We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great premier inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great premier inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the 4th august for one night before catching th ferry to Spain. Room was spotlessly clean and air conditioning was very welcome and not noisy at all. Room overlooked the funfair but there was very little noise or disturbance from it and the kids loved all the rides. Very convenient hotel for walking everywhere. Breakfast was good with a good choice and set us up for the day. The staff were all great, pleasant and welcoming and went out of their way to help with suitcases etc. A great stay all round

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    262
    127
    38
    19
See reviews for
239
311
20
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for a few days at the end of July, having stayed here on previous occasions. The hotel is in an excellent position and was spotlessly clean. The new air conditioning was brilliant and made a welcome relief to the heat outside. The staff are so polite and helpful and the breakfast and evening meals were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vorbasse, Denmark
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in room 42 - spotless clean and good space. Small window looking upon a roof - no nice view and the room became very dark. Comfy new medium hard bed and good tea facilities. Air con worked ok but made a lot of noice especially in the bath room. Room 42 is in their quiet zone and we heard absolutely nothing from the pier. We parked in the hotels private parking house just beside the hotel - including the price for the room. Very nice service. We will be happy to come again however we will ask for a room with a view.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KristensenVorbasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire,England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed in a sea view room opposite the funfair. Noise was no problem at all. Stayed 3 days to look around the area, loved Gunwharf with its shops and many restarants and spent a day at the Dockyard (used Tesco vouchers for this!). We were going on to the Isle of Wight, thus the reason for staying here. Our car stayed in the underground car park the whole time. The staff and facilities were very good here, though we tended to eat at Gunwharf. Had breakfast here, good and also enjoyed their Italian buffet one night.
We had a problem with our bed, the springs on one side kept springing so one of us moved into the single bed. Mentioned to reception next day and asked for a topper, when we came back we had a brand new bed with a great topper. Very impressed so went to thank reception who said that they had already refunded our account with the money for that night.
Situation is the big thing here, you can walk everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Telfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is literally on the waters edge and has fantastic views of the harbour. As you would expect from Premier Inn, the rooms are very clean and comfortable with most of the amenities required for a good stay. They have a lift to the upper floors and air conditioning which has been wonderful during the recent period of very hot weather we are having. There is also a secure car park with a limite number of covered spaces.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We travelled with a 2.5 year old and a 5 month old baby and needed somewhere to stay the night before taking an early ferry to Isle of Wight the following morning. I wanted something cheap and cheerful but with parking, easy drive to ferry, child friendly, clean and easy booking. So after trying all the websites (Booking.com etc) and finding it very difficult to book an extra bed for toddler (and not paying for a triple room) and a cot for the baby (and not paying for a family room of 2 adults and 2 children) I just went to Premier Inns Website and booked a room within 2 minutes.

We got a spacious, clean and great room which was facing the recreational area in the back which meant it was very quiet (room 37).

Coming to this hotel with children is a great choice as there is a funfair outside. My 2.5 year old eyes were about to pop out with joy and amazement when he saw this.

Parking was super easy.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel for a short stay.

It took 6 minutes to drive to the ferry in the morning.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moi77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roermond, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
150 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We arrived and got checked in and then, and only then did the receptionist ask me if I had been called by Premier Inn about the water being cut off at 9 o'clock the next morning. There were no alternatives offered and this woud not have anything to do with the good night guarantee.
Car park is under the building. Hotel is right on the beach, The room was as expected from a Premier Inn. View was of the beach and funfair.
Only the bed was uncomfortable compared to any other PI we have stayed in.
Didn't complain because we were told on arrival that the hotel was full and we didnt get to bed untill after midnight. So another room wasent n option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
4.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal spot on Southsea seafront, walking distance from the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Please note that there are a limited number of parking spaces at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing