We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I was expecting something really great. The welcome was super. Mary gave me a really warm welcome and showed me to my room. It as rather small - in fact tiny, in my view. Situated opposite the reception desk it became very noisy in the room because I was so close to the reception and main entrance. I am an early sleeper and could not sleep because of the noise of guests in the bar and restaurant and those entering and leaving.
The bathroom was also very small indeed. There was no shower bowl. It was just a shower with a curtain and a drain in the corner. When I took a shower the drain was blocked and the water could not escape. The bathroom was flooded. Luckily it did not flood into the bedroom. It later drained very slowly. I did not report this to the management.
I had a kipper for breakfast and subsequently had an upset stomach for two days.
For the price this was a very bad value for money stay.

Room Tip: High up and as far back as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewWoodBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Whilst we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review we are equally disappointed to read your comments.

The room booked was a Small Double so, as you note, "rather small" - we have given the room a very honest name as the room is small however ideal for a traveler looking for a budget stay somewhere comfortable and boutique style - I see the price paid was 95 to include VAT, Cooked breakfast and high speed wifi. The location of the room is close to reception however we do have a comments section on the booking site so if you are a light sleeper we can ensure you are in a suitable room. However we rarely receive comments the room you were in was noisy and this is frequently a room guests may stay in for a number of nights as it is a low price option a guest often chooses this room for a longer stay.

The small doubles have either wet room or shower however the shower should never be blocked. I am sorry you did not speak to staff - especially Mary who you note as so helpful - as I know she would gladly have resolved this in a matter of minutes for you. However it should not have been blocked on your arrival regardless.

We are astounded at your note regarding breakfast. We have a Chef with over 25 years experience who cooks at breakfast daily for us so we are most surprised to read this. Please do feel free to contact us to discuss the situation further.

We do note that your tripadvisor reviews on all the properties you have stayed in are rated very poorly - in fact you have never rated a hotel above average despite clearly being a frequent traveler so may we suggest always contacting a property directly to ensure the right room is booked for you prior to your stay to avoid any disappointment. A good hotel would certainly always help you find the right room for you and we certainly would have done this. We hope you find a hotel room more suitable to your needs in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend at Number Four and found the experience everything you would expect from a luxury boutique hotel. In fact, they went the extra mile! The room was beautifully designed and furnished, the food in the restaurant was some of the best we have ever had and the staff provided a friendly and attentive service that was second to none. Thank you Number Four.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for leaving a five star review. We are glad you liked the design and furniture, restaurant food and helpful staff. Our aim is to make every guest satisfied so thank you so much for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a lovely evening in the bar, and breakfast was superb! But all this was nothing in comparison to the beautiful room, gorgeous decor, sumptuous carpets, we didn't want to leave . We had a little peek in some other rooms and they were equally as splendid, we we were shown to our room it literally took our breath away! Just moments from the sea, and our destination of Gun Wharf Quays, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review. It’s always nice to read compliments about our rooms. Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at Stattons - sister hotel to Number Four, a short distance away. As our hotel doesn't provide evening meals, they lay on a courtesy taxi service to Number Four and we ate there on our first night in Portsmouth. Suffice it to say, the food was so delicious, we had no hesitation in returning there on our last night. Service was attentive, knowledgeable, friendly and welcoming. The restaurant itself is attractively decorated and the tables are laid out with plenty of space between them. The menu contains a mouthwatering selection for each course and the chef definitely knows his art. So, while we cannot comment on the residential side of Number Four, the restaurant alone is worth our five stars.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Ann-allegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for choosing The Mercer Collection for your recent stay. It was very nice to have you staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Number Four is a fine 11-room beautifully renovated guest house in a residential area.  No lift.  Upon arrival at 2 pm we asked to order from their Snack or Afternoon Tea menu, but only lunch sandwich menu was available.  Our clean and comfortable 1-king bed room included a very good breakfast, spacious room except the shower.  Windows may be opened for fresh air or evening cooking smell.  #1 bus at the door: 2-minute to South Parade Pier and D-Day Museum, 5-minute to Strand restaurant row, 15-minute to Historic Dockyard.  Excellent service by a group of enthusiastic and efficient young people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for leaving us a review. It was nice to have you staying here and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked this on a special dinner,bed and breakfast deal after previously staying at their sister hotel. Lovely bedroom stylishly decorated with an ensuite shower room. Service from beginning to end was great. Meal in the restaurant was lovely and tasty and well presented. Good selection of wines to choose from at reasonable restaurant prices. Suppose the pre and post dinner drinks were a little bit pricey but we live near London so used to them. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and good choice. Heard other guests ask for things not on the menu and they were accommodated. Rooms do not have in room drink making facilities but you only have to ask for a tray of tea or coffee to be delivered to your room free of charge

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you again for choosing The Mercer Collection hotels for your trips. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, so please do not hesitate to contact us directly next time and we would like to see you again. Many thanks for a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I had an overnight stay. The room was clean and well presented. The breakfast was great and plentiful. Parking wasn't a problem and I was able to arrive late and still park easily. If there was a downside at all it was the cost of drinks at the bar. For the surroundings they were expensive. That aside it did not dampen the visit and I will be staying there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with services provided. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
699 reviews
4.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £58 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group Fine Dining Restaurant "The Kitchen" just 3 minutes drive or 10 minutes walk from the hotel and a Boutique Gastro Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing