We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Florence House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Titchfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a Welcome”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

From the moment we arrived and Marie on reception wished me happy birthday I knew it was going to be great.There were 12 of us and they had given us the private dining room to all breakfast together, which was so thoughtful. All the rooms were beautifully furnished and detailed. The staff were fabulous throughout and made us all so welcome ( even when my cousin hit the car park wall ! )We stayed in the main Florence hotel and Florence Gardens ,parking was easy and the location ideal. The paved area, being finished, will give some nice outside space. But really the owner is to be congratulated on recruiting such good staff - they made the stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEC1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    148
    39
    15
    11
See reviews for
99
423
33
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1night during a shopping trip,we were originally staying in Somerset House on the top floor which was lovely but too warm for me so I went to reception to see if we could be moved.
I spoke to the receptionist who did look but informed me that they were fully booked, a lady then got on the phone and after a discussion offered us a room in Florence House literally across the road. We appreciated the time she took to accommodate us and the fact that she wanted us to be happy. The room was beautiful and exceeded our expectations, the staff were so friendly and helpful, the breakfast was lovely and I would definitely stay again and would highly recommend staying in any of the rooms which are so tastefully decorated as is all the hotel whilst keeping many of its original features.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It is always our intention to make our guests happy and have an enjoyable stay, we will always do our best to accommodate guests so they have an excellent experience with us. It’s lovely to read that the room exceeded your expectations and that our staff were “friendly and helpful” which is something we aim for. We are also pleased you appreciated the décor of the hotels, thanks again for a lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We didn't want to stay in a featureless hotel, and chose Florence House because of its location (near the sea front, and close to the main pubs/restaurants in Southsea).
Nearby parking was not a problem - the hotel will give you a parking permit for the duration of your stay. The staff were very friendly, and there was a good overall atmosphere to the place.
The room (5) was very comfortable, with 2 easy chairs - a rarity these days. The only criticism we had was that the room had been refurbished, but there were already signs of paint flaking from the ceiling above the shower - not a mega issue, but detracted from what could have been 5*.
The breakfast was very good, and we had a good stay. Would we stay again... yes. Would we recommend it to friends...yes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here as a crash pad for a night on the lash....was messy.

Having stayed in a number of portsmouth/southsea hotels, the majority of which are dire to desparate especially the major chains this is pretty good. It is essentially a great b&b , rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable...shower pressure ropey, breakfast fantastic, staff delightful, location perfect...cost acceptable.
Would stay again if only for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Small double is good for one person...would just about do for a couple for 1 night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Updated decor, spacious rooms with en suite. Great English Breakfast as well as a Restaurant, Bistro Menu.
The staff made this a very enjoyable stay.
Would definitely come here again
Quiet neighborhood, Pub close by.
Walking distance to the seafront

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were special in their own way
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelSmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Like Elizabeth's experience, we too were placed in Bedroom 1. It was too small for the furniture within it, particularly annoying was the fact that the wardrobe was unuseable due to the chair in front of it. Whilst we were staying there the coldest night this year was experienced, thus making the bathroom icy cold, due to lack of heating in it. The shower was extremely poor. However the food provided at breakfast was excellent as were the staff, and given the low cost of the room and breakfast, and its proximity to the beach and shops of Southsea overall it was a nice break. I do wonder how it comes to have such a high rate of 8.6, and assume the other rooms are much better!

Room Tip: Do NOT choose Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank confused999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed on 22nd March. The double room where we stayed was very small with no room to open a suitcase & very little room to walk around the bed. The bathroom was cold (no heating in the bathroom), with a broken tap, the light above the basin did not work, there was mould on the ceiling & the electric shower did not work properly (no water pressure & alternately hot and icy cold). This room was noisy; it was above the kitchen & on a bend in the stairs & the walls seemed very thin.
The staff were friendly and the cooked breakfast was good, but the room was not large enough to use as a double room & considerable maintenance and improvement are needed.

Room Tip: Do not book room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
649 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
656 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence House Hotel

Property: Florence House Hotel
Address: 2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence House Hotel, part of The Mercer Collection, is a unique boutique style hotel. The intimate arrangement creates a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is housed in an Edwardian residence that has been restored to create a beautiful blend of old and new. We have seven rooms ranging from doubles, to superior doubles and suites. All of our rooms are completely different in style, and offer something to suit everyone whether your taste is contemporary, antique, or vintage French! We have an on-site A La Carte Restaurant The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Florence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing