We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for a relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Florence House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I booked this hotel as part of a surprise for my partner and was not disappointed. Very relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff and a light, spacious room. The continental breakfast (included in the room price) was more than adequate, with as much tea, coffee, juice and toast as you like.

Room Tip: Room with a spa bath was very pleasant. Nice and bright.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the spa room.

We hope to welcome you and your partner again,

Best wishes

All at Florence House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Florence House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

A really lovely hotel where staff do everything they can to make it a great visit.
Only stayed one night but again, all my vegan diet needs were well catered for.
Will be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review and continuing to use us as your hotel of choice in Southsea.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

All at Florence House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here in November 2011. We had travelled from Australia and had to make a couple of late changes of dates and arrival times. However the staff couldn't have been more helpful even refunding us for a night we no longer needed. We were able to get access to our room at 8am after 24 hours of travelling, this was very much appreciated. As soon as we arrived tea/coffee snacks were offered even though they were in the middle of serving breakfast. The room at the top of the house was perfect. Very quiet. Lovely clean bathroom. Beautiful breakfast. Smiling cheerful staff. Free wifi and even phone calls home were not charged for. We wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Portsmouth/Southsea area. Thanks to all involved with this gem of a place...Lindsey and Phil Smith perth Western Australia

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad we were able to welcome you after your long journey and that we could offer you calls home at no cost, we know how important this is for travellers a long way from home.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and please visit when next in the area,

Best regards

Florence House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I booked into the Florence House Hotel after a recommendation from a colleague as I wanted somewhere special to stay for our wedding anniversary. The hotel was exactly as described in the website and the room was gorgeous. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and couldn't go to enough trouble to make sure we were happy. The room was very spacious and beautifully decorated with plenty of light. It was comfortable and stylish without being over the top. We felt very relaxed and it was lovely to be able to come and go as we pleased. Breakfast was lovely - plenty of cereal, fruit, yoghurt and toast with as much tea and coffee as you like. It was slightly more expensive than I would normally pay for a hotel, but it was very good value for money. We would definitely stay there again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary stay and we hope to welcome you again in future years.

Kind regards

Florence House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed recently at the annex of the hotel, near to the ferry Port for a trip to France.
The room we were given was really nicely decorated, and the Lady that met us at the door couldn't have been more helpful, even though we were delayed until 9.30 pm.
We had a very good night's sleep, and were able to have a continental breakfast at 6.45am.
Will definately stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

We are pleased we could accomodate your travel plans and early check out during your stay. I hope we can welcome you again when next travelling through the area.

Kind regards

Florence House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The room was really lovely, I stayed with two friends for a Christmas party, we were all looking forward to the breakfast that was included in the price of the room only to discover that if you wanted a cooked breakfast, you had to pay an extra £8-10. The room wasn't cheap and when we were tidying up our things we found rubbish left over from the previous occupants. The staff were really lovely however it was spoilt by the lack of included breakfast. I wouldn't go back.

Stayed: December 2011
1  Thank AliSS999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you feel you could not return to the hotel because breakfast was not included. The reason we made this choice was so that guests could have a lower rate and then add on breakfast if they wishes, many of our business guests are rushed and do not have time for it and therefore we do not wish to add it into the room rate.

Guests who book with us directly can certainly request an inclusive cooked breakfast and we can often accomodate this. Please do call us or email if you wish to stay in the area again and we hope we can help you.

Kind regards

Florence House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I booked with Laterooms a couple of days before and paid a very good, discounted price for my husband and I for one night.
We received a very friendly welcome and were shown to our room at the top of the stairs, a very spacious contemporary room with good sized ensuite shower room. The bed is harder than I'm used to but I slept very well. The tv has some freeview stations (not BBC). Parking wasn't a problem closeby with the parking permit issued at reception.
The staff were very helpful when we asked about local amenities.
The Continental breakfast next morning was very good and my husband's bacon and eggs was cooked exactly how he likes it.

One down side was the state of the shower hose which was very dirty and looked like it had never been cleaned. I did complain to the receptionist when we were checking out and she apologised and said that she would talk to the cleaner about it. It really did let the rest of the facilities down.

All in all a very pleasant stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonR401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your overall stay, the welcome and breakfast. I am sorry about the shower problem noted in your review and we can assure you this has been rectified.

With best regards

Florence House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
666 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
912 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
676 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 39 in Portsmouth
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence House Hotel

Address: 2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £65 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence House Hotel, part of The Mercer Collection, is a unique boutique style hotel. The intimate arrangement creates a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is housed in an Edwardian residence that has been restored to create a beautiful blend of old and new. We have seven rooms ranging from doubles, to superior doubles and suites. All of our rooms are completely different in style, and offer something to suit everyone whether your taste is contemporary, antique, or vintage French! We have an on-site A La Carte Restaurant The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Florence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing