We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
John R
Witney, United Kingdom

Great 4 day luxury break.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Feb 2023
Checked in for four nights to be met by an extremely helpful and efficient receptionist. We were given a room (2) in the building next to reception which had only just been refurbished. It was a large room with separate bathroom containing bath and cubicle shower. All the fittings were of high quality and the bedroom decoration very smart and 2 comfy chair - but could have done with a little side table to make it perfect! The carpet had only been down a few days and was thick and luxurious. Breakfast was exceptional in both choice and quality and a little different to the norm.

Location excellent for local buses into Portsmouth and beyond and a walk (10 mins) to an infinite number of eating places - choice was amazing! Parking was on the street outside but we were provided with a permit for the duration of our stay, and we managed to park opposite the hotel. We would be happy to stay here again.
Date of stay: February 2023
Room Tip: Would try to get a room with more natural light (though the lighting was fine for evening we...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 8 Feb 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review, it was a pleasure to meet you.

We are glad you liked the room and appreciate your feedback regarding the coffee table which has been passed on to the person who manages our decor for them to address.

It's great to hear our location and locality suited your needs and we hope to see you again when the weather is a little warmer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£105
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £105
0.6 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
£73
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
4.1 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£70
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £70
4.2 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
£80
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
4.5 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £142
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £107
  • Hotels.com
0.0 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £93
  • Hotels.com
1.4 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £88
  • Hotels.com
1.6 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Evening at Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • HolidayInn.com
    £89
  • Hotels.com
0.9 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Twin Room
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £46
  • ibis Budget
    £50
1.2 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Portsmouth
Reviews (882)
Filter reviews
882 results
Traveller rating
626
178
49
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
626
178
49
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit lovely hotel sea front top floor beautiful room comfortable bed mercer collection mercer group stayed for one night enjoyable stay a lovely stay street parking breakfast room full english two night stay min walk gunwharf quays
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 882 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2023 via mobile

Great room with good facilities. Easy walk to our Chaine dinner at the Michelin restaurant 27.
I was nearly put off by the street parking however the hotel gave us parking permit.
Good little bar by reception.
Nice service with a smile.
Overall enjoyable.

Room tip: See my comment on street parking. However hotel provide permits
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Barneyq101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2023

Thank you for choosing us for your accommodation when visiting Restaurant 27. I'm glad you found parking no issue with the free permit and the staff looked after you well.
We hope to see you again if visiting Portsmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2023 via mobile

Excellent hôtel! We were nicely welcome by the staff. The room was very cosy.
The hotel is well located, near the sea and not far from the town.

The breakfast is excellent, made from fresh ingredients. The Florence breakfast was great.

We enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank daniiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2023

Thank you so much for your review. It's great to hear you were welcomed properly by the staff and the room, breakfast and location suited you well.

We hope to see you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2023

Great little hotel. Clean, airy, comfortable everything in very good condition, close to seafront and pubs, bars etc. Great breakfast and friendly, helpful staff. Would definitely recommend and book to stay again. Dog friendly.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tour26281199072
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2023

We were pleased to hear you enjoyed the stay and every aspect suited you. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2023

Treated my wife to a night away as a late Christmas present. This little boutique hotel was very pleasant with a friendly welcome and a lovely quiet, relaxed atmosphere. Our room was decorated very stylishly and was spotlessly clean. Only slight niggles were a tad of mould above the lovely bathroom and torn net curtains in the bedroom. The bed was extremely comfy and we both agreed that Breakfast was one of the tastiest we had ever had in a beautiful dining area. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank M5447ALjamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2023

Many thanks for choosing us for your post-Christmas getaway, it was a pleasure to meet you both

We are so pleased you liked the room and found everything clean and comfortable and enjoyed breakfast time.

Thank you for letting us know via your reviews about the bathroom ceiling, this has now been addressed urgently as it was caused by a leak that was not something we were aware of. We appreciate you drawing our attention to it and the net curtain we will be replacing asap. We apologise for not picking up these issues in advance of your stay.

We hope to see you again on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2022

I have stayed at the Florence House Hotel , on a regular basis for work in the area. Happy to confirm the hotel has excellent staff and service, with Breakfast being a highlight the food and the service. The rooms are "spotlessly" clean and comfortable. The location is also excellent to walk or go for a jog along the southsea promenade is literally 5 mins away. Will return.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we've all enjoyed welcoming you so regularly for the last few months and certainly hope to see you again in 2023.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews