We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

this is mine and my husbands second visit and it was lovely, the staff was friendly and smartly dressed
there was always something at reception when we needed help
the room was nice and cool and very clean
defo coming again next year best place to be

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    259
    122
    38
    19
See reviews for
232
306
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Not sure how long Premier Inn have had this site, but it is in serious need of refurbishment. It looks like it might have been a Travel Lodge at some point. As for Lenny's comfy bed endorsement, the beds at the Premier Inn at Southsea, were the most uncomfortable I've stayed in, and I stay at Premier throughout the UK. We also had a hot water problem, and not being able to open the windows as seized up. The exterior is dreadful, and looks almost derelict.
It's location is ideal, being directly on the seafront, with a short walk into historic Portsmouth. But in future, I will not be staying at this specific Premier Inn in Southsea. Finally the adjacent public car park at night is busy with the local dogging fraternity, so not for those who are shocked easily. Fortunately the local Police regularly drive through and move them on.

Room Tip: Book into the Portsmouth City Centre rather than be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Southsea Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very helpful, friendly staff. Room was comfortable and clean. Visited in a heatwave and the room was rather hot. A fan was provided which helped. Air conditioning is being fitted to the hotel shortly which would have helped.It is not like we get that many heatwaves in this country though! Car park facilities a bit limited. There is a pay and display car park nearby but its pretty expensive. There is also parking in nearby roads,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack1e176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We chose to stay at the Premier Inn Southsea because we had to take an early ferry to Normandy. We couldn't have picked a better place: extra comfortable beds gave us a fabulous night of sleep and we had a lovely stroll along the beach before and after dinner. There are a few restaurant options along the sea, none of which is particularly fancy, but the one we chose had a nice terrace overlooking the water. While the pier there at Portsmouth is not the most exciting place to be in the summer (the place is dead after sunset), the Southsea Premier Inn is an excellent hotel for one night, with the ferry terminal a 5mn drive away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heiranig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here for one night as I had a meeting in Ryde the next day and decided to try out the hovercraft. The location of the Premier Inn could not be better for the hovercraft. I think I was the only person there on work as the area is certainly built for summer holidays and to have a few days in Southsea the location of the Premier Inn is perfect - it is right on the coast. My room overlooked the theme park and pier.

The pub was great for an evening meal and breakfast was good in the morning. My only gripe is parking. When I arrived the car park was full so I did need to pay for parking on the street as I needed to leave my car there the next day whilst I went to Ryde.

Next time I visit Ryde I'll do the same as it really helped not having to take the car to the IOW.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snKits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Inn looks a little dated and shabby from the outside and there is not much in the way of amenities close by. Noisy at times from other guests and the ten pin bowling can be heard from some of the rooms.
However, my two nights stay was improved with the pleasant and helpful staff that work at the reception and in the restaurant. Always eagre to try and make my stay that much better. Thank you
.

Room Tip: Sea facing is possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I always find Premier Inns a notch above Travel Lodges. Booked a few months in advance for a cost of £59.00 a night which isn't that cheap for a Premier INN, THEN AGAIN THIS WAS THE SEASIDE. Looks a bit faded from the outside but everything clean & tidy on the inside. Very handy free parking. There is a little bit of noise from the funfair, but nothing to worry about & since you will be out of your hotel for most of the time, not a problem, as it doesn't go on that late & starts at 10.00am in the morning. Didn't eat at the Brewers Fayre as there is a little café just a few paces from the hotel which was fine

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purbeckphilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
1.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal spot on Southsea seafront, walking distance from the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Please note that there are a limited number of parking spaces at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing