We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Past Expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Pyrford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Past Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Not a glamorous hotel exterior; all the excellence is inside. The previous comments are a true reflection of the friendship and efficiency of staff, the very good modern accommodation and the food but, perhaps, they don't go far enough! The food was well prepared, appealing and substantial and served by an excellent team. Mary, the manageress, runs a wonderful team so efficiently. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble when we left, we felt we were leaving lasting friends. and the company is owned by a Portsmouth man. Excellent

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger than others but all the ones we peeped into were a good size. The hotel is sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    25
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
132
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I honestly couldn't fault this hotel, and would definitely recommend it. The hotel itself was easy to find and they provided me with a pass to enable me to park for free. The manager, who greeted us was so warm and friendly, she immediately made us feel welcome. All the staff were genuinely nice, and made us feel like nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel and our room were immaculate; everything clean and fresh, but not clinical and hostile. The room was spacious and homely, and the bathroom, especially the shower was lovely.
My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are very happy to hear that you would recommend us. We aim to provide a high level of service so we are delighted to hear that our staff made you feel welcome, and that you found nothing was too much trouble for our staff. It is pleasing to hear your comments about the room as this is exactly what we aim to achieve. Thank you again for your review and please do not hesitate to call us to arrange your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed here for Easter weekend and there is a reason why everyone rates this hotel as excellent - because it is. There are actually three hotels in Malvern Road, Southsea owned by the same group, which share some facilities such as the reception and the bar. I stayed in a generous double at the front on the first floor of No 4.

The room fittings are generally excellent (although a larger flat screen TV wouldn't have hurt). The bed is very comfortable and there is a very well appointed shower room. There is free WiFi which works across the entire hotel and a generous free breakfast was also included in the room rate.

The hotel also has two excellent restuarants, one more of a bistro and the other a little more formal. I ate in each on different nights and both meals were excellent. Ther service is also very good and the staff are unformerly helpful and friendly.

The hotel is about two minutes from the seafront and about 15 minutes walk from the hovercraft terminal. There is also a very frequent bus service from the end of the road into Portsmouth which goes straight to the Hard Interchange - next to the Railway Station and the Dockyard Museums. The only downside its that its a bit unreliable when there is traffic conjestion but its cheap.

All-in-all, if you are visiting Portsmouth I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked the Florence Gardens very late for the Easter break. Ellie, in reservations, performed a bit of sleight of hand to get us the type and level of room we wanted. Lovely room with bath & shower and an excellent location for visiting Portsmouth and Southsea. I parked the car on Friday evening and didn't climb into it again until we departed on Tuesday.

As dedicated foodies, we found Portsmouth to be pretty much a culinary wasteland. I was surprised when there were precious few recommended restaurants in Michelin, the Good Food Guide and the Mobile Food Guide--we tried a couple in TripAdvisor's top few (an Italian and a Wine Bar) and found lovely people and good service, but food that could charitably be described as mediocre at best. The only exception to this prior to our last evening was Restaurant 27--competent cooking but we felt somewhat over expensive for what it offered, efficient service which lacked some warmth and little ambiance. Slightly apprehensive, we decided to have our last evening meal in Florence Garden's fine dining restaurant, the Kitchen. We needn't have worried--the Kitchen is brand new, doesn't advertise (yet), but provided far and away the best meal we had over a four night stay. The menu is not overcomplicated, but food is prepared with great care and presented in generous proportions--after our first three nights, a genuine treat.

Our only small niggle with Florence Gardens was a slightly strange phenomenon which transmitted only the bass and percussion from the music in the restaurant and bar into our room, resulting in a constant thump, thump. thump off and on during our stay. Having said that, the staff happily turned it down when requested and this leads into the final and most important element of this review: The staff. Mary, Rita, Louis and Isidro were in evidence almost continuously during our four days and looked after us with a cheerfulness and efficiency rarely seen these days. We want to thank them for their kind attention and I predict, given that this standard continues, the Mercer Group of Boutique Hotels on Malvern Road will go from strength to strength.

Room Tip: Florence Gardens room 2--only room (in this building) with bath AND shower. Lovely, sunny room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warthog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel comprises a grouping of large Victorian villas tucked away in a residential street just off the seafront at Southsea. The room we stayed in had been stylishly decorated and spacious with a comfortable bed, two very comfortable chairs and a well-positioned tv. The bathroom facilities were very good and the overall design was a contemporary take on a Victorian bathroom. The toiletries provided were L'Occtiane and a a perfect complement to the room.
The staff were really friendly and extremely helpful. This was my birthday weekend and they insisted that Mrs CF and I had a free drink (which only resulted in token resistance on our part!). We had an excellent meal in the restaurant and the breakfasts were of a very high quality.
The parking is a little tight for a large car, given the limited space available and the narrow streets but that was only, at worst, a minor inconvenience.
The hotel is well located for the Old Dockyard, Gunwharf Quays and the ferries and hovercraft to the Isle of Wight.
Put simply, we would have no hesitation in booking a return visit. .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your lovely comments about the hotel and we are very pleased to hear you found the rooms stylish and comfortable, also our staff “really friendly and extremely helpful”. Our team do their best to assure guests receive a high standard of service, so we are delighted you found this. Please do not hesitate to give us a call to arrange your next stay in Portsmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This boutique hotel is really three separate Victoria fronted houses on Malvern Road. We had room number 2 in number 4 Malvern Road. A fabulous room catching the afternoon sun. Very comfortable with a rain shower. Breakfast downstairs a perfect set up for a day out on the sea front just a short walk. All in all highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Middlemiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased you liked the room and found the breakfast a perfect set up for the day. We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

3 Large houses have been combined and refined/ extended into the most stylish, comfortable , roomy accommodation you could wish. So far ,so excellent but what makes the stay a 5 star experience is the staff who are friendly ,efficient and attentive. We had 3 people in the party with different allergies . They were forewarned but never forgot. Nothing was too much trouble.. There was an excellent restaurant

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
It’s always a pleasure to read our guests describing the hotel as “excellent and 5 star”! We are also glad to hear you found our staff friendly, efficient and attentive. Thank you so much for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 4 Malvern Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Number Five Boutique Hotel and Restaurant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant offers elegant accommodation 2 minutes from the beach. This stylish property in Southsea features individually designed rooms with free parking and Wi-Fi. The hotel has an A La Carte restaurant just opposite called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms also serving fine pub food cask ale, craft beer and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing