We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent!”
Review of Florence House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Florence House
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Just had my third stay this year, and the Florence remains my favourite in Portsmouth. The staff are absolutely lovely, there is nothing that is too much trouble and the Hotel itself is excellent value for money - I have stayed in room, 1 & 7 and absolutely loved both of them! Everything you need is there, beds are really comfy, nice pillows, good linen and great big fluffy towels! Very clean and tidy. Breakfast is plentiful and they even remembered my favourite low calorie yogurt! I was also offered a 'packed' breakfast should I have wanted to leave very early on my day of departure. Yes, parking is challenging at times - find me a place in a city in UK that isn't!! So central for Southsea and perfect for anyone visiting the town. I very much look forward to staying there again next year on one of my many trips down.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hampshirelillibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Hello again and thank you for your lovely review! It was, as always, great to see you again. We are pleased we were still able to provide your breakfast as you like it and that everything was still as good as when you stayed with us earlier in the year!

We look forward to seeing you again in 2013,

Best wishes from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed here for one night. Room reasonably ok, fairly small with obvious signs of wear and tear.
I found the bed very hard although I do like firm beds, but this took it to the limits. The bathroom was freezing with no visible heating facility, and the loo paper was not the softest I have known; the sink was blocked and the blind broken. Also, because of the age of the place, I was woken up a few times throughout the night by creaking floorboards overhead.
The breakfast was sadly lacking compared to other hotels of this calibre. Fruit salad very crude, with huge chunks of apple and little else - not much available in the way of yogurts and muesli/granola, and the choice of teas was abysmal. I didn't have a cooked breakfast, as this was extra, and, judging by the effort put into their other breakfast presentations, I didn't feel that tempted.
We found the staff very pleasant and keen to please, and I liked the small sitting room by the reception area where you could sit with a drink and read the paper.
However, I can only give this three stars because, compared to other places I have stayed for the same price, the Florence doesn't quite make the grade.
Having not stayed in Portsmouth before, maybe this is as good as it gets, but I have to say I was a little disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased you found staff helpful and friendly and you liked the cosy seating area by reception where we like to chat to our guests.


I am naturally very disappointed to read some of your other comments and I’m sorry there were some aspects of your stay that did not meet your satisfaction. As you can imagine ensuring everyone's bed is to their liking is difficult but we use specialist orthopaedic mattresses to try and ensure everyone's comfort. We are sorry to read of so many maintenance issues in one room - this is most unusual and we are sorry to read of these only on tripadvisor rather than having them brought to our attention at the time so we could have gone some way to resolving this or even moving you to another room. With some maintenance issues it is only when a guest brings them to our attention that we can discover an issue.

What has surprised us is your comments about breakfast. We pride ourselves on a generous breakfast which most of our guests love - fresh fruit salad, a wide selection of museli and cereals, toast, warmed croissants. We also have every type of tea imaginable - not on display - as there are too many but this is noted on the breakfast menu. We also try to present our food well because we know this adds to the overall finish of breakfast and enjoyment. I am sorry you did not experience this.

I can assure you the way you feel is not how we like to guests to leave us and we want you to feel impressed by the hotel and not disappointed at all. I really hope you will come back to us and sample the hotel again as we would love to change your opinion.

Best wishes

All at Florence House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Refreshing hotel, with excellent staff and a wonderful welcome. Stayed in room 3 which had a large main room, and ensuite bathroom with shower. In short the hotel is excellent, the beds very comfortable, parking and its close enough to walk to many many nice places to eat. I came away very impressed, after being made to feel genuinely welcome by Aqva and all the other staff. I have to stay away many nights of the week and this place was one of the rare gems, I only wish there were more places like it around the country.

In fact I was in two minds as to whether to write a review or not, as there is a part of me that does not want it to be fully booked the next time I need to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a full review. We are so pleased everything was to your liking. I'm very pleased Aqua was able to help you and all staff made you feel welcome. Being described as "a rare gem" is just lovely.

We hope we have room for when you next stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

All at Florence House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This is a lovely, clean, well appointed hotel situated two streets back from the beach. Nice rooms, very pleasant helpful staff (thanks Aqva!). The evening menu was limited but lots of other choices in the area.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room - its bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob-Isaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie H, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are pleased you found the location convenient and staff helpful - Aqua was pleased to assit you throughout the stay. We are currently looking to expand our evening menu following its recent introduction, thank you for your feedback.

Best wishes

All at Florence House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I had room 7, which is downstairs from reception, so I eventually referred to it as "the dungeon".

I arrived at 1.pm and the room wasn't ready. I was invited to wait in reception, which I did, but there was no offer of tea or coffee whilst I waited.

The room was really small, 9' by 12', there was only room for one very small bedside table. There was no dressing table, only a narrow table against the wall with tea and coffee facilities. Although I had to put the kettle on the floor for the cable to reach the socket.

One of the reasons I booked this hotel was because it had private parking. When I arrived I couldn't see a car park so parked on the road. The receptionist said that she would give me a permit so that I could leave my car on the street. It was only after I made a fuss that she told me I could park in the hotel opposite's car park.

Whilst being told the times of breakfast I told the receptionist that I probably wouldn't have time as I had an early ferry to catch. She just nodded.

I was meeting a friend at the hotel for our journey to France, but when she arrived she was told that she could have a packed breakfast as she was leaving early. Funny it wasn't mentioned to me!

We both did get the packed breakfast in the end, and it wasn't worth making the fuss to get.

I don't know what makes a "boutique hotel", if it's a question of papering one wall in black swirling wallpaper and putting a black shade on a lamp, well then this was a "boutique hotel".

I wasn't impressed with anything about this hotel and wouldn't go back again, especially to room 7.

However, the Jolly Roger Pub just around the corner served wonderful food.

Room Tip: Don't take room 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Thank you for your review.

We are quite shocked to read one of our double room described as in the "dungeon" which is grossly misleading, defamatory and unnecessary. The room you refer to is just two steps down from the main reception area and brightly lit with a full window and large bathroom window also plus a main lamp and side light - far from a "dungeon."

Rooms are guaranteed as ready from 3pm and all guests are sent a welcome email on booking asking for their arrival time so that we can ensure we best accommodate guest's needs and they are not left waiting around. I spoke with the lady who checked you in and she advised she just needed to check over the room to ensure everything was in place, as such you were only in reception for a very short time and she was able to check you in 2 hours ahead.

I'm sorry you felt our packed breakfast option was not worth the fuss to get. We like to give our early risers a little something to take with them but naturally our generous continental breakfast provision is not very travel friendly so we offer a sandwich, croissant or cereal bar and fruit/juice drink - or whatever you request. We find most guests are pleased to have something to take with them and this is a service few (if any) hotels in the area offer.

Regarding the "black swirling wallpaper" absolutely none of our rooms have this feature so I am unclear of the room reference here. The room you stayed in has vintage blue floral wallpaper.

We are sorry you did not enjoy the stay with us and we hope you will consider us in the future so we can change your views on our Hotel by welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Florence House Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed for one night. Our room was well maintained and bright, the main bedroom was a good size and offered all we expected aside from a dressing table. The bathroom whilst a little "cosy" was immaculately clean. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome. Whilst the bar area was tiny (doubled as the reception) it did indeed serve drink! We made the most of a dry period in the morning to make the short walk to Southsea seafront. All in all a lovely small hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you found the hotel suited your needs and was both clean and comfortable with helpful staff.

Please come back to us again if you are in the area,

Florence House Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Pleasantly surprised. The room was huge and decorated to a very good standard, the service was great, bed was a comfy nice bedding, huge soft towels, in short all the things that make for a good stay when you're on your honeymoon. The staff are very friendly and chatty made me feel very welcome Helen the resections was very friendly the lady that had cleaned my room was very nice ( blonde brown haired cleaner cassie i think her name was ) was very polite and we had a good chat. She had cleaned my room that day nicely cleaned and tidy. the breakfast was very nice I had the muffing it was better than I thought it was going to be.... very clean and tidy hotel I would give you a 6* IF I COULD :) I hade a rally nice stay will come back soon x x x x x x x

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Florence House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you for your delightful review! We are thrilled you had a good stay and found the staff helpful, friendly and the room and breakfast better than you thought. We hope to welcome you back for another stay soon,

Kind regards

Florence House Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,217 reviews
0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#10 of 39 in Portsmouth
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#7 of 39 in Portsmouth
988 reviews
0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence House

Address: 2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £57 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence House Hotel, part of The Mercer Collection, is a unique boutique style hotel. The intimate arrangement creates a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is housed in an Edwardian residence that has been restored to create a beautiful blend of old and new. We have seven rooms ranging from doubles, to superior doubles and suites. All of our rooms are completely different in style, and offer something to suit everyone whether your taste is contemporary, antique, or vintage French! We have an on-site Fine Dining Restaurant The Kitchen Southsea serving a stunning menu ideal for a special meal or a Boutique Gastro Pub The Florence Arms with a homecooked fresh menu, ales, ciders and fine wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Florence House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing