We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed in Number Four for almost a whole week on a business trip. Rooms are really big (I booked a superior room). Every evening, we got some personalised advise for diner - reservation was made for us and a taxi booked. Freshly prepared breakfast "à la carte" was great.Price is lower than the standard hotel chains like Holiday Inn and service is a lot better. The hotel has plenty of good restaurants within walking distance, or you can take a taxi for only a few pounds.

Only a few parking lots at the building, but easy and free parking in the street.

Room Tip: As such I think you can take any room they have, but there is one very small room at a lower price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Good standard of rooms and hotel in general. Breakfast very good. Staff on duty was very helpful and chatty - nice after a very long day!

Many restaurants and food places with a short distance (10 mins walk). In fact, main road only the same distance for everything else required so location pretty good.

Only stayed for one night but overall very happy.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

What a find! Booked on spec off the website and were blown away by the excellence of the accommodation and the hospitality of Lisa. Dinner was booked for us at another hotel in the group and a complementary taxi shuttled us both ways (and the hospitality, service & food at the Florence Hotel was excellent too). Whoever is behind this group of boutique hotels knows and understands well their guests' requirements - and employs excellent, happy staff too. Congratulations to all involved, shall certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chiltern1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Lovely hotel and very friendly. My daughter bought me here for my birthday and it was very special. The breakfast was really good and all the staff were very good. I have stayed in some very luxurious hotels around the world and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and to recommend to anyone. Definitely will stay again.

Room Tip: The garden room is more quiet as it's at the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have stayed on hotels large and small around the world and I can say without hesitation that Number Four exceeded any expectations I had.

The quality of the hotel, staff, general areas and especially the room has to be seen to be really appreciated.

Room 10 was just perfect for us.... To all at Number Four thanks you so much and I will be back!

If you have not stayed here, don't just take my word... go and spoil yourself and see just what a wonderful place this is!

Room Tip: Room 10 with a bath at the top of the house...silence prevailed throughout our stay! Wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJofPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Very nice small boutique hotel. Good location in Portsmouth, close everything you would want to see. Our room was small with a TINY but nice and efficient bathroom. The staff could not have been nicer and they served a lovely breakfast to order. Quick visit but really enjoyed it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PhotoTraveller-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel was on of the nicest I've stayed in. Definitely worth the money.
We arrived late last night and greated by a very nice chap who arranged tea and coffee for us.we had breakfast im bed delivered by Lisa and her colleague who I think was called Alex. In brief the breakfast and service was fantastic.
Decor, rooms and everything else was very good.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshie0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
699 reviews
4.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £57 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group Fine Dining Restaurant "The Kitchen" just 3 minutes drive or 10 minutes walk from the hotel and a Boutique Gastro Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing