We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Really loved the hotel!!”
Review of Florence House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Florence House
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This hotel is very friendly and comfortable.
Stayed here as I had business in the area.
Would highly recommend staying here.
DON'T LISTEN TO THE NEGATIVE FEEDBACK AS THIS IS A GREAT HOTEL DEFIANTLY WILL COME BACK AGAIN :O)
Thank you all at Florence House Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cambridge1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

We arrived as a party of 7- we had booked and paid a large amount of money in Feb 2011 for two nights accomodation at a boutique hotel for 4 rooms. On arrival they could only accomodate for 3 rooms despite having our bookings to hand and proof of payment. After numerous discussions one of our party had to accept being put over the road in the other hotel - but had to move each night! Also they could not access this room until 10.00pm that evening so were asked to make do with sharing one of the allocated rooms. We were not shown to our rooms- just given the keys and left to find out own way - in fact we were made to feel the whole debacle was our fault. We were not given extra towels for the couple who had to share - it made us feel like we were backpacking rather than staying in a 'boutique' hotel. We were not even offered a drink to compensate for the mess and stress when we were meant to be on a relaxing holiday. With regards to this 'boutique' hotel -the rooms are small - the photo's on the web site are a con - exagerated to make the rooms look large. A couple of the rooms were also shabby and dirty - taps hanging off, cheap pine furniture, mouldy shower curtains, blinds in the bathroom have never been cleaned, carpet on the stairs was badly stained with something -quite filthy! Towels are not replaced on a dailty basis - instead - they take the used damp towels, roll them up and leave them on the bed - so you end up with smelly towels! Beware!
Funny I also note the management dont respond to any comments on this site unless positive!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salvaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

Thank you for your review. We are extremely sorry for the room booking error and, again, would like to apologise for this. We certainly would never intend to make a guest feel they were at fault for a booking error so I’m sorry if this is how it came across to you.

Our photos are designed to show the breadth of the room in one shot – unlike other hotels who take only a snapshot of an area of the room not giving a full impression of design or furnishings.

Regarding cleanliness of the hotel we are very disappointed to read this. We pride ourselves on immaculate rooms and cleaning staff are instructed to follow strict procedures. We are addressing this with them and taking all these comments onboard.

We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence in our hotel and that you will consider returning to us if you are visiting Portsmouth again. Please call the hotel directly to arrange.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We were booked in to Florence House for 3 nights and checked out after one night Very basic guesthouse (not the promised boutique hotel taken on a very wide camera lens).The web site pictures are misleading and need to be changed. Rooms were dusty and generally average standard. Cheap pine furniture and grubby carpet and small rooms. Bathroom was very small and again of guesthouse standard. I was charged a whopping 135GBP per night but really only worth 70 GBP. Cooked breakfast not included and an extra 8 GBP!!! The hotel has just been taken over, but the new staff seem a bit overwhelmed. They were, however, helpful in suggesting other hotels and did offer a reduction im my room rate. I chose to leave. I arrived late at night after a long journey.The girl on arrival was unwelcoming and I had to carry my bags up a narrow flight of stairs. Our expectations were of a stylish boutique hotel but were let dowm I would suggest a re vamp of rooms and carpets and to get the pricing right. 70 -80 GBP per night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danton00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

It is disappointing to read such a misleading and inaccurate review on a guests stay when we are powerless to have this removed.

Our experience of your stay is very different. Upon arriving at the hotel I understand you sought to find somewhere to light a cigarette and became rude and disruptive when staff prevented you from accessing our kitchen to use the hob oven for health and safety reasons. When directed to the local shop a 2 minute walk away for a lighter you were again rude to staff. Assistance was offered more than once with your bags but refused and you even came to apologise to the member of staff on reception later that night for your behaviour.

We are surprised and frustrated that this review is allowed to remain on the site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Me and my wife stayed in portsmouth for a weekend away and were bitterly dissapointed with this hotel. The picture's on the website DO NOT look like the room at all !
We stayed in a double room which was priced extremely expensive for what we received. If you are looking for a 5* boutique hotel look elsewhere because this hotel was a BIG let down.
The staff at the hotel seemed to have no idea of what they where doing and when we arrived to the hotel on the friday, the girl on reception seemed miserable and made us feel very unwelcome!
The breakfast service was EXTREMLY slow and we had to wait a long time for our cooked breakfast which was also a dissapointment and NOT WORTH AN EXTRA £8 on top.

Room Tip: Avoid this so called HOTEL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ania16245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

Thank you for letting us know your views. Without knowing the exact details of your reservation or the room you booked I am unable to comment on the rate you paid or comparative pictures. Our website shows a variety of rooms from Standard Double to Superior Suite and the rate paid determines the size of the room.

Regarding Breakfast every item on our Al La Carte Menu is cooked to order with the finest ingredients and we would hope that if you were in any way dissatisfied with the breakfast you made waiting staff aware so we could rectify this immediately. Breakfast is a key part of any hotel stay and we are sorry to read you did not enjoy this.

We are not, and do not claim to be, a 5* property so I am sorry if you had thought this was the case before your arrival. Regardless of the star rating of the hotel we aim to make every guest’s stay enjoyable and are disappointed we have not managed to do so on this occasion.

I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence in us and that you will consider returning to Florence House Hotel. Kindly please call me directly when your travel plans next brings you to Portsmouth so that I may personally take care of your arrangements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Don't get me wrong, the property is very well decorated and furnished and looks great. The staff were polite. We just had a real issue with noise. It wasn't even a weekend. We were given the ground floor bedroom and suffered from noise from reception, guests banging on the back door, the noise of guests going up the stairs, the noise of guests stomping around the bedroom upstairs, the noise of guests getting their breakfast and even the snoring from the room upstairs - and I was wearing earplugs.

Room Tip: Don't get the downstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjs121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Owner at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2011

Thank you for your comments on the decoration and style of the hotel. I am so sorry you were disturbed by noise from our other guests on this occasion - as you will appreciate this is beyond our control however I am very sorry if this spoiled your stay and we are disappointed this caused us to not meet your expectations. We hope you will perhaps stay again when next in the area so we can show you what a peaceful and relaxing place the hotel is normally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Stayed for one night for a Birthday celebration, amazing room, friendly but not obtrusive staff and an excellent breakfast. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tizsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2011

Thank you for your review - we really appreciate your comment and are pleased you enjoyed your stay and birthday. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Visited this week as part of a corporate event for 2 days. The presentation of the rooms was absoltely faultness. I was lucky enough to see several rooms as we were a large group, all of them really were superb. Friendly service and good breakfast. a definate 5 out of 5

Phil

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshboyFrimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Many thanks for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 39 in Portsmouth
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
988 reviews
0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence House

Address: 2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £57 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence House Hotel, part of The Mercer Collection, is a unique boutique style hotel. The intimate arrangement creates a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is housed in an Edwardian residence that has been restored to create a beautiful blend of old and new. We have seven rooms ranging from doubles, to superior doubles and suites. All of our rooms are completely different in style, and offer something to suit everyone whether your taste is contemporary, antique, or vintage French! We have an on-site Fine Dining Restaurant The Kitchen Southsea serving a stunning menu ideal for a special meal or a Boutique Gastro Pub The Florence Arms with a homecooked fresh menu, ales, ciders and fine wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Florence House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing