We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outrageous hotel with wonderfull employees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“outrageous hotel with wonderfull employees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

People, if you looking fore a great place to sleep, eat and stay, you defenatly need to book the Number Four Boutique Hotel in Southsea. What a place to stay, beautifull hotel, interiour, lovely people, amazing good food. All the people from the hotel makes us feel like a king and queen, they are so nice, helpfull and make youre so comfortable, the hotel feels like a home away from home. From the verry first warm welcome till the day we check out was everything oke, nothing to much and give all the help, the hotel and the whole place us a verry verry good feeling. My wife and i where forgotten that there exist such good people. We can only say its a great place to stay and i gife them 10 stars.
Ton & Lies from the Netherlands

Room Tip: The hotel have 10 rooms, i wish i good sleep in all the rooms they are so beautifull, cosy, clean, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiesFracassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Tony and Lies,
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we were more than happy to make you feel at home. It’s always nice to read such nice things about the hotel, so thank you once again for sharing your thoughts! And thank you so much for the pictures you sent us. Best regards from Mary and Aqua.

Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    102
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
98
341
27
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

For me and my wife this hotel was second to none.

Over the last decade we have travelled to many countries all over the world and stayed in many different hotels and have experienced all the kinds of different cultures you would expect.

For us this was just simply off the radar and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

The rooms all have their own individuality feel to them, the service was excellent, food exceptional and location perfect.

We personally believe more cities in the UK should follow suit and create their own version of this perfect Boutique hotel as it definitely has the edge.

Thanks to all the Number Four staff who made our stay overwhelming.


J Cornick

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesCornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear James,
Thank you so much for your review! It was nice meeting you and your wife and we hope to welcome you again in the future! Kind regards from hotel and restaurant staff!

Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Booked this hotel because we're we impressed with their website and the pictures. From the moment we arrived, the staff were extremely welcoming, first impressions of the hotel, beautiful decor, lovely furnishings and luxurious. Our family room was very large, have 2 boys aged 10 & 15, so needed the space. Had a bath in the bedroom, and also a shower in the en-suite, so no one was queuing to bath. Fresh tea and coffee on hand. Lovely comfortable beds and lovely touches throughout. We had to be up early before their breakfast time, but they offered to cook us our breakfast early, their attitude was you have paid for your breakfast, so you should have it when it suitable for us. They also have a bar which was lovely for pre-dinner drinks, although we didn't eat in their restaurant, they helped us find some good restaurants within walking distance by using the reviews on this very website! Overall a first class experience and would recommend this for social or business use, especially the single travellers as all the staff made a fuss of everybody. Thank you for a lovely stay, it was a great start to our holiday, even the children wanted me to give them 5 stars, which coming from a 15 year old teenager, should speak volumes!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Susan,
Thank you for your review. It was very nice meeting you and your family! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel comfortable. Please send our kind regards to your husband and boys! We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

If you're looking for JUST a place to sleep, this is not a place for you!!! In here, it's all about the experience: from the moment you arrive, you are greeted like they've met you before.
The rooms are absolutely gorgeous! There're not enough words to describe how luxurious, spacious, wonderfull the rooms are (yes, I've seen some of them on the way to my own). Tea and coffee freshly done are available 24h a day on your room, free of charge and always with a smile!
The restaurante is super cute, really cosy. We've had no plans for dinner so we ended up having our meal there and... What a surprise!! Amazing food, wine list, service. Have to admite I wasn't expecting such quality (in every way!) in a small boutique hotel like this.
If you're looking for value for money, amazing and friendly service, great food and an awesome night of sleep, don't even hesitate! Number Four Hotel is, without a doubt, the one for you!!
Perfection from the first to the last second...

Room Tip: Room 8 is gorgeous, quiet and super cosy! Home away from home :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Maria,
Thank you so much for your review! It makes us really happy to read such nice things! Our aim is to make our every guest feel this way so thank you so much once again and we are looking forward to your next stay!

Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

This hotel deserves every piece of praise it receives!! the staff are friendly and helpful - we were given a wonderful warm reception :) our room was fab - the location is beautiful - def one to visit in the summer - overall very very pleased will def stay again :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portsmouthsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Sarah,
Thank you so much for your review! We will be more than happy to welcome you again in the summer!

Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We were simply amazed with the quality from staff to breakfast to the design and features. We originally tried to book in at one of the other hotels within the group but as the hotel was full, we were offered Number Four as an alternative. We were unsure at first if this was going to be as good an experience as the hotel was still very new... how lucky were we!! This hotel really has it all, great food (Breakfast and dinner) 24 hour bar, which is unusual in a small hotel and extremely helpful team. The only trouble is going to be getting back in as this hotel is truly outstanding. Thank you to Mary and the other delightful staff.

Room Tip: just get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 738westy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our team are doing their best to assure our guests get the perfect service, so it is really nice to read such a great review! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne, Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed at Number Four for a weekend with our two very young childen to catch up with family in the local area and were extremely impressed with how beautifully presented the rooms were, the delicious food but most of all with the warm and genuine staff. We were made to feel very at home (I think my husband went downstairs to reception in his socks at one point!) and no detail was too small for them in making us comfortable and ensuring we had everything we needed. We were treated more like old friends than customers. The staff were fantastic with the children and it was a very welcome change to stay somewhere that felt grown-up and stylish but was at the same time relaxed and family friendly in the best way - a lovely mix. We will definitely be staying again in the future and would recommend Number Four to anyone visiting the area, it really is a great find!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_B681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Jane, Mat, Elli and Ed,
Thank you for such an amazing review! Our aim is to make our guests feel like home. And our staff are still talking about your lovely children! We are thrilled you liked the hotel and restaurant. I’m really happy you decided to stay for dinner with us on your first night and invite your family over. It was very nice to have you here and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards to your husband and lots of hugs to lovely Elli and Edward

Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Property: Number Four Boutique Hotel
Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group A La Carte Restaurant just 3 minutes drive or 10 minutes walk from the hotel and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing