We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
John P

Charming Southsea boutique hotel that sets a high standard.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 May 2023
Located in several large converted houses in a quiet back street, but just minutes from the beachfront and all it has to offer. Clean, modern, stylish rooms, and super-friendly, helpful staff. Small bar and restaurant, and garden, with a pub across the road and some other good restaurants within walking distance. Highly recommended.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Evening at Holiday Inn Portsmouth
£89
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.9 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
£73
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
4.1 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
£80
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
4.5 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £142
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £107
  • Hotels.com
0.0 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    £95
  • Booking.com
1.4 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £80
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • HIExpress.com
    £70
  • Hotels.com
4.2 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £58
  • Hotels.com
1.1 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Twin Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £45
  • Booking.com
1.2 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Portsmouth
Reviews (882)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
627
178
49
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
627
178
49
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit lovely hotel sea front top floor beautiful room comfortable bed mercer collection mercer group stayed for one night enjoyable stay a lovely stay street parking breakfast room full english two night stay min walk gunwharf quays
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2023 via mobile

We just had an overnight stay in the Florence suite part of the hotel. There are several building that make up the property. Room was clean and quiet. Staff we all amazing, nothing was too much trouble and always friendly and chatty. The food was delicious. The Mercer burger was a hit with my family for dinner. Breakfast was good quality and plentiful. It is all served by staff and again so helpful. The only negative is parking. We were lucky to park at the hotel, but it could he an issue if you don't time it right.
The location is good too, literally a minutes walk to seafront.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CJLFFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2023

Thank you so much for staying with us and your kind comments about our staff team. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed the new restaurant menu too.

I'm glad you had no issues with parking on site and enjoyed the seaside location., ideal for the sunny easter weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2023

Always our choice when family matters bring us to Southsea. This is a lovely place to stay - stylish, welcoming, very comfortable and warmly welcoming situated very close to the sea front and within walking distance of good restaurants in old Southsea. Rooms are immaculately clean, bathrooms excellent, beds comfortable, breakfasts freshly cooked and tasty. Period details of the various houses are carefully preserved but with idiosyncratic details in the different rooms. Staff are lovely and take pains to ensure guests' satisfaction. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank maureenhA6867RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2023

It's always a pleasure to welcome you both & we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2023

Welcoming reception staff, beautifully appointed and spacious bedrooms and a first class breakfast. What is there not to like in this lovely hotel just back from the seafront in Southsea. Good value too.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mikeparker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel - we're glad you found everything first class and good value. Best wishes, Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2023

Checked in for four nights to be met by an extremely helpful and efficient receptionist. We were given a room (2) in the building next to reception which had only just been refurbished. It was a large room with separate bathroom containing bath and cubicle shower. All the fittings were of high quality and the bedroom decoration very smart and 2 comfy chair - but could have done with a little side table to make it perfect! The carpet had only been down a few days and was thick and luxurious. Breakfast was exceptional in both choice and quality and a little different to the norm.

Location excellent for local buses into Portsmouth and beyond and a walk (10 mins) to an infinite number of eating places - choice was amazing! Parking was on the street outside but we were provided with a permit for the duration of our stay, and we managed to park opposite the hotel. We would be happy to stay here again.

Room tip: Would try to get a room with more natural light (though the lighting was fine for evening we faced onto another building limiting the light.
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IanRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2023

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review, it was a pleasure to meet you.

We are glad you liked the room and appreciate your feedback regarding the coffee table which has been passed on to the person who manages our decor for them to address.

It's great to hear our location and locality suited your needs and we hope to see you again when the weather is a little warmer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2023 via mobile

Great room with good facilities. Easy walk to our Chaine dinner at the Michelin restaurant 27.
I was nearly put off by the street parking however the hotel gave us parking permit.
Good little bar by reception.
Nice service with a smile.
Overall enjoyable.

Room tip: See my comment on street parking. However hotel provide permits
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Barneyq101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2023

Thank you for choosing us for your accommodation when visiting Restaurant 27. I'm glad you found parking no issue with the free permit and the staff looked after you well.
We hope to see you again if visiting Portsmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews