We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've stayed with The Mercer Collection before and it was a pleasure to come back and try their newest property. Perfect as always: first class reception, clean rooms, delicious food. I'm looking forward to staying with you again. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you liked our new hotel and found the room clean and the food delicious. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    28
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
145
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Beautiful Edwardian villa tastefully and thoughtfully refurbished. The bedrooms are very well appointed, very clean and the bed very comfortable. The local water doesn't lend itself to the best cuppa, but the excellent breakfast will more than compensate. A wonderful stay, definitely recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoultonN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are also pleased you appreciated the hotels décor and breakfast. It’s a huge compliment that you would recommend us- we really appreciate it! Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The service was outstanding and the staff are really friendly, they couldn't of done more to accomadate me.

Rooms are really clean and tidy with Great interior.

Food in the restaurant was superb, more like a michelin star restaurant than a hotel.

Would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends. 10 out of 10.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
This is one of the greatest compliments to hear that we are one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in- we really appreciate this. We strive for perfection in our hotels with spotless clean rooms and aiming to provide the highest level of service for our guests. We are thrilled you found our staff really friendly and that they couldn’t have done more to accommodate you. Thank you for your review and we hope you will stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My fiancé and I had our valentines dinner here. It was both our first time at the restaurant which I found online. The meal and the service were superb, and the staff went out of there way to make it a special experience, one of the best meals we have had in Southsea. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omotayo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for such an amazing review! Our team always do their very best to ensure guests at our restaurant and hotel receive the perfect service. We are delighted to read that you had a special experience and that it was one of the best meals you have had in the area. We are very happy you decided to have your valentine’s dinner with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here as a last minute stay after our ferry was cancelled and were delighted with what we found. The parking isn't great (in the street outside), but once inside this all melts away. The room was nicely furnished, and the breakfast in the morning was fresh and high quality. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was very nice on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianwesthampstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay. We are thrilled to hear you would stay again and that you liked our breakfast- next time we would be delighted if you were to try our dinner menu too! Thanks again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,307 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We celebrated valentines night here at the restaurant. We were actually staying at one of Number Five's partner hotels (Number 4) and were taxied here and back at the end of the meal. I think this is a fairly new addition to the Mercer collection of Hotels in Southsea which are being promoted as a group of boutique hotels. Number 4 lived up to our expectations so I have no hesitation recommending that hotel.

On arrival at Number 5 reception was a bit clunky having been taken next door to The Florence Hotel and then brought round to Number 5. We were left with our coats (weather was dreadful) and then these were hung up after a while, service was prompt but needed just that bit extra attentiveness to make it special. Wine was sensibly priced, food was generally good but on a couple of items just missed the mark. Goats cheese tarts were over cooked/slightly burnt, salmon starter good, roast lamb good, vegetables good, palate clenser good and chocholate mousse had unfortunately seperated and wasn't very much like a mousse. .Paying the bill was amusing as the reception for the card reader was somewhat intermittant so getting a signal was like trying to adjust an old TV aerial to get better reception. Maybe some of this is just teathing troubles as Number 5 is new, lets hope so as with a little bit extra eye to detail it could be really good

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed over the weekend for a romantic getaway and were both really impressed. The rooms are lovely with nice toiletries and lovely fluffy towels. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was divine, especially the cheesecake! Having free high speed wifi was also a nice bonus. We will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we are thrilled you had an enjoyable romantic getaway and were very impressed with the hotel. We are also glad you found our staff “very friendly and helpful” as this is how we aim to be! Our restaurant is very popular and we receive a lot of compliments about the food so we are pleased you appreciated it and have described it as divine. We would be very happy to see you again in our hotel and restaurant. Thanks again for a lovely review- we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
644 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
700 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 38 in Portsmouth
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 4 Malvern Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Number Five Boutique Hotel and Restaurant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant offers elegant accommodation 2 minutes from the beach. This stylish property in Southsea features individually designed rooms with free parking and Wi-Fi. The hotel has an A La Carte restaurant just opposite called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms also serving fine pub food cask ale, craft beer and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing