We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Florence House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Merricks North
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow !”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

What a delightful contrast to the London hotel we were just in. Helpful friendly reception, modern delightfully appointed rooms spotlessly clean. Quiet location. First class fine dining in the Kitchen Restaurant and a quality breakfast with very attentive waitress service. Thank you all so much.

Room Tip: We found room 5 Sea La Vie house excellent, especially the bed which was very comfortable for someon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review of Florence House Hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our staff aim to provide guests with a high standard of service, so we are glad you found the waitress very attentive and the receptionist friendly. We are lucky to be in a peaceful location yet close to all the major attractions in Portsmouth. Thank you again for the lovely review, we would be more than happy to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    144
    39
    15
    11
See reviews for
95
408
32
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Our second annual overnight visit to Portsmouth and the surrounding area. We discovered Florence House Hotel last year and were not disappointed with Somerset House this year! Lovely spacious rooms with all the things you need - toiletries, huge bath sheets, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast. We were the last guests down to breakfast in the morning and the chef cooked more hot buffet items fresh for us! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are very happy that you chose to return to one of our hotels. It’s lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and found everything you needed in the room. Thank you for your kind review and we hope we will see you again for a third stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Many places we have stayed in before have not quite lived up to the claims made on their websites. The Florence Hotel is an exception to this. When we arrived the ladies on reception were very welcoming and gave us lots of information on where to eat and what to see in Portsmouth and Southsea. We ate in the hotel one evening and very much enjoyed our meal. The waiter was also very attentive without being intrusive. The location is close to the seafront and within walking distance of Old Portsmouth and (a slightly longer walk) the Historic Dockyard, the Spinnaker and Gun Wharf Quay. We would not hesitate to recommend the Florence House Hotel (we stayed in the Florence Suite - there are three buildings within the Florence Hotel) based on the experience of our visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highlandmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing Florence House Hotel. It’s lovely to hear that you were able to explore some of what Portsmouth has to offer. We are pleased you chose to dine in our restaurant and found the food to your liking. Also we glad you found the staff informative and welcoming as this is exactly how we aim to be. Thank you again for the review and recommending our hotel, we hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel rooms are exactly like the pictures shown on website, read other reviews on service, standards and quality they are all true!!
Top quality rooms, amazing service, unbelievable breakfast!!
Hotel is in walking distance to beach and 15 min walk to guns wharf keys
I would totally recommend much better than holiday inn in guns wharf

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cainy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Florence House Hotel, we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We are glad you found the service ‘amazing’ and the breakfast ‘unbelievable’- this is how we aim for it to be! Thank you for writing a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed here as part of a hen party at the beginning of August. There were 13 of and we were treated like VIP's. The staff are amazing! The lady on reception was terrific, very thoughtful and would help out with anything and everything.
The hotel is split in to separate buildings, we had one of these to ourselves which was perfect, we could chatter and giggle after the nights activities without disturbing anybody. The breakfast in the morning was ideal, buffet style full English or cereals and fruit.

We booked dinner for one of the evenings which was good, a couple of the girls did grumble about the lack of vegetables/salad with their chicken meal but apart from that everyone seemed happy. After the meal, which the hotel had allowed is to have in a separate room, we went back to our rooms to change for the evening. The room we and used for dinner had been set up for us to play games in.

If you are looking to book a classy hen do, this is the place to stay!

I would also stay for a romantic weekend away. The hotel is beautiful and just a 2 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Found this hotel on trip advisor on a road trip along the coast I must say we were greatly surprised by this hospitality,cleanleness of the hotel and the quality of the food we would definetly stay again when down this way.thank you florence

Room Tip: A great place to stop handy for most things
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glostwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wychbold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

we stayed here for the weekend and the staff are all fantastic and helpful, the room we had was quite small but very clean and comfortable. would recommend and we would stay here again.
there is a nice little bar area so you can have a drink before going out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s always lovely to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay and thank you for recommending us this is a huge compliment. We would be happy to welcome you back to stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence House Hotel

Property: Florence House Hotel
Address: 2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence House Hotel, part of The Mercer Collection, is a unique boutique style hotel. The intimate arrangement creates a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is housed in an Edwardian residence that has been restored to create a beautiful blend of old and new. We have seven rooms ranging from doubles, to superior doubles and suites. All of our rooms are completely different in style, and offer something to suit everyone whether your taste is contemporary, antique, or vintage French! We have an on-site A La Carte Restaurant The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Florence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing