We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Florence House
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
541
155
42
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
541
155
42
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooked breakfastgastro pubsister hotelflorence armslovely hotelparking permitsea fronttop floorl'occitane toiletrieschain hotelscomfortable bedexcellent breakfaststayed one nightenjoyable staybeautiful roommercer groupstreet parking
Filter
Updating list...
511 - 516 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The wife and I stayed at the Florence House Hotel the night before we went over to the IOW.

The room was first rate; it was large, very clean and very well furnished and very comfortable and the on-suite bathroom was also superb.

The breakfast included in the price was a continental breakfast and was excellent..
NB.. if the customer preferred a cooked breakfast then it was available for a small extra cost.

After being dissapointed at other well known Hotels in the area it was very refreshing to find such a gem of a Hotel and I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to leave it and hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards

All at Florence House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

An old converted house near the seafront. We stayed in the sister hotel which is also an old house opposite in Florence Road. The room was huge and the bathroom fab with a lovely big shower and modern but the toilet was tiny-you could just about fit in!
and the bed creaked badly every time you moved in it. And worse of all every time soemone upstairs used the loo or basin or shower you heard wooshing noises of water as it went down the pipes.
Overall this was definitely NOT good value for money.

Room Tip: I'd say don't stay in no 10!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for your review - we are very pleased you liked the room and bathroom and the location suited you.

Thank you for notifying us about the issue with the bed. These are problems that are impossible to resolve without guest notification. Our maintenance man has addressed this and rectified the issue.

We hope to welcome you for another stay.

Kind regards

Florence House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I'm in Portsmouth on business for approximately 6 months and shopped around to start with. I stayed in a few different hotels but came across this little jem!

Rooms are excellent, clean and well kept. Staff are friendly and approachable and can't do enough for you!

I wouldn't stay anywhere in Portsmouth apart from this hotel and would highly recommend to anyone who is coming here.

30 seconds away from Southsea sea front with no issues for parking. Rooms are reasonably priced and breakfast included served with a friendly atmosphere and friendly staff.

Would recommend highly to anyone coming to the area

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, General Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thank you so much for reviewing the hotel and recommending to other business travelers. We look forward to welcoming you again and are glad you enjoy what we offer guests in terms of both quality of accomodation and service.

Best wishes

All at Florence House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My partner and I chose to stay in this hotel because of its location. We were not disappointed. The room was a good size and very comfortable. The breakfast was nice and plentiful. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again whenever we return for another visit to Portsmouth

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for your kind comments about the room, location, breakfast and staff! We appreciate your response.

Perhaps we can welcome you again in the future?

Best wishes

Florence House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We were in Portsmouth for a wedding and we were unable to get a cheap chain hotel. We were glad as this hotel is lovely (if slightly more expensive than we would usually pay)
The room was smaller than anticipated but it was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable o we had a fantastic nights sleep.
The bathroom was big and the shower was very powerful!
The breakfast was nice and included in the price so we were happy.
Beware though you aren't allowed to attend breakfast without shoes!!
We would definitely recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation, we appreciate you taking the time to leave the review.

We are sorry you were not able to come without shoes to the breakfast room (health and safety) -perhaps we can offer you a complimentary breakfast in bed next time you stay instead!

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

All at Florence House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews