasn't noisy at all.

You also get a car parking pass for the car park which is a sea front car park seconds from The Premier Inn.

Highly recommend for a no frills stay in Portsmouth.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I notice that a previous review had trouble with the very low bed in their disabled bed and have to agree but with a positive note too. The beds in disabled rooms at ALL Premier Inns are ridiculously low but you'll find that each of the hotels have bed raisers on demand. Just contact the hotel directly prior to your stay and the raisers will be on the bed ready for when you arrive.
We stay here many times throughout the year and are always greeted warmly by the staff and enjoy our stays.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Great location and friendly welcome.
Lovely and clean and quiet.

We stayed with our 6 year old daughter. We parked our car no problem and didn't use it again until we left.

We ate breakfast in the adjoining brewers fayre, first day was cooked on order and second day(New Years day) was buffet breakfast as was busier.

Equally good. Staff so friendly here. The lovely lady serving us noticed I had a bad cough and brought me a hot water and honey.

You eat in the window overlooking the sea, so can watch the ferries go by.

Didn't eat any other time here but looked ok.

Nice walk into gun wharf or south-sea.

Another nice touch was complimentary magazines at reception.

Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 49NicolaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
4.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
973 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,496 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal spot on Southsea seafront, walking distance from the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Please note that there are a limited number of parking spaces at this hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing