We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book early”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Book early”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We really enjoyed our first stay in this lovely hotel 12 months ago. Very friendly staff, very clean, tasteful and interesting décor, furniture and fittings. Good value for the quality provided.

Book early. Portsmouth seems to be very busy over the weekend and we could not book into this hotel for our last two trips. We did manage to book the hotel for a Sunday evening on our latest trip and it was as good as our first visit and a massive improvement over the alternative hotel that we had to use for the Saturday night.

There are other hotels within the group which might be worth looking at if this one is full. The Number 4 Boutique Hotel still provides a fantastic range of cooked breakfasts but I believe that the restaurant has moved to the Florence Hotel, which is in the same hotel group, along with the very friendly couple who managed the restaurant on our first visit.

We consider ours stays at this hotel to be a treat.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually decorated. The smallest room is a little cramped but fine for a couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay here. We are delighted to hear that you found the hotel had “very friendly staff, very clean, tasteful and interesting décor” and found the hotel good value for the quality provided. Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel a second time, we hope you will stay again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    108
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
103
366
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have just had an amazing family experience at Number Four Boutique Hotel, in Southsea. We took over the entire hotel for the weekend and, without exception, the whole party of 16 discerning adults and 6 children thought it was one or more of the following adjectives: fabulous, excellent, awesome, cool, fantastic, unbelievably good!

On arrival, (staggered throughout the afternoon and evening), we were greeted by Lisa who showed us to our modern and imaginatively furnished bedrooms that were impeccably presented and had very comfortable beds. Lisa provided us with excellent and professional service at all times and nothing was too much trouble for her – she is a definite asset to the group.

The service and food throughout our stay could not be faulted; in fact it exceeded our expectations. We had breakfast on Saturday and Sunday, and dinner on Saturday evening. The quality of the food and the level of service can only be described as 1st class – a credit to the chefs, as well as other kitchen and the waiting staff!

I booked Number Four in July 2013 through Ellie (Hogston), who proved to be an outstanding point of contact, from when I made the reservation to the conclusion of our weekend. As you can imagine, with so much to arrange on the catering front as well as the allocation of rooms, we had many phone calls and much email correspondence. Throughout, Ellie made me feel as though she was there just to answer my questions but I know that she is a very busy person who works long hours to ensure that nothing is overlooked or left to chance. Indeed, she even arranged for a birthday cake to be there on our arrival. I believe that Ellie must be one of the Mercer Collection’s major assets, and my family and I would like to put on record our grateful thanks to her for enriching the whole process, from the point of booking to the delivery of a great weekend.

The visual tour available at http://florencehouse.tokyomagic.co.uk/number4vr/ proved to be invaluable during the room allocation process. It also gave a flavour of the high standards of décor, furnishings etc.

Based on our experiences, we thoroughly and unreservedly recommend Number Four Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent but room 6 is the best. However, talk to Ellie and she will advise y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBE080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Having stayed in the sister hotel, Stattons a couple of weeks ago, we wanted to go back but it was understandably full for Easter weekend. However we were offered a small double here at a very reasonable rate, especially since it was Good Friday, and weren't disappointed. A bit further from the centre, but handy for beach, Canoe Lake etc. While the room was on the small side, the bed was enormous and comfortable, and although there wasn't much room to sit we were adjacent to a very comfortable lounge. The en suite was a small wet-room, tiled in black, which together with low wattage lighting made shaving a bit of an issue, and space was at a premium. Given that the room faced the street there was no problem with street noise, but like Stattons the walls seem thin and we had some noise from room adjacent and above, although not excessive. The staff were as good as the Statton's staff, and the breakfast was the same excellent menu; they even had mustard, the lack of which was my only issue with Stattons breakfast. The Mercer group clearly have a good business model going; each hotel is small enough to feel very intimate, but they get some economies of scale from having 5 hotels in the group. For example they only have one restaurant, but offer a free taxi service to it from the other hotels. Would that there were such chains in other small cities.

Room Tip: Room 1 on ground floor is small but priced to reflect that. Handy for the comfortable lounge. Althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christ0pherF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a fantastic place food and service was the best I have seen, the food was fantastic. And Lisa on reception was so kind and helpfully she is a credit to the company thank you for a lovely stay we will stay there again very soon x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Our intention is to provide our guests with the highest level of service so we are delighted you found this. We are very proud of our staff, thank you for the kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Excellent hotel in a great position for all sites Pompey.Good bus service to city and Gun Wharf,plus parking on road outside.Rooms are great and ours was spacious (10).Staff were excellent and breakfast well cooked.Will visit again for a break or our next Guildhall concert.Also check out the lounge in No 4 as my wife would love the designer to come to our house to help me!

Room Tip: No 10 very spacious,bath in room! Great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deans22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. Our hotel is in an excellent location close to the seafront and the hotel is on a main bus route into the City Centre or Gunwharf, so we are pleased you found this. We are also more than happy that you found the staff “excellent” and that you loved our lounge! Please do not hesitate to give us a call when you are in the area to book your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Clean and great service in this small hotel. The main restaurant is elsewhere but a decent full english is available in the mornings. Plush bar and lounge available with nice fittings everywhere. A bath in the bedroom was a bit much for us but some might use it - good free smellies to use. Easy to get in on the bus - cheaper by cab if there are 4 people going into Portsmouth.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catw195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Good value for money, very friendly and helpful staff, lovely décor and ambiance. excellent breakfast, would stay again -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Room Tip: we had the last small double available. it is small and the en suite is a bit tight but I knew that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you found the hotel “good value for money” and that you found our staff “very friendly and helpful”. We are glad you liked the décor and atmosphere of the hotel. Thank you again for the review, we look forward to welcoming you to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
659 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Property: Number Four Boutique Hotel
Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group A La Carte Restaurant just 3 minutes drive or 10 minutes walk from the hotel and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing