We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hoel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hoel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here as a last minute stay after our ferry was cancelled and were delighted with what we found. The parking isn't great (in the street outside), but once inside this all melts away. The room was nicely furnished, and the breakfast in the morning was fresh and high quality. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was very nice on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianwesthampstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay. We are thrilled to hear you would stay again and that you liked our breakfast- next time we would be delighted if you were to try our dinner menu too! Thanks again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    26
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
135
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,295 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We celebrated valentines night here at the restaurant. We were actually staying at one of Number Five's partner hotels (Number 4) and were taxied here and back at the end of the meal. I think this is a fairly new addition to the Mercer collection of Hotels in Southsea which are being promoted as a group of boutique hotels. Number 4 lived up to our expectations so I have no hesitation recommending that hotel.

On arrival at Number 5 reception was a bit clunky having been taken next door to The Florence Hotel and then brought round to Number 5. We were left with our coats (weather was dreadful) and then these were hung up after a while, service was prompt but needed just that bit extra attentiveness to make it special. Wine was sensibly priced, food was generally good but on a couple of items just missed the mark. Goats cheese tarts were over cooked/slightly burnt, salmon starter good, roast lamb good, vegetables good, palate clenser good and chocholate mousse had unfortunately seperated and wasn't very much like a mousse. .Paying the bill was amusing as the reception for the card reader was somewhat intermittant so getting a signal was like trying to adjust an old TV aerial to get better reception. Maybe some of this is just teathing troubles as Number 5 is new, lets hope so as with a little bit extra eye to detail it could be really good

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed over the weekend for a romantic getaway and were both really impressed. The rooms are lovely with nice toiletries and lovely fluffy towels. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was divine, especially the cheesecake! Having free high speed wifi was also a nice bonus. We will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we are thrilled you had an enjoyable romantic getaway and were very impressed with the hotel. We are also glad you found our staff “very friendly and helpful” as this is how we aim to be! Our restaurant is very popular and we receive a lot of compliments about the food so we are pleased you appreciated it and have described it as divine. We would be very happy to see you again in our hotel and restaurant. Thanks again for a lovely review- we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stay in Portsmouth on a regularly basis due to our family leaving down on the southcoast in this seaside town. This is the 2nd time we have stayed in a boutique hotel from the Mercer Collection and this too was beyond our expectations. The food was delightful, the rooms stunning and the service was of the highest degree - the staff couldnt do enough for you. All in all another great experience and we are hoping we can stay in all of the other hotels within the collection in the next twelve months.......

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesCornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are delighted to read your review of Florence Gardens, and that you chose to stay with us a second time. We are committed to ensuring our guests have a wonderful experience with us and so we are very happy to hear that your stay here exceeded your expectations. We would be pleased to welcome you again to stay in any of our hotels within The Mercer Collection. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to having you stay for the third time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I'll keep it short and sweet, this is the second time I've stayed at a hotel that is part of the 'Mercer Collection' & the second time it's more than met my expectations!! Great food, friendly staff, clean & very well presented rooms!! You won't find better in the South!! 5* all day long!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your email, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for coming back to us!

We hope you will try all the hotels in the Collection

Kind regards

All at The Mercer Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for the weekend arriving friday night and leaving sunday morning. The decoration and general ambiance was excellent. We were made to feel very welcome and the food in the restaurant was also excellent. Will definitely stay again..

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jclark08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you again

all at

The Mercer Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Not often my wife and I get away from the kids and she couldn't have found a better place to stay.
Great welcome on arrival (nothing was too much trouble), stunning room and great location. We look forward to staying again and will recommend you to our friends. We also didn't realise how much Southsea and Portsmouth had to offer!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your escape night away.

We hope you will return to the hotel and Portsmouth soon

Kind regards

All at The Mercer Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 4 Malvern Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Number Five Boutique Hotel and Restaurant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant offers elegant accommodation 2 minutes from the beach. This stylish property in Southsea features individually designed rooms with free parking and Wi-Fi. The hotel has an A La Carte restaurant just opposite called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms also serving fine pub food cask ale, craft beer and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing