We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for 3 nights and loved it. Beautiful decor which is classy yet homely. Everything was very clean, great staff, good food served quickly and unlimited tea and coffee delivered to your room from 6am - 12am. There are only 3 parking spaces on the drive but I always found space on the road at any time of day within 30m from the hotel. It's a 5 minute drive (traffic permitting) from central Portsmouth and you can walk along the seafront from Southsea from the hotel doorstep - great location!

Room Tip: Each room is differently decorated and they are all different sizes so check out the facilities of e...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzsuzsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Guest Relations Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us for three nights and we are pleased you found the decor classic yet homely. ! Our aim is to make our guests feel like home! We are thrilled you had a good stay and found the staff helpful and friendly and we look forward seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes

All at Number Four Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
There are newer reviews for Number Four Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed down in Southsea for an evening as we were attending a birthday party in a nearby hotel..... decided to have a little bit of luxury and so used Tripadvisor to find a nice small hotel.... this is why Tripadvisor is so valuable... did a quick search and found this hotel... what a find.

Its only a small hotel but it is PERFECT. From the welcome when we first walked in to the checkout, the staff couldn't have done anymore for us and made us feel totally welcome and relaxed.

Best bit.. the bed.. I have never slept in a more comfortable bed / bedlinen / quilt than this.. it was amazing.

We had a kingsizeroom with a double shower which looked out the front of the hotel. The furnishings and finishes were great, top notch.

Thanks Number 4 for a relaxing weekend

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkC2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Guest Relations Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

It’s always a pleasure to read our guests describing the hotel as “Superb”! Thank you so much for your kind words! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and liked the quality of bedding and the comfort we provide.
We are pleased all our staff made you feel welcome and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes

All at Number Four Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I'm sat on the bed in our room as I write this review, eager to put pen to paper to tell the world how amazing this hotel is. The experience began with some exemplary customer service as we were taken to our room by the loveliest receptionist you could hope to meet after a tiring 3 hour drive. She showed us to our room with the promise of tea and coffee on tap, delivered to our room (within reasonable hours). The beds were comfortable, the rooms stylish and the bathroom well stocked with high quality toiletries.

The next morning we went down to breakfast full of optimism, and the food certainly didn't disappoint. We both ordered the farmer's breakfast, highly expectant of a non-greasy, protein-rich , tasty plate of food. What we got surpassed all expectations. The brilliant customer service continued with the waitress who served us (who incidentally also brought us our morning tea, with a friendly smile and personable manner). During the breakfast I proclaimed entusiastically that I had to leave a review on Tripadvisor, so here it is!

If I was being really picky, and I'm only doing this because I'm looking for fault so the review is balanced, the rooms are a tad small. But then it is a boutique hotel, so if you're looking for space you will be compromising on character anyway.

If you're thinking about booking this hotel, stop thinking and book. You will love it, I promise. In fact I can't believe it was £40 cheaper than the Holiday Inn down the road, which didn't include breakfast.

I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnWedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great hotel! Very comfortable rooms and dinner at number 5 worth the taxi ride!

Staff really helpful and great value for money. Breakfast was good and although no dinner service available you can eat at sister hotel number 5 and a taxi is provided to take you. The Food at number 5 is amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Number Four is in Southsea , Portsmouth , walking distance to seafront, Canoe Lake, local shops and restaurants. A short bus or car journey takes you to the city centre or Gunwharf Quays or Historic Dockyard.
We drove straight past it on arrival, look for "G Boutique Hotel" and it's right next door. There is limited parking on the hotel site but plenty of free unrestricted parking on the road nearby. friendly informal welcome and shown to our room. Clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. We dinned at Number 5 as part of the Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate for this hotel. A courtesey taxi takes you on a short trip there and back. Breakfast is served at Number 4 and was fresh and tasty. All in all a good overnight stay with a bit of character in the old building and friendly helpful staff. For Dinner review see Number 5.

Room Tip: Room 9 is at top of building, limited views, has bath in room and as advertised no shower. Room was...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

When your satnav says you've arrived look up you'll see the sign high up on the front of the hotel its not the hotel next door. The welcome was polite friendly and casual, we were shown to the room which is a pleasant change compared to the normal chains where you're given your room number and left to find it yourself.
We booked an executive room which was at the back of the hotel so totally quiet, the room itself had character and style that ticked our boxes, it wasn't the biggest room we have ever had nor the most luxurious however it was in excellent condition with everything in the room we needed. Some reviewers have complained of the lack of coffee making facilities in the room, they only had to ask or call and the chap who manned the front desk who brought a cafeteria of coffee without complaint and with very little wait. We went for a brisk walk along the seafront and around the park arriving back at the hotel windswept and a little chilled but arriving back at the hotel we actually went into the lounge which is not something we normally do except when waiting for taxi's or coaches etc to arrive, we had a brief conversation with another couple and again we ask for and speedily received a cafeteria of coffee all very relaxing and warming.
We had a good night sleep, the shower was excellent my only complaint here was the lack of clear markings of how to operate the controls of the shower so its trial and error without scolding yourself or freezing yourself, I've found this in many other hotels around the world.
Breakfast was well cooked, and my fussy wife received her fried egg just the way she asked for it hard yolk but not burnt,tea,coffee, juices, cereals, fruit, prunes, toast made from a choice of breads, just one thing (but I did not ask if they had any) no marmalade on our table or any of the ones close by there were jams and honey though, this is an English hotel !!!
Checkout was smooth and the young lady who attended to us thanked us for staying with them.
All in all a very relaxing and pleasant stay, I've already recommended this hotel to a friend who is going to stay at another one of the groups hotels 'The Stattons' hopefully he'll review it on Tripadvisor

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sapperjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Wow
Fantastic, perfect location, clean, and friendly, do not be put off by the restaurant being a complementary taxi ride to and from its location. You will love it...
All the staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Go to the number 5 for dinner, we had a suite with dinner, worth every penny, quiet location, but close enough to see Southsea, or if you are travelling else where, it is the perfect location for all your needs.

Room Tip: Perfect rooms, family room is number 10, ask if the room has a bath or a shower as some only have on...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £70 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group A La Carte Restaurant just 3 minutes drive or 10 minutes walk from the hotel and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing