We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best chippy in Portsmouth”
Review of The Cod Squad

The Cod Squad
Ranked #131 of 646 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably the best chippy in Portsmouth”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very good service, friendly and so polite. I think he even called me Madam! The chips were cooked to perfection and a pea fritter bigger than my fist. Will be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
145 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent take away”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

A local pointed out this place, saying it was very good and much better than some others: I'd agree. It's a take away, not dine in.
Light batter - not greasy - and great chips.
My wife had chicken and I had a large cod: the portions were very good.
We ate our food by canoe lake.
The only niggle was that the staff seemed not to know if they had any plastic knives and forks for the chicken portion: that said, about 5 mins later they magiced some up.
Not sure that the 'atmosphere' rating works for take aways: I suppose no one was rude, there weren't loads of youth dwelling, etc.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tedfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips by far.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Since changing hands this is now the best chippie around. The portions are large and tasty, the batter is really light and crispy, the service is extremely polite, its spotlessly clean and the flavour of the chips is great. Quite simply the best around.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank charl2238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,308 reviews
575 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“Quality Fish, Chips and Pea Fritter. Possibly best in town.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This fish and chip shop is in new frying hands and is cleanly delivering the best fish and chips I have tasted for some years. There is exactly what you would expect in terms of choice but the quality here is better than average. There is a table and a few chairs to eat in but mainly it's a take away service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I good chip shop in Southsea - at last!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Have searched for a good chip shop in Southsea ever since we moved here 3 yrs ago, and have finally found one.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Floss67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cod Squad also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Cod Squad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing