We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, not great, but not the worst place we have stayed”

Hamilton House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamilton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
werribee, victoria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average, not great, but not the worst place we have stayed”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The website is deceiving, not nearly as good as it says,, but that's what a lot of places are like, room was adequate, we had to share a bathroom, good thing we were travelling with friends!
Breakfast was very ordinary, cereal in large boxes, so not sure how fresh it was, we asked for yoghurt to have with our cereal & were told " don't have it, because we end up throwing some out! "
Tesco's have it cheap & when you know you have a full house, it would have been nice to have a choice. Cooked food was quiet greasy & did not seem to be cooked properly.
Beds were ok, look, it's an ok place to stay just for 1 night, but if staying any longer, I would recommend finding something else.
There were plenty of places to eat not too far away so that was good!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buggsusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    12
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
19
19
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Whilst the rooms were clean and well presented, the mattress was hard. Our main problem however was with the attitude of the landlady. We arrived to stay overnight before our sons graduation. We are asked if we would like a cooked breakfast, which we did, however she refused to serve it before 8.30 and this was on a weekday. I have never experienced this at any other b & b. So we had have the 'continental' breakfast. What a joke. I do not call cereal and white toast a continental breakfast. The cereals were all in their boxes not air tight containers so my sons was soft. We were commented that we were late to come down. We got an abrupt no when asked if we could come back later to change. Fair enough to say no but could have been more polite. We were not allowed to leave the car parked in the road as it would not be possible for us to put the permit through the door later. All seems petty but the manner of the landlady was not in keeping with her job. Very cold, abrupt and not at all hospitable or obliging. It does not take much effort to do a fried breakfast at 7.15 in the morning. Not value for money at all and would not return again when my son completed his masters.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the family room - but where only 2 persons.
Sandra & Graham are perfect landlords and very helpfull
Easy to talk with and very friendly
IF you confidentiel staying in Portsmouth - tjen try to see IF you Can book at Hamilton House
You will not regeret
Best regards - hope to see you again - enjoy India

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Henrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Sandra and Graham were very friendly and attentive. They made me feel very welcome and gave me helpful travel advice.
The room was clean and spacious with TV and kettle (biscuits topped up regularly!)
When I next visit Portsmouth I will be booking a room here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

A really good b and b with loads of character, very clean and welcoming. Sandra and Graham were very heplful and kind. We will come again. We stayed here vsisting our son who is at the University in Portsmouth and are hoping to return to stay for his graduation

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We visited Hamilton House on 22nd of May on our way to Cornwall. The rooms are en-suite,spacious and very clean. Sandra and Graham went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We could walk to the restaurants and pubs. Breakfast they served alot of food,but a little fatty for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRAWLEY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We booked this last minute direct with the owners as we were doing the great south run.
2 mins from station, very warm and friendly welcome with considerate requests for other guests such as please don't let the fire doors slam etc.
Gave us directions to nearest pub, which is all week needed.
Kettle etc and Tv in room, basic channels. We had a separate bathroom to ourselves. It is a bit dated but its like staying at your nans but so clean and so comfy I didn't care!

Breakfast was gorgeous, better full English than any you'd get in a 5*! Sandra serves the breakfast and introduces everyone so you get chatting.

Would thouroughly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robagsgrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Lodge Bed & Breakfast
White Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 34 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.0 mi away
Duke Of Buckingham
Duke Of Buckingham
#5 of 34 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hamilton House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 95 Victoria Road North, Portsmouth PO5 1PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing