We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and accommodating”
Review of Abbey Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Lodge
Ranked #32 of 35 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked a one night stay as we went to a gig at the wedgewood rooms, just up the road. On arrival the gentleman showed me where to park and helped us out with directions and things to do in the local area. He was very friendly and very helpful, he obviously cares about what he does and I don't understand the negative reviews about staff on here...? The breakfast staff were also lovely and made us feel very welcome. The room was really nice and comfortable, no problem with the bathrooms etc. minor problem with the keys when I left, but it was my fault for not leaving it in the room as requested! They even rung me to apologise when they found them again which was nice. definitely would go back if we visit agin.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank craigus1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

I booked this to stay at after the ferry trip from France, The owner sent a text the day before, saying 9pm latest turn up time , that was impossible as ferry gets in at 9.30, There was nothing on the site stating the time limitations when I booked. He then refused to return my money or honour the reservation.
I am hoping lastminute.com will remove this property from their site.
lastminute.com order number 113683500
David Inchboard

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
6  Thank val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in march 2014 and cannot express my dissatisfaction. Not only were the staff disgustingly rude the room, well, where do I start. If you're looking for a room to film a porn movie - this is the place for you. Dirty sheets and an awful smell. Uninhabitable. Please, for your sake do not stay here.

Thank you

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Abi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyLodge, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

The big failing of Trip Advisor is that they don’t check that their “reviewers” actually stay in the accommodation commented upon, which opens the door to malicious and untrustworthy remarks such as this, for whatever commercial reason.

Had this reviewer actually slept the night, he might just have noticed that our top quality, crisp, white and freshly laundered bed linen was complete with the tags from the professional laundry that we send our bed linen to.

His observation about “filming Porn” is quite bizarre and seems to be some sort of curious attempt to smear us, which reveals much about the personality of the “reviewer”.

If truth were to be told, we would really welcome you to come and enjoy our remarkably clean Guest House and better still, post an honest review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night and from the outset it was brilliant. The owner greeted me and showed me to my room. The room was fully equipped with en suite and even an iron and ironing board. The bed was comfy and the water hot. Breakfast was outstanding

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I booked a bed and breakfast as I thought better to give my money to a private organisation than a big company - the BB wasn't cheap £78 for bed and breakfast.

The first thing to note about the Abbey Lodge - DO NOT THINK of checking in before 4pm and if you arrive after 9 you are seriously out of luck. I tried to pick up my key before four, as I had plans in town and wouldn't be back until midnight, I was happy that the room wouldn't be ready - in the end I had to change my plans to accommodate the inflexibility of the organisation.

if you like a location that has signs on every wall telling you what to do or what not to do you will love the Abbey Lodge. My bathroom (shower cupboard in the room) even had instructions on how to use the tap in the bedroom - does anyone in 2013 not know how to use a tap????

The room was quite a good standard and had pretty much everything you would need, but as a loss to why anyone would want plastic flowers and about a hundred leaflets on local attractions in their rooms - and the light shade.. .. . .. straight from the 70s!!

The quilt cover was horrid as it was textured and made sleeping unpleasant, ended up getting dressed in the middle of the night so I wasn't exfoliated in my sleep

Breakfast was good - maybe between 8 and 9 on a Sunday morning is too early, but you have to be out of your room no later than 10, so eat up and get a move on.

An OK place to stay, but don't expect a warm welcome or any flexibility in the rules of the house

Room Tip: Its ten minute walk to the beach, but don't expect to park close to the BB - that's if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is very much B and B standard. The rooms were clean but very tired and dated. ( I did notice a stained duvet cover.). The landlords were perfectly nice people. The breakfast was very nice and freshly cooked. Our "superior room" would be a normal hotel standard room. At £78.00 / night I would say over priced.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deneuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.6 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#32 of 39 in Portsmouth
444 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
8.5 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
951 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge

Address: 30 Waverley Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range: £42 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing