We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Cheap, comfy, good location. Stayed for 1 night with son to visit historic dockyard and gun wharf quays. Easy to walk to and a nice walk across the front. Recommend spice island for a drink while watching the shops coming and going

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisd100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    270
    127
    38
    20
See reviews for
243
317
20
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 1 night for a friend's birthday. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately the car park is very small, necessitating parking on the road. Apparently the traffic wardens swoop like hawks from 9:00 so we had to be up early to move the cars. I would wonder about staying there in the summer however as it is right on top of the fun fair.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband had booked this premier inn for 2 nights as we were away to celebrate our 35 wedding anniversary the parking is underneath the hotel but there are only about 20 places. when we got to the room there was only a very small window at one end of the room and it looked out onto the roof of the brewers fair pub next door when the window was opened we were able to pick the moss of the roof and you would need the light on just to able to read the setting on the heating display. If you are offered room 46 make sure you have torch

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Southsea Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

we stayed here for 1 night for a concert in portsmouth guildhall (only 5 mins away by taxi) and we were not dissapointed, the location is right on the seafront you could not ask for better, the room was clean, spacious and up to the usual high standards that premier inn give the staff were very professional and helpful . there are seafront amusement arcades and rides that are nearby (which is great if you have children) but we didnt hear any noise in our room, there is a nice bar/restaurant with reasonable prices, if your visiting portsmouth?southsea this is the place to stay

Room Tip: if you want peace and quiet ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
195 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night in an accessible room whilst we went to see Foreigner in concert at the Portsmouth Guildhall.

Location and room - well located for access to the Town Centre. We got a cab and it cost £3.50. If you can walk with no problems, it is probably a 20-30 minute level walk. The hotel is situated on the sea front near to amusement arcades and the hovercraft to the Isle of Wight. There are two marked disabled parking bays but room for other badge holders if required. There is level access to the reception and a lift to upper floors. The bathroom had a low bath and a shower attached. The bed was low, supportive and comfortable. The room was not air conditioned but was heated. We suffered from noise in the room above us with a child running around. We had mentioned it the previous afternoon and whilst it was quiet when we returned late at night the noise started early the next day. The staff were very understanding and refunded the cost of the stay without even being asked. We did not expect it at all and the receptionist explained about the good night sleep guarantee.

Staff - they could not do enough for us. The lady on the late shift ordered us a taxi and gave us the number so we could avoid using a taxi rank later in the evening. The night shift guy was friendly and told us to let him know if we needed anything. The early shift lady was sympathetic about the noise and refunded the money.

Food - there is a Brewer's Fayre Restaurant attached to the Premier Inn. Friendly staff, great food and a really nice view of ships travelling along Portsmouth Sound.

I recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the amusement arcade if staying during the season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We visited her on 27th March and had a family room.Checking in was fine and welcoming.The staff at this hotel are all friendly and made us all feel welcome.
The strange thing is it didn't feel like a Premier Inn at all.It's a very old building the walls are very thin.Hearing everything from the other rooms.Our family room was standard size but quite dated.Old style heater which we couldn't get working.The bed wasn't as comfy as the usual Premier Inn beds.I didn't like the old style key lock on the door either.I didn't feel very safe at night.
The bar was okay.not as clean as it could have been with dust on the knifes and forks.Also worn chairs.We had breakfast here which was fine.
We would visit again if we got a good deal but wouldn't pay full price for this Premier Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for a family occasion. Staff were extremely helpful & welcoming. Room & facilities excellent & sparkling clean.
Although there was no problems with noise during our stay, I imagine in the height of the summer season the amusements & arcades surrounding could pose a problem for some - but great fun for others !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 335bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
4.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal spot on Southsea seafront, walking distance from the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Please note that there are a limited number of parking spaces at this hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing