We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Eatery in Portsmouth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delicatessen Too

Delicatessen Too
Ranked #69 of 634 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Eatery in Portsmouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Getting lunch can be a monotonous task at the best of times, something made all the more taxing when the fruits of your expedition are a stale, bland sandwich with the taste and texture of cardboard. However, upon discovering Delicatessen Too my lunch purgatory is now a thing of the past! To start with the food is incredible. Everything is homemade and this comes through in the taste. The portions are extremely generous, which given the cost (under £5 for a large baguette, crisps and drink!) is a rare commodity! However, the one overriding aspect which ensures this deli is the place to go is the service. The guys are welcoming, friendly and funny providing their customers with the care and attention you would never be afforded in a chain store. I wouldn't just recommend this deli to a friend, I would insist!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    6
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Ignore the chain sandwich shops next door, this is Portsmouth's secret! Meal deal of £5 includes a large baguette (made however you like), crisps, fruit, can and a slice of cake (take the brownie, it's incredible!)

So happy to see DeliToo are open again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, family run deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I work very close to Delicatessen Too and am becoming a bit of a regular. I love the ethos and atmosphere of the place. The owners make all their own food and you can tell they do so with care and attention. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and their value for money is fantastic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 245KarenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family run deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I don't get down to this part of Portsmouth as much as I would like, but whenever I am down that way I always stop at deli too. Their choice is fantastic and the atmosphere is great.
I would really rate it and would never consider going to Gr**gs or S**ways nearby, they are not in the same class! Seriously if you ever get the chance give them a try, you won't regret it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColdFire3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompeymackem, Owner at Delicatessen Too, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello

Thank you for your lovely review. We have put our heart and soul into this business and it's people like you who give us positive reviews that keep us going.

Hope your down our way again soon.

Ben
Owner of Deli Too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Came across this place on a university open day. We had 3 baguettes to take away which were filled to overflowing and made to our exact requirements with helpful suggestions as to additional sauces etc. The staff are friendly and the food itself was deliciously filling. They also accept debit cards with a proviso that there is a 20p charge if the payment is below £5 (I think) which is fair enough as the banks charge such an extortionate rate to the shops for this facility. The presence of this deli is almost enough to sway my daughter's decision as to which university to go to!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CPG12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompeymackem, Owner at Delicatessen Too, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello, thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your baguettes and I hope that you and your daughter liked portsmouth. Let's hope we can see you and your daughter again if she joins portsmouth uni.

Thank you again

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delicatessen Too also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Delicatessen Too? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing