We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Gorgeous gorgeous place! Treated to a weekend away by my fiancé and could not have asked for more. Style, perfect unobtrusive service and a great suite room with bath in the room and great space to relax in. Loved the restaurant too, special food and not a bad price at all. Going there again for my birthday and can't wait!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back for a special birthday stay!

Kind regards

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    108
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
103
361
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had booked a short break at a sister hotel but were informed on the morning before travelling that there was a problem with the room and that we were being offered a room upgrade (to a superior room) at Number 4 instead. The room was excellent - spacious, very nicely decorated and designed. The staff were extremely warm, welcoming and helpful. The restaurant and wine list represent good value. All in all a very enjoyable stay and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad we were able to upgrade you when a problem was experienced at one of our sister hotels. We are pleased you enjoyed the stay.

Kind regards

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed for two nights over the weekend and loved it here! The hotel is decorated in such a lovely way, our room was beautiful. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night which was of a really high standard as were the breakfasts. We went out on the second night and found lots of great places to eat and drink only a short walk away. The hotel is right next to 'canoe lake' which is lovely to have a stroll around and just set back slightly from the seafront. We loved our experience and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerGG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your reivew, we are pleased you liked the hotel and the setting too near the lake.

We hope to see you again.

regards

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just returned, with my 8-year-old son, from a fantastic three-day short break at this wonderful boutique hotel. Couldn't have asked for anything more! The rooms are fabulous, the food delicious, and the staff fantastic! Extremely child friendly, so much so that my son said he wants to live there for ever!!! Without a doubt, we shall be returning many times…

Special thank yous to Mary, Aqua and Louish (I hope the spellings are correct) for making our stay perfect :-)

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear, although a little smaller, are very quiet indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you Mark and Daniel for staying with us at Number Four. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we are happy to have Daniel move in anytime! We are looking forward to your return visit in May.

Thanks again

Aqua, Mary, Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Staff were very attentive and always seemed to want to help. A lovely change

Room was a little small but absolutely adequate and I think I paid for a smaller room anyway. Very clean. Great location. Really can't find anything to complain about

Breakfast was fantastic

Lots of little nice extras such as lovely toiletries, fresh coffee, homemade shortbread

I would highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review we are glad you found staff helpful and attentive and enjoyed the other little touches at the hotel.

Kind regards

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromyard, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2013

we spent an overnight leisure break here on 3rd April.
The hospitality was excellent, the room was spacious, with a fresh feel to it,we didn't have tea making facilities in the room, but you only had to ask and a pot arrived very quickly- with fresh milk(not UHT).We had a good evening meal in the restaurant and a leisurely breakfast with everything freshly prepared.
We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Print70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your reveiw, we are pleased you enjoyed your short trip. Whilst we don't provide tea in the rooms we are glad you liked the fresh complimentary tea provided to the room - I hope you tried the homemade shortbread too!

We hope to welcome you again

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

For my 50th birthday, we took this hotel with my wife, and i must say that this a wonderful memory.
Very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was great!
We will come back for sure!!! Highly highly recommend the stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you will have some lovely memories of such a special birthday and hope to see you again.

Best wishes

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
701 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Property: Number Four Boutique Hotel
Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group A La Carte Restaurant just 3 minutes drive or 10 minutes walk from the hotel and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing