We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A very nice stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night in an accessible room whilst we went to see Foreigner in concert at the Portsmouth Guildhall.

Location and room - well located for access to the Town Centre. We got a cab and it cost £3.50. If you can walk with no problems, it is probably a 20-30 minute level walk. The hotel is situated on the sea front near to amusement arcades and the hovercraft to the Isle of Wight. There are two marked disabled parking bays but room for other badge holders if required. There is level access to the reception and a lift to upper floors. The bathroom had a low bath and a shower attached. The bed was low, supportive and comfortable. The room was not air conditioned but was heated. We suffered from noise in the room above us with a child running around. We had mentioned it the previous afternoon and whilst it was quiet when we returned late at night the noise started early the next day. The staff were very understanding and refunded the cost of the stay without even being asked. We did not expect it at all and the receptionist explained about the good night sleep guarantee.

Staff - they could not do enough for us. The lady on the late shift ordered us a taxi and gave us the number so we could avoid using a taxi rank later in the evening. The night shift guy was friendly and told us to let him know if we needed anything. The early shift lady was sympathetic about the noise and refunded the money.

Food - there is a Brewer's Fayre Restaurant attached to the Premier Inn. Friendly staff, great food and a really nice view of ships travelling along Portsmouth Sound.

I recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the amusement arcade if staying during the season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    285
    134
    45
    23
See reviews for
257
337
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We visited her on 27th March and had a family room.Checking in was fine and welcoming.The staff at this hotel are all friendly and made us all feel welcome.
The strange thing is it didn't feel like a Premier Inn at all.It's a very old building the walls are very thin.Hearing everything from the other rooms.Our family room was standard size but quite dated.Old style heater which we couldn't get working.The bed wasn't as comfy as the usual Premier Inn beds.I didn't like the old style key lock on the door either.I didn't feel very safe at night.
The bar was okay.not as clean as it could have been with dust on the knifes and forks.Also worn chairs.We had breakfast here which was fine.
We would visit again if we got a good deal but wouldn't pay full price for this Premier Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for a family occasion. Staff were extremely helpful & welcoming. Room & facilities excellent & sparkling clean.
Although there was no problems with noise during our stay, I imagine in the height of the summer season the amusements & arcades surrounding could pose a problem for some - but great fun for others !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 335bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown,Isle Of Wight
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

my wife and I use this hotel fairly regulary for 4 or 5 night breaks, its handy from the isle of wight as its a short walk from the southsea hovercraft.
the staff are always friendly and make you feel at home,
the food is fantastic and the price is good value.
we have just come back from 4 days there and already rebooked for 5 nights in june.
as I said they are simple the best.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have to admit I'm a bit of a snob when it comes to choosing a hotel and would normally seek out a 5* one, that might feature a famous global Chief Executive in its advertising rather than Lenny Henry. But this is the second time I've slept in Lenny's bed and wow what value. Attentive reception staff, huge clean room and en suite and oh the breaktfast was just perfect and served by such a friendly manager. Fantastic good value for money. Such a joy to see people getting it right. So you don't get the dressing gown and slippers, who cares when everything else is so perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seadog229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here in March on a Sunday night. It cost £29 but was worth a lot more.

The room was very clean, a decent bar and an amazing service at breakfast. The staff were super friendly when we arrived and throughout the stay. I would definitely stay here again.

It is a great location for the hover craft.

Room Tip: Some have sea view others face inland. We faced inland. A sea view would have been a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beardavishnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

6 of us booked 3 rooms for a one night stay. We arrived a little early and were booked in straight away with no hassle. The staff were very welcoming and friendly.
The room was as you would expect at a Premier Inn, clean, tidy, a choice of pillows and the beds very comfy. The breakfast was great and set us up well for the day. Location was convenient with a short walk to Gunwharf quays and a early morning walk along the sea front. Thought it might have been noisy with the pier & funfair but wasn't, but it is only March. Would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
994 reviews
4.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,523 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal spot on Southsea seafront, walking distance from the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Please note that there are a limited number of parking spaces at this hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing