We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
20
22
11
13
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
22
11
13
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared facilities alarm clock bedside table iron and ironing board wi fi bottled water tea coffee full english hairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I booked this to stay at after the ferry trip from France, The owner sent a text the day before, saying 9pm latest turn up time , that was impossible as ferry gets in at 9.30, There was nothing on the site stating the time limitations when I booked. He then refused to return my money or honour the reservation.
I am hoping lastminute.com will remove this property from their site.
lastminute.com order number 113683500
David Inchboard

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
6  Thank val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in march 2014 and cannot express my dissatisfaction. Not only were the staff disgustingly rude the room, well, where do I start. If you're looking for a room to film a porn movie - this is the place for you. Dirty sheets and an awful smell. Uninhabitable. Please, for your sake do not stay here.

Thank you

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Abi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyLodge, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

The big failing of Trip Advisor is that they don’t check that their “reviewers” actually stay in the accommodation commented upon, which opens the door to malicious and untrustworthy remarks such as this, for whatever commercial reason.

Had this reviewer actually slept the night, he might just have noticed that our top quality, crisp, white and freshly laundered bed linen was complete with the tags from the professional laundry that we send our bed linen to.

His observation about “filming Porn” is quite bizarre and seems to be some sort of curious attempt to smear us, which reveals much about the personality of the “reviewer”.

If truth were to be told, we would really welcome you to come and enjoy our remarkably clean Guest House and better still, post an honest review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night and from the outset it was brilliant. The owner greeted me and showed me to my room. The room was fully equipped with en suite and even an iron and ironing board. The bed was comfy and the water hot. Breakfast was outstanding

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I booked a bed and breakfast as I thought better to give my money to a private organisation than a big company - the BB wasn't cheap £78 for bed and breakfast.

The first thing to note about the Abbey Lodge - DO NOT THINK of checking in before 4pm and if you arrive after 9 you are seriously out of luck. I tried to pick up my key before four, as I had plans in town and wouldn't be back until midnight, I was happy that the room wouldn't be ready - in the end I had to change my plans to accommodate the inflexibility of the organisation.

if you like a location that has signs on every wall telling you what to do or what not to do you will love the Abbey Lodge. My bathroom (shower cupboard in the room) even had instructions on how to use the tap in the bedroom - does anyone in 2013 not know how to use a tap????

The room was quite a good standard and had pretty much everything you would need, but as a loss to why anyone would want plastic flowers and about a hundred leaflets on local attractions in their rooms - and the light shade.. .. . .. straight from the 70s!!

The quilt cover was horrid as it was textured and made sleeping unpleasant, ended up getting dressed in the middle of the night so I wasn't exfoliated in my sleep

Breakfast was good - maybe between 8 and 9 on a Sunday morning is too early, but you have to be out of your room no later than 10, so eat up and get a move on.

An OK place to stay, but don't expect a warm welcome or any flexibility in the rules of the house

Room Tip: Its ten minute walk to the beach, but don't expect to park close to the BB - that's if you can even find a parking space
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews