We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helped to make our wedding day just perfect”
Review of Florence House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Florence House
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, and Somerset House adjacent to it.

We booked out both hotels for our wedding, which took place at the weekend - the idea being that the groom's family stayed in Florence, while my side stayed in Somerset.

The rooms are beautifully decorated in both hotels and especially our master suite in Somerset (room 2). It is amazing - loads of space, massive bath and monsoon-style shower. It was perfect for a bride, with lots of room for my dress, bridesmaids and mother running about! Plus the hair and makeup team when they arrived could make use of the nice landing space between the three rooms on our floor.

Ellie the manager is amazing and the whole team just can't do enough for you. The cooked breakfast choice is good and really delicious, and the tray of breakfast they prepared for me on the wedding day itself was fantastic too.

We would highly recommend this hotel group for wedding parties, but also romantic getaways. The attention to details is so high you just can't do wrong.

Room Tip: Splurge on Room 2 in Somerset House Hotel if you can! Or room 2 or 3 in Florence are stunning too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HealthAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you so much for leaving us your review. We are thrilled we helped make your wedding day so special and that you enjoyed the wedding room, breakfast and hotel set-up.

We really hope your friends and family found the hotel enjoyable too and we hope to welcome you back for your wedding anniversary next year.

Best wishes

All at Florence House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

Staff were most welcoming and helpful. Our stay was relaxing and the environment quiet. The room was pleasant and quite luxurious. Breakfast offered a good variety of choices and staff service was excellent. Happily recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you for your reccommendation! We are always pleased to find people found the hotel relaxing as this is most important to us.

We hope to see you again,

Kind regards

Ellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent one night here visiting our student son for his birthday. It was really very good. The staff are a brilliant asset. We had a small problem in our room that was fixed out of hours. The cooked breakfast was great (memo to chef: the grapefruit segments were a bit past it). We shall return during our son's four years of studying for his degree.

Room Tip: We were in number 5 which was lovely but had no bathtub. This might have been because we only stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you for your reveiw - we are always pleased to get positive comments about our staff who are our greatest asset. We are very pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again over the next few years!

All at Florence House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband, 7 month old daughter and I stayed at Florence House on 21 Sept. We were impressed with the high level of cleanliness, the stylish decor and the staff who were all exceptionally helpful, friendly and patient. It's a child friendly hotel accommodating us with a travel cot and high chair when needed. We booked through booking.com and suggest that you're sure which building you're in (if you need to know) as there are two, the main with reception, dining area where breakfast is served (we also ate a delicious evening meal there) and small lounge area, and the other building across the road where there are just the larger rooms. With a baby it was important for us to stay in the main building so we could sit downstairs with monitor after she was put to bed. The staff moved us to the main building straight away when I explained the issue but we did lose out on a few pounds because of the lack of clarity on booking.com. The building we were in was very secure and it's in a nice road close to the seafront, restaurants, attractions and shopping centre. A particularly lovely staff member helped us find a hotel for the night when our ferry was cancelled and they were fully booked. Had no problem connecting to the hotel wifi which was free.

Would definitely stay again when in Portsmouth :-)

Room Tip: Larger rooms with luxury big bath etc are in the building across the road, main building with recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDavina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to move your room to ensure you were in Florence House. We are pleased you enjoyed the meal at the hotel also - a new introduction for us!

Thank you also for your compliment regarding Lizzie, one of our team, we are pleased we could find you somewhere else after your trouble with the ferries.

With many thanks

Ellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We were very pleased with how they dealt with our last minute change due to unforeseen circumstances. The bedrooms were lovely, very clean and especially liked the large bath!
Although disappointed that there was an extra charge for a cooked breakfast, the continental one was excellent with plenty of fresh fruit and a good choice of cereals.
We certainly hope to return and would not hesitate in recommending it.to others.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Certainly one of the more unusual and special hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed the stay with us and being described as an "unusal and special hotel" is really wonderful.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Florence House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

A perfectly flawless first visit to the Florence Hotel and it absolutely won't be the last!
From a wonderfully warm welcome, to a great fresh fruit breakfast (and a special low fat yogurt just for me!), a superbly clean room, fantastic location - literally just a couple of minutes walk to the sea front and easy parking off street as well as on (with permits) to the last goodbye - I could not rate this hotel high enough.
It truly lives up to its name as a boutique Guest House / Hotel but without the extraordinary prices of some of the larger Hotels in the area that don't come a fraction to the standards of this place.

Room Tip: I had the bottom room - standard double, and it was perfect for my needs. It is at street level and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hampshirelillibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review. It is much appreciated and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again later in the year.

Kind regards

All at Florence House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This little hotel was recommended to me by family who live in Southsea. I wanted somewhere a little bit special because I was going down to celebrate my daughters wedding. I had two nights and two lovely breakfasts at The Florence and would whole heartedly recommend it.
I loved the bedrooms; I treated myself to a Spa room and my son and little grandson had an Executive room. These rooms were great; I particularly loved the beds and the gorgeous linen and duvets.
The decor was great with each room having a different style of furnishing.
The breakfast menus were excellent and Ellie and the rest of the staff were all friendly, warm and helpful.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear Liz

Thanks so much for your review, we always appreciate them. It was a pleasure to have you and your family to stay for the wedding and I'm so glad you enjoyed the visit. We are glad you enjoyed the food available, our menu has been recently updated, and found all of the staff helpful too.

Many thanks from all of us at Florence House

Ellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#10 of 39 in Portsmouth
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#7 of 39 in Portsmouth
988 reviews
0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence House

Address: 2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £57 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence House Hotel, part of The Mercer Collection, is a unique boutique style hotel. The intimate arrangement creates a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is housed in an Edwardian residence that has been restored to create a beautiful blend of old and new. We have seven rooms ranging from doubles, to superior doubles and suites. All of our rooms are completely different in style, and offer something to suit everyone whether your taste is contemporary, antique, or vintage French! We have an on-site Fine Dining Restaurant The Kitchen Southsea serving a stunning menu ideal for a special meal or a Boutique Gastro Pub The Florence Arms with a homecooked fresh menu, ales, ciders and fine wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Florence House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing