We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florence House(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
553
126
22
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
553
126
22
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble showerl'occitane toiletriessister hotelsmall hotelmercer collectionlovely hotelbreakfast in bedsitting roombreakfast was excellentroom numberlovely roomalbert roadstayed longertea and coffeebus stopon arrivalthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great little hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were great and breakfast was amazing after a heavy night out at a wedding reception. Didn't get a chance to sample evening meal but would assume based on everything else it would be great
If back in Portsmouth will use Number 4 as our first choice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felineone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Kevin and his dream team run the best hotel group and although they are all wonderful, I adore Number Four. I regularly stay here on business and recently brought the family down for the Easter weekend! You should also try their group restaurant which serves the most delicious food and the service is second to none! Thanks to Ellie too and Lisa and the girls for always looking after us so well. Thank you doesn't seem enough - Kevin just always delivers first class service. From Mandy Keepax and family

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makadoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We really enjoyed our first stay in this lovely hotel 12 months ago. Very friendly staff, very clean, tasteful and interesting décor, furniture and fittings. Good value for the quality provided.

Book early. Portsmouth seems to be very busy over the weekend and we could not book into this hotel for our last two trips. We did manage to book the hotel for a Sunday evening on our latest trip and it was as good as our first visit and a massive improvement over the alternative hotel that we had to use for the Saturday night.

There are other hotels within the group which might be worth looking at if this one is full. The Number 4 Boutique Hotel still provides a fantastic range of cooked breakfasts but I believe that the restaurant has moved to the Florence Hotel, which is in the same hotel group, along with the very friendly couple who managed the restaurant on our first visit.

We consider ours stays at this hotel to be a treat.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually decorated. The smallest room is a little cramped but fine for a couple of nights. The bigger rooms cost more but are worth the money.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your review of the hotel we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay here. We are delighted to hear that you found the hotel had “very friendly staff, very clean, tasteful and interesting décor” and found the hotel good value for the quality provided. Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel a second time, we hope you will stay again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have just had an amazing family experience at Number Four Boutique Hotel, in Southsea. We took over the entire hotel for the weekend and, without exception, the whole party of 16 discerning adults and 6 children thought it was one or more of the following adjectives: fabulous, excellent, awesome, cool, fantastic, unbelievably good!

On arrival, (staggered throughout the afternoon and evening), we were greeted by Lisa who showed us to our modern and imaginatively furnished bedrooms that were impeccably presented and had very comfortable beds. Lisa provided us with excellent and professional service at all times and nothing was too much trouble for her – she is a definite asset to the group.

The service and food throughout our stay could not be faulted; in fact it exceeded our expectations. We had breakfast on Saturday and Sunday, and dinner on Saturday evening. The quality of the food and the level of service can only be described as 1st class – a credit to the chefs, as well as other kitchen and the waiting staff!

I booked Number Four in July 2013 through Ellie (Hogston), who proved to be an outstanding point of contact, from when I made the reservation to the conclusion of our weekend. As you can imagine, with so much to arrange on the catering front as well as the allocation of rooms, we had many phone calls and much email correspondence. Throughout, Ellie made me feel as though she was there just to answer my questions but I know that she is a very busy person who works long hours to ensure that nothing is overlooked or left to chance. Indeed, she even arranged for a birthday cake to be there on our arrival. I believe that Ellie must be one of the Mercer Collection’s major assets, and my family and I would like to put on record our grateful thanks to her for enriching the whole process, from the point of booking to the delivery of a great weekend.

The visual tour available at http://florencehouse.tokyomagic.co.uk/number4vr/ proved to be invaluable during the room allocation process. It also gave a flavour of the high standards of décor, furnishings etc.

Based on our experiences, we thoroughly and unreservedly recommend Number Four Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent but room 6 is the best. However, talk to Ellie and she will advise you of the room that will best suit you.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBE080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Having stayed in the sister hotel, Stattons a couple of weeks ago, we wanted to go back but it was understandably full for Easter weekend. However we were offered a small double here at a very reasonable rate, especially since it was Good Friday, and weren't disappointed. A bit further from the centre, but handy for beach, Canoe Lake etc. While the room was on the small side, the bed was enormous and comfortable, and although there wasn't much room to sit we were adjacent to a very comfortable lounge. The en suite was a small wet-room, tiled in black, which together with low wattage lighting made shaving a bit of an issue, and space was at a premium. Given that the room faced the street there was no problem with street noise, but like Stattons the walls seem thin and we had some noise from room adjacent and above, although not excessive. The staff were as good as the Statton's staff, and the breakfast was the same excellent menu; they even had mustard, the lack of which was my only issue with Stattons breakfast. The Mercer group clearly have a good business model going; each hotel is small enough to feel very intimate, but they get some economies of scale from having 5 hotels in the group. For example they only have one restaurant, but offer a free taxi service to it from the other hotels. Would that there were such chains in other small cities.

Room Tip: Room 1 on ground floor is small but priced to reflect that. Handy for the comfortable lounge. Although facing street there were no street noise issues, but some noise intrusion from adjacent room and first floor room above.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews