We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Number Four Boutique Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florence House(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerset House Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveller rating
554
127
22
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
127
22
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble showerl'occitane toiletriessister hotelsmall hotelmercer collectionlovely hotelbreakfast in bedsitting roombreakfast was excellentroom numberlovely roomalbert roadstayed longertea and coffeebus stopon arrivalthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 714 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Lovely decor, nice breakfasts, friendly young staff. The location was not great as we had trouble finding anywhere to park close to restaurants. We did eat at the hotels restaurant which is only a complimentary taxi ride away and we should have stuck to this little place every night instead of driving all over town. The hotels restaurant is called TheKitchen and the food is lovely. Louis the manager was fabulous.
The hotel is decorated in Art Deco style and is very comfortable indeed. One teensy little complaint was no biscuits offered with tea/ coffee. Loo paper very cheap and nasty but toiletries were luxury level! Maybe something to review? Overall though it was good.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kiwicurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A very pleasant 'designer' hotel in a very pleasant location a few minutes walk from the waterfront. As other reviews have mentioned, it is perhaps more like a very top end B&B but all the more appealing for it.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially given the reason for our visit to Portsmouth. We found the same friendly attitude in it's sister hotel Florence house too where we stayed for the third night.

Both the Bistro and the Kitchen Restaurants (ten minutes walk away) were excellent, as was the on-site breakfast.

My only gripe is the large dent in my rear bumper that some anonymous person left on Friday night when I had street-parked, but I suppose that could happen anywhere!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Yet again Number Four did not dissapoint for our 3rd visit. Came with friends and my bro to celebrate our anniversary, staff on arrival were very friendly. Rooms were lovely and clean, love the double shower. Very relaxing. Breakfast in the morning was superb, we were all well looked after.
Once again lovely staff. We will go back this year for another visit.

Room Tip: Love rooms six and seven, friends had the garden room which was lovely
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great little hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were great and breakfast was amazing after a heavy night out at a wedding reception. Didn't get a chance to sample evening meal but would assume based on everything else it would be great
If back in Portsmouth will use Number 4 as our first choice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felineone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Kevin and his dream team run the best hotel group and although they are all wonderful, I adore Number Four. I regularly stay here on business and recently brought the family down for the Easter weekend! You should also try their group restaurant which serves the most delicious food and the service is second to none! Thanks to Ellie too and Lisa and the girls for always looking after us so well. Thank you doesn't seem enough - Kevin just always delivers first class service. From Mandy Keepax and family

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makadoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews