We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grub”
Review of Delicatessen Too

Delicatessen Too
Ranked #83 of 655 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: US$1 - US$6
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely grub”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Came across this place on a university open day. We had 3 baguettes to take away which were filled to overflowing and made to our exact requirements with helpful suggestions as to additional sauces etc. The staff are friendly and the food itself was deliciously filling. They also accept debit cards with a proviso that there is a 20p charge if the payment is below £5 (I think) which is fair enough as the banks charge such an extortionate rate to the shops for this facility. The presence of this deli is almost enough to sway my daughter's decision as to which university to go to!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CPG12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompeymackem, Owner at Delicatessen Too, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello, thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your baguettes and I hope that you and your daughter liked portsmouth. Let's hope we can see you and your daughter again if she joins portsmouth uni.

Thank you again

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    6
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“lasagne”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

i have been using delicatessen too for about 5 years, the chili and spag boll are just supper. but lately i have been having lasagne, totaly brillant food and such value. so forget subw*y and gre*gs walk in to delicatessen too. deserves to be in the top eateries in portsmouth.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompeymackem, Owner at Delicatessen Too, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello, I'm glad you like the lasagne. It was my nonna's recipe, so I'm very proud of it. We can't compete with the likes of the 'bigger' chains but we like to think we offer something different. Good homemade food and good prices.

See you again.

Ben.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A daily lunchtime culinary delight”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Deli Too is a daily lunchtime culinary delight for us. It's not just the fresh high quality ingredients, great choice, and tasty food that keeps us coming back, it's also the passion and attention to detail that goes into preparing each and every order.

I really enjoy choosing from many specialist meats and cheeses, creating a meal that suites my mood and appetite. As an authentic Italian restaurant, they really go out of their way to bring you the very best of Italian cuisine, by using specially imported ingredients and authentic Italian recipes.

Deli Too is a friendly family run business, which gives them great flexibility to tailor for your every need. If you are looking for a great lunch at reasonable prices, look no further than Deli Too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LearnAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompeymackem, Owner at Delicatessen Too, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for the really nice review. Really makes it all worth while when we read these reviews. We put a lot of effort in finding all our imported meats and cheeses, and I am very proud of my homemade italian porchetta. Have you tried the Coppa yet? It's a pork neck dried cured. It's wonderful with some pecorino cheese.

Thank you and Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Fantastic mars brownie sandwich cake!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I visited the deli for lunch in July 2014.

I chose this place based on the other positive TripAdvisor reviews.

The deli appears to be family run which was good to see. The place also seemed to be popular with the locals too.

I had a wrap containing egg, bacon and sausage. I was able to customise my choice of salad too (I had the works!).

But my highlight was the sublime home-made mars brownie sandwich cake and at £1.50 a slice a bargain!

The positive reviews are fully justified. Excellent service and excellent food make for a winning combination.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mezzarino1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompeymackem, Owner at Delicatessen Too, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your wrap. Those Mars bar brownies were lovely weren't they? Have to admit I did have a sneaky few (quality control and all that)

Hope to welcome you back soon, you will have to try the lemon drizzle next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best hot chocolate ever”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I ate from here for the first time after my partner eats here everyday , the staff are so friendly its very clean , great quality of food at low prices I had a spicy sausage baguette it was amazing and the hot chocolate was the best iv ever had will definitely be returning ,XXX

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lottie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompeymackem, Owner at Delicatessen Too, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hello thank you for the review.

I'm glad you enjoyed the italian sausage, it's one of our best sellers now. Next time try the hot chocolate with marshmallows and whipped cream :) that's my faviourite.

Thank you again and see you soon.

Ben
Owner of Deli Too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delicatessen Too also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Delicatessen Too? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing