We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Barton-le-Clay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Although we didnt actually sleep here, we stayed in the sister hotel, we came here for dinner. Both my wife and I agreed it was one of the best meals we had ever had, something like you see on TV on 'Master Chef' The waitress (from Portuagal) was so helpful and friendly, she made you feel like you were old friends but was not in your face but was always attentive. This was not just with us but I noticed it the same with the other guests too. She helped recommend the wine which again was from a good selection. The rest of the hotel looked immaculate and the lounge was comfortable and the bar well stocked.
Will definitely be coming back here to stay next time in Portsmouth, if I had to recommend somewhere to stay this would be the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your review of Number Four's restaurant. We appreciate you taking time to leave this and feedback to us on the food and service. Mary really makes the restaurant special and we are pleased you enjoyed the service she provided.

We hope to welcome you for a stay soon.

Kind regards

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    102
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
98
341
28
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Gorgeous gorgeous place! Treated to a weekend away by my fiancé and could not have asked for more. Style, perfect unobtrusive service and a great suite room with bath in the room and great space to relax in. Loved the restaurant too, special food and not a bad price at all. Going there again for my birthday and can't wait!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back for a special birthday stay!

Kind regards

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had booked a short break at a sister hotel but were informed on the morning before travelling that there was a problem with the room and that we were being offered a room upgrade (to a superior room) at Number 4 instead. The room was excellent - spacious, very nicely decorated and designed. The staff were extremely warm, welcoming and helpful. The restaurant and wine list represent good value. All in all a very enjoyable stay and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad we were able to upgrade you when a problem was experienced at one of our sister hotels. We are pleased you enjoyed the stay.

Kind regards

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed for two nights over the weekend and loved it here! The hotel is decorated in such a lovely way, our room was beautiful. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night which was of a really high standard as were the breakfasts. We went out on the second night and found lots of great places to eat and drink only a short walk away. The hotel is right next to 'canoe lake' which is lovely to have a stroll around and just set back slightly from the seafront. We loved our experience and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerGG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your reivew, we are pleased you liked the hotel and the setting too near the lake.

We hope to see you again.

regards

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just returned, with my 8-year-old son, from a fantastic three-day short break at this wonderful boutique hotel. Couldn't have asked for anything more! The rooms are fabulous, the food delicious, and the staff fantastic! Extremely child friendly, so much so that my son said he wants to live there for ever!!! Without a doubt, we shall be returning many times…

Special thank yous to Mary, Aqua and Louish (I hope the spellings are correct) for making our stay perfect :-)

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear, although a little smaller, are very quiet indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you Mark and Daniel for staying with us at Number Four. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we are happy to have Daniel move in anytime! We are looking forward to your return visit in May.

Thanks again

Aqua, Mary, Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Staff were very attentive and always seemed to want to help. A lovely change

Room was a little small but absolutely adequate and I think I paid for a smaller room anyway. Very clean. Great location. Really can't find anything to complain about

Breakfast was fantastic

Lots of little nice extras such as lovely toiletries, fresh coffee, homemade shortbread

I would highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review we are glad you found staff helpful and attentive and enjoyed the other little touches at the hotel.

Kind regards

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromyard, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

we spent an overnight leisure break here on 3rd April.
The hospitality was excellent, the room was spacious, with a fresh feel to it,we didn't have tea making facilities in the room, but you only had to ask and a pot arrived very quickly- with fresh milk(not UHT).We had a good evening meal in the restaurant and a leisurely breakfast with everything freshly prepared.
We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Print70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your reveiw, we are pleased you enjoyed your short trip. Whilst we don't provide tea in the rooms we are glad you liked the fresh complimentary tea provided to the room - I hope you tried the homemade shortbread too!

We hope to welcome you again

All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Property: Number Four Boutique Hotel
Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group A La Carte Restaurant just 3 minutes drive or 10 minutes walk from the hotel and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing