We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
£108
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
wendyanddavid536
Solihull, United Kingdom

Very mixed.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Oct 2023
Lovely, well equipped bedroom, very friendly reception staff, but the hotel was let down by its breakfasts. We stayed for three nights, and each morning, though cooked fresh, the breakfasts were very disappointing. the choice had to be made between fruit and yoghurt or a cooked breakfast. Come on....in a four star boutique hotel one would expect an array of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, breads, pastries to help yourself to as well as the cooked breakfast. Sadly the cooked breakfasts were not up to scratch; however we had the eggs, they were always overcooked and the breakfasts were never very hot.
We had been so looking forward to coming here , but will not be returning.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 30 Oct 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're delighted to read you liked your room and were well looked after by staff.

We are however most sorry to read about your breakfast comments. Firstly we certainly don't make guests choose between continental items and cooked - guests can have both these options (fruit, yogurt, cereals, toast etc and cooked items) when breakfast is included as explained when staff seat you and take the orders. As, sadly, no direct feedback was left during or after the stay we can't work out who you are to be able to check in with whomever may have served you on day 1 about this. As you indeed mention, this wouldn't make sense in our type of property so it's such a shame this wasn't queried at the time instead waiting to write about your disappointment after you've stayed when it's too late for us to correct you and serve exactly what you were hoping to enjoy from the expansive menu.
I'm sorry you felt breakfasts were not hot - everything is freshly cooked and comes from the stove to the table so we are unsure why this would be.
We're disappointed you won't be returning based on this one issue - some direct feedback during or post stay would have meant we could have addressed and resolved the disappointment that has caused you not to want to return.
As a prolific TripAdvisor user we'd encourage you to feedback to your places of stay at the time, not just once you've departed, and the staff maybe able to improve your stay then rather than learning of a very quick to resolve problem days after you've departed. Of course you can still review the property as you wish but it ensures the property has the best chance of making your stay a good one which is always every hospitality venue's goal. We wish you a good stay wherever you choose for your next stop in Portsmouth.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
PremierInn.com
£53
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
1.2 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
PremierInn.com
£54
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Tripadvisor
£95
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
4.1 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
PremierInn.com
£49
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
4.5 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
The Executive Suite at the Farmhouse & Innlodge
Tripadvisor
£60
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £60
2.8 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £139
  • Hotels.com
0.0 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £110
  • Hotels.com
1.5 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £97
  • Hotels.com
1.6 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £52
  • Booking.com
1.2 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Marriott Hotels
    £119
  • Hotels.com
4.5 miles from Florence House Boutique Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Portsmouth
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
879 results
Traveller rating
623
178
49
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
623
178
49
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit lovely hotel sea front top floor beautiful room comfortable bed mercer collection mercer group stayed for one night enjoyable stay a lovely stay street parking breakfast room full english two night stay min walk gunwharf quays
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 879 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2023

Stayed in Florence Suite and had a lovely stay. The staff is what made the stay so great, lovely people and we would recommend to anyone to stay there. The location was ideal for Victorious Festival. Thank you to every single one of you at the Malvern Road Florence Suite and Hotel you are doing a fantastic job, we hope to return in a quieter time of the year all being well.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nettycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff team - really very kind. We hope to see you again outside of the busy Victorious weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2023

Pleasant but not as advertised! We booked an executive room for 6 nights. The bathroom was diabolical the toilet inches from the wall making it impossible to use comfortably. We politely asked for another room but was told it would cost a further £100 to move .The staff seemed dismissive, so we had to take the option but not happily .The photographs on the hotel site show a large bathroom exactly as you would expect from the term executive . To me executive indicates plush and spacious. Breakfast was ample but for six days they couldn’t get the order right and on the last day it seems we were forgotten and had to alert them we were there , Breakfast took 1 hour . We paid extra for parking yet on two occasions we couldn’t park in the spot allocated, once they moved the culprit the second time we had to park in another bay ( not a big issue ) but again spoilt the overall experience. We love the area and plan to return but won’t book here again . Seems they lack in customer service and should advertise the rooms accordingly .

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Thank you for your review, we were most sorry to read of your disappointment online after staying with us for almost a week.

I'm sorry you didn't like your original room - booked via a third-party site. We're unclear which photos you had seen showing a larger en-suite as having rechecked the agent images these are displayed against each room type correctly and the room measurements are also displayed. Rooms range in size from standard, executive, larger exec, superior and suite.

Staff did their best to move our diary around to accommodate your remaining nights in a much larger, brand new, Superior Superking room and naturally had to apply a small nightly uplift to this upgraded bedroom. We were not aware you were unhappy about the upgrade or room and this was all managed by a receptionist. Had we been aware of the level of your disappointment a manager would gladly have come and spoken to you and managed the room change accordingly but our understanding was you were happy to pay for something more spacious for such a lengthy stay - also because you were traveling with two dogs so naturally needing more space than average.

It's disappointing to hear about the slow service at breakfast. Our breakfast is all freshly cooked to order but this time frame is excessive and we can only apologize and assure you we will look at where the delay was - front of house or kitchen and action changes.

We introduced bookable parking just 2 weeks before your stay - naturally, it's been an adjustment after operating for 15 years prior with other arrangements of a first come first served basis. I'm sorry some of our regular guests took some time to adjust to it but - as you note - it really wasn't a big issue as we simply asked them to move as soon as this occurred. Everyone has now got used to our new, very popular, bookable parking.

We're sorry you won't be joining us again and hope you find more suitable accommodation in Portsmouth on your next visit. Having read through all of your other reviews for hotel stay we can see you do book directly at times and would certainly encourage this for longer stays so staff can be sure to accommodate your needs and suggest the best room for you and your pets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2023

Located in several large converted houses in a quiet back street, but just minutes from the beachfront and all it has to offer. Clean, modern, stylish rooms, and super-friendly, helpful staff. Small bar and restaurant, and garden, with a pub across the road and some other good restaurants within walking distance. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2023 via mobile

We just had an overnight stay in the Florence suite part of the hotel. There are several building that make up the property. Room was clean and quiet. Staff we all amazing, nothing was too much trouble and always friendly and chatty. The food was delicious. The Mercer burger was a hit with my family for dinner. Breakfast was good quality and plentiful. It is all served by staff and again so helpful. The only negative is parking. We were lucky to park at the hotel, but it could he an issue if you don't time it right.
The location is good too, literally a minutes walk to seafront.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CJLFFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2023

Thank you so much for staying with us and your kind comments about our staff team. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed the new restaurant menu too.

I'm glad you had no issues with parking on site and enjoyed the seaside location., ideal for the sunny easter weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2023

Always our choice when family matters bring us to Southsea. This is a lovely place to stay - stylish, welcoming, very comfortable and warmly welcoming situated very close to the sea front and within walking distance of good restaurants in old Southsea. Rooms are immaculately clean, bathrooms excellent, beds comfortable, breakfasts freshly cooked and tasty. Period details of the various houses are carefully preserved but with idiosyncratic details in the different rooms. Staff are lovely and take pains to ensure guests' satisfaction. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank maureenhA6867RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Florence House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2023

It's always a pleasure to welcome you both & we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews