We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here, my wife and I were hoping for a relaxing break after a very busy time for us, this hotel was perfect. A nice relaxed atmosphere, lovley rooms and nice professional staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaGlyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We are very happy we could help you to relax at our hotel. We are committed to providing an excellent service to all of our guests, so we are more than happy that you found our staff professional and the hotel to have a relaxing atmosphere. Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    25
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
132
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Beautifully appointed hotel with really friendly staff. The room was one of the biggest we have ever stayed in, light, bright and spotlessly clean. The bed was huge and deliciously comfortable. Food in the restaurant was imaginative and beautifully prepared.
The bathroom and shower were to the same standard as the rest, styling and spotlessly clean. We will definitely come back here again. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DaveHermelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you here and we’re very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in our hotel being immaculate, so we are glad to hear you found the room spotlessly clean also the bed "huge" and "comfortable". Thank you once again for taking a time to leave a review and we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

As a regular visitor to Portsmouth i always like to stay somewhere a little different and this wonderful hotel was just perfect! The decor is superb and our room was beautifully furnished with a super comfy bed and a really lovely seating area. We ate in the restaurant and the atmosphere was relaxed and unrushed, not to mention the food which was excellent, good on price and of five star quality.The staff cannot be faulted and the service was impeccable. After talking to Mary about the plans for the gardens we will most definitely be back in Summer!

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of the building so was very quiet and really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mna76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for leaving such a kind review. We are glad you found the restaurant excellent, a good price and of five star quality. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest level of service, so we are pleased to hear you found the service “impeccable”. We look forward to seeing you again in the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I booked to host a Baby shower here for my friends who live in the area, as I have stayed in this chain a couple of times now and was told about the newest addition, Number Five.

There was a group of approx 20 ladies, and the hotel arranged an afternoon tea for us all. It was beautiful, and there was so much that after one sitting there were still too many cakes sitting around, in the end each guest ended taking a doggy bag! The chef had made every cake from scratch and there were some lovely ones that when you took a bit the sponge was bright pink inside! Mary, our waitress/ front of house lady was extremely helpful, she helped me with all the decorating I did before everyone arrived and didn't let me touch any clearing up.

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed it, a great afternoon made better by amazing food and excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jody3432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

What a great find for my fathers 80th Birthday, complete professionalism from Daniel & Ellie on initial enquiry & the staff on the evening were amazing something sadly missing in most restaurants nowadays, the food was cooked with love and delicious, the night was a great success and will definitely be back soon, highly recommend

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a pretty room (No 2) that mixed quality contemporary furnishings with some nice touches like the original Edwardian bathroom tiled floor. Bathrobes would have been good as would a second towel each to dry face/hair. The reception and the breakfast were very good, as with all the hotels in this group. But noise from other guest rooms' televisions was somewhat intrusive. And the open plan arrangement of the dining room at the bottom of the stairwell meant that our Sunday morning lie-in was curtailed once the breakfast service began. The clattering of crockery and the scraping of chairs carried right up the stairs.

So I'd probably use one of the other hotels in the group in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BGPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The staff in particular Luiz and Mary were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are a little on the small side but beautifully decorated. As for the food to say it was amazing wouldn't do it enough justice. Overall a fabulous stay and will defintely be returning very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nermal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are glad to hear that you found our staff “welcoming” and that they “couldn’t do enough”- our team aim to give guests a perfect high standard of service. Thank you for trying our restaurant, we are happy to hear you found the food to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 4 Malvern Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Number Five Boutique Hotel and Restaurant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant offers elegant accommodation 2 minutes from the beach. This stylish property in Southsea features individually designed rooms with free parking and Wi-Fi. The hotel has an A La Carte restaurant just opposite called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms also serving fine pub food cask ale, craft beer and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing