We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a fantastic place food and service was the best I have seen, the food was fantastic. And Lisa on reception was so kind and helpfully she is a credit to the company thank you for a lovely stay we will stay there again very soon x

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Our intention is to provide our guests with the highest level of service so we are delighted you found this. We are very proud of our staff, thank you for the kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
There are newer reviews for Number Four Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Excellent hotel in a great position for all sites Pompey.Good bus service to city and Gun Wharf,plus parking on road outside.Rooms are great and ours was spacious (10).Staff were excellent and breakfast well cooked.Will visit again for a break or our next Guildhall concert.Also check out the lounge in No 4 as my wife would love the designer to come to our house to help me!

Room Tip: No 10 very spacious,bath in room! Great.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deans22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. Our hotel is in an excellent location close to the seafront and the hotel is on a main bus route into the City Centre or Gunwharf, so we are pleased you found this. We are also more than happy that you found the staff “excellent” and that you loved our lounge! Please do not hesitate to give us a call when you are in the area to book your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Clean and great service in this small hotel. The main restaurant is elsewhere but a decent full english is available in the mornings. Plush bar and lounge available with nice fittings everywhere. A bath in the bedroom was a bit much for us but some might use it - good free smellies to use. Easy to get in on the bus - cheaper by cab if there are 4 people going into Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catw195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Good value for money, very friendly and helpful staff, lovely décor and ambiance. excellent breakfast, would stay again -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Room Tip: we had the last small double available. it is small and the en suite is a bit tight but I knew that...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you found the hotel “good value for money” and that you found our staff “very friendly and helpful”. We are glad you liked the décor and atmosphere of the hotel. Thank you again for the review, we look forward to welcoming you to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was a last-minute booking as we suddenly had a rare opportunity to visit my daughter in Portsmouth. And how lucky we were! From the moment we were welcomed by the charming receptionist until the moment we had to leave, we felt we were being thoroughly pampered. We still can't believe how inexpensive it was to stay here. The whole hotel is beautifully and tastefully decorated, with comfortable furnishings and modern conveniences. They don't go in for tea and coffee facilities in the rooms, but refreshments are only a phone call away. Our room was spotlessly clean throughout. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and we didn't want to get out of it! All the staff were really nice. Breakfast was great – plenty of choices, more than you usually get in hotels. I had an omelette (my choice of filling) and my wife had a "Farmer's" English; both were wonderful. The only minor gripe was the small size of our room – not much space to put our stuff – but it was just for the one night and anyway we knew it was a 'boutique' hotel! A larger person might have had problems in the bathroom. We had a quick peek at the room next door and it was much more spacious: we know which one to ask for next time, even if it does cost a bit more; it will be worth it. And we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourist1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

On arrival first impressions are very good, helpful staff and a nice reception area, on going to my room I was dissapointed however, the decor is modern and the room was clean ( as one would expect ) but although I had booked what was advertised as a small room I was really surprised how small, in particular the bathroom, I could hardly get in the shower, and no I'm not overweight.
It spoilt what was otherwise a pleasant stay, oh and I would prefer a kettle and tea making facilities in the room and not have to order.
I wouldn't stay in a small room again and am not prepared to pay the extra for a larger one so another Portsmouth hotel will get my future business I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Don't book a small room as VERY small.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodley188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Owner at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hello

thank you for your kind comments about the hotel being clean and the helpful staff.

I'm sorry you found the small room to be, small, however we have tried to be as clear as we can with the room descriptions and titles to avoid any guest disappointment. We always aim to be very competitive with our pricing so we hope when you compare rates in the future you will try one of our Executive Rooms and review the hotel more than average if you find the experience preferable.

I'm sorry that the room size so negatively affected your review score of the hotel when, as you can see, we have had so few average reviews in the year since we opened. We hope to welcome you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A wonderful hotel with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Our room, number six, was fabulous and friends staying in rooms eight and nine also found their rooms very comfortable. The whole hotel was very clean, nicely decorated and well maintained. Breakfast was not the last word, but was better than the average. For me the only downside was I found the whole hotel a bit warm.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted you found our staff exceptionally friendly and helpful, as we are committed to providing excellent customer service. We are also glad you found the hotel well maintained, nicely decorated and very clean- we aim to have a spotless hotel. Thanks again for your review and we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £70 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group A La Carte Restaurant just 3 minutes drive or 10 minutes walk from the hotel and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing