We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but a little noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a pretty room (No 2) that mixed quality contemporary furnishings with some nice touches like the original Edwardian bathroom tiled floor. Bathrobes would have been good as would a second towel each to dry face/hair. The reception and the breakfast were very good, as with all the hotels in this group. But noise from other guest rooms' televisions was somewhat intrusive. And the open plan arrangement of the dining room at the bottom of the stairwell meant that our Sunday morning lie-in was curtailed once the breakfast service began. The clattering of crockery and the scraping of chairs carried right up the stairs.

So I'd probably use one of the other hotels in the group in future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank BGPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

The staff in particular Luiz and Mary were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are a little on the small side but beautifully decorated. As for the food to say it was amazing wouldn't do it enough justice. Overall a fabulous stay and will defintely be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nermal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are glad to hear that you found our staff “welcoming” and that they “couldn’t do enough”- our team aim to give guests a perfect high standard of service. Thank you for trying our restaurant, we are happy to hear you found the food to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Took my wife to number five for an evening meal having had a recommendation. All i can say is that it was absolutely fantastic. Too often restaurant's sacrifice food quality in favour of bling and fancy tablecloths, at no. 5 they've struck the balance just right. The service was attentive but unobtrusive; the atmosphere was quaint but eloquent, the food was sensational. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_Saviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we are very happy you decided to dine in our restaurant and it’s lovely to hear you found it “absolutely fantastic”-this is such a compliment. Thank you so much for your kind words, we hope to welcome you back in the future to stay and to dine in our restaurant again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Made some pictures in my room.posted them on fb and everyone asked where i was.harmony in style, food and atmosphere.great servise despite many young people working.will come back one fine day for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for the review. We are pleased you have been sharing photos of the hotel this is a great compliment! We are delighted you found the service great, thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We wanted a relaxing, easy going break away to recharge, and we found what we were looking for in a beautifully renovated Edwardian house.
The staff, right from our arrival, were extremely courteous and professional but with a friendliness beyond the norm.
We booked a superior room that was very comfortable, good bed and a large shower.
We had a small problem with the TV in our room, someone was with us within 5 minutes to review and fix the problem, what more can you ask.
The food in the restaurant is very good, with one or two unusual twists that made the menu just that bit more interesting.
The hotel location is within a 20 MPH zone and is very quiet, parking is either on the hotel land or by means of a free parking permit issued by the hotel reception.
We would recommend the Mercer Collection in Southsea / Portsmouth as ideal for easy access to the many tourists attractions within walking or short ride distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Firstly, thank you for your review of our hotel we really appreciate it and we are thrilled you had an enjoyable stay. We are glad you were able to relax and take some time off; we are also pleased you decided to dine at our restaurant too. Thank you for recommending us this is a huge compliment! We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I'm not a big traveler so business trips for me are quite exhausting, and there is no place like home. It is hard for me to relax in new places.
Yes everything was on a high level, might even say that on very high level. But what surprised me while staying at #5, were the sweet though out room details and really warm personnel. Though still not like home, but close enough.

BTW office administrator received a big treat for choosing this #5 for me.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vytautas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you found your stay suited your needs and we are pleased you liked the room details. We would be more than happy to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've stayed with The Mercer Collection before and it was a pleasure to come back and try their newest property. Perfect as always: first class reception, clean rooms, delicious food. I'm looking forward to staying with you again. Well done!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you liked our new hotel and found the room clean and the food delicious. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 39 in Portsmouth
689 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 39 in Portsmouth
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 4 Malvern Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Number Five Boutique Hotel and Restaurant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £71 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant offers elegant accommodation 2 minutes from the beach. This stylish property in Southsea features individually designed rooms with free parking and Wi-Fi. The hotel has a Fine Dining Restaurant The Kitchen serving a stunning menu on the ground floor and a Gastro Pub The Florence Arms serving homecooked pub food cask ale, craft beer and cocktails just opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing