We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really pleasant place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really pleasant place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I booked at late notice AND had a request for a ground floor room which was accomadated without any problems. Staff were lovely and helpful. Our room was ideal for us, the bed comfy (although i agree with another review about the very soft pillows, but thatis only a minor thing for me!) and the shower sizeable. Had a really pleasant (continental) breakfast, my partner felt the price for a cooked one was a little steep considering it was quite small. All in all though we had a really pleasant stay and would def stay there again.

Room Tip: we had room 1 in somerset house, for us it was lovely, the shower sizeable and bed comfy. it was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autumnsavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the hotel and would stay again with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Somerset House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    68
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
66
187
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I am in the area on business for approximately 6 months and have stayed in numerous hotels before stumbling across this excellent hotel!

Excellent hotel with friendly staff and a warm atmosphere. I've stayed in a variety of rooms ranging from the double to the superior suite all excellent quality, clean and tidy.

Would only stay in this hotel or the sister hotel Florence House (across the road) when in the area.

I would definately recommend to anyone coming to the area, for a comfy, friendly night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, General Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing the hotel and recommending to other business travelers. We look forward to welcoming you again and are glad you enjoy what we offer guests in terms of both quality of accomodation and service.

Best wishes

All at Somerset House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the Somerset House Hotel over the Jubilee weekend 2-4 June a double room on the grounfd floor.
The room was nice and clean and hubby found the bed comfy although I would say the pillows were a little soft but that is just personal preferance.
Would have preferrred a room with a bath but due to some procrastination on our part there were not many rooms available by the time we booked.
Breakfast (Continental) was lovely and the staff were very attentive knowing just the right time to ask if we wanted coffee refills or more toast.
My only gripes and they are very small -No Iron or Ironing Board in the room although these could be obtained from reception in Florence House and more hangers in the wardrobes would have been helpful but all in all a very pleasant stay in a lovely hotel with some charming features from yesteryear/

Room Tip: If you can book well in advance so that you may have a better choice of rooms as the one we had numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayesha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards

All at Somerset House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed in room 2 which is shown as the four poster bed with blue strippy curtains and rug.
The website claims 'unique boutique style - with attention to detail'.
The bedroom was dirty, with yellow/orange flakes around the door frames and white marks/stains on the coffee table. The bathroom has large sandstone tiles and could look good if the pink mould between the tiles was cleaned with a toothbrush and bleach. The leaky shower and mould made the bathroom feel dirty.
Our overall impression was that it needed a good clean and coat of paint, plus a new mattress, as the current one is also very lumpy.
Not quite the standard I was expecting for a Superior Suite.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 674Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, however, we are disappointed we were not able to rectify your dissatisfaction with the hotel directly so we could have helped further. As you may have noted we are refurbishing the hotel currently and I am sorry you did not get to experience the updated rooms, many have been redesigned. We will be updating our website shortly to show this.

We are sorry you were unable to experience the hotel as the relaxed and comfortable place we aim to be, and many other reviewers note.

Best regards

All at Somerset House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

The room itself was very good, but it lacked a full length mirror, only one packet of biscuits between us each day and the web site said Sky sports available but not on our TV! The continental breakfast was fine, but beware if you want a cooked breakfast they are expensive and we heard one client being offered only bacon and eggs due to a shortage of staff.
The attitude of the staff was mixed, sometimes very helpful but the welcome was brief, no introduction to the area or facilities and there were no instructions, welcome pack and local information leaflets in the room. When i asked if we could order newspapers I was told a free one was available in the hotel but that they didn't order in for customers. Overall high quality but lacks the finishing touches I expected for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
The room itself was very good, but it lacked a full length mirror, only one packet of biscuits between us each day and the web site said Sky sports available but not on our TV! The continental breakfast was fine, but beware if you want a cooked breakfast they are expensive and we heard one client being offered only bacon and eggs due to a shortage of staff.
The attitude of the staff was mixed, sometimes very helpful but the welcome was brief, no introduction to the area or facilities and there were no instructions, welcome pack and local information leaflets in the room. When i asked if we could order newspapers I was told a free one was available in the hotel but that they didn't order in for customers. Overall high quality but lacks the finishing touches I expected for the price.

Thank you kindly for leaving us a review. I am sorry you felt your stay was spoilt by some missing features. We will certainly address your comments regarding biscuits with cleaning staff and your welcome with front of house staff. We aim to offer a friendly warm welcome and I am sorry this was not the case with your stay.

We hope we can welcome you again so you can experience the hotel as the relaxed, high quality establishment it aims to be.

Best wishes

All at Somerset House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is the sort of place that prompts you into creating an account on Trip Advisor to share with others (and I mean that in a good way!)

The Somerset House Hotel is a great place to stay in a lovely location. Having never been to Portsmouth & Southsea before, we wasn't quite sure where best to stay but were glad we picked where we did. A quiet location but minutes away from place to drink and eat. Perfect.

The staff were really helpful. From pre-arrival (helping us out with places to visit, tips on parking and even booking our restaurant) to greeting us with a warm welcome on a very cold and wet weekend. Breakfast (whilst an additional cost) was made from really decent ingredients and set us up for the day.

The 2 rooms we stayed in (a decision made jointly by us and the staff, so that we could stay in a superior room on the 2nd night when it was available) were both lovely and clean, spacious and comfortable. Tea/coffee, shampoo, soap etc all present and correct as well as freeview TV and reliable free wifi (a must for me) in both rooms.

Will definitely be heading back to Portsmouth when we can, and a part of that will definitely be because of our lovely stay at Somerset and Florence House.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad staff were able to assist you prior to the stay and during and you enjoyed both the rooms you stayed in.

We hope to welcome you again in the future and perhaps you can try another selection of our rooms!

Kind regards

All at Somerset House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in a lot of different places and we always say the biggest factor in the stay is the attitude and conduct of the hosting. All throughout the stay we were made to feel as if we were an imposition. Arriving on time for breakfast we were told it had been stopped and after dithering they did cook for us (at a charge of £5.25 for bacon and 2 eggs!)
We were not told when checkout was and there was no info or welcome pack so we looked back at our reservation and it said it was at 12 if not specified elsewhere. We checked out at 12 and were told in a rather condescending manor that it was at 11, when we tried to explain why we thought it was 12 she was very dismissive.
Well appointed but their staff need to learn a thing or two about the hospitality industry!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigHellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had with staff, generally we received excellent reviews on our hotel management and staff so we were very disappointed to review your comments. All have been taken on board and addressed as appropriate.

We do offer a welcome pack in the room however they have recently been updated so it may have been they were not available in your room at the time. Staff are always happy to assist with your needs be it restaurants, taxis, local attractions or querys.

Regarding check out time I am sorry to hear of your trouble here. We always try to accomodate late checkouts and early checkins as appropriate but at times this can be difficult with being a small hotel with a small cleaning team. I am sorry you felt staff were dismissive.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the future to give you a different reflection of Somerset House Hotel. Please contact us directly and we will do our best to turn your view of the hotel staff around,

Best regards

All at Somerset House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Hotel

Property: Somerset House Hotel
Address: 10 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset House Hotel has been restored to the original splendour of its Edwardian roots. It offers boutique rooms with free Wi-FI, just a 5-minute walk from Southsea Beach. The stylish bedrooms all feature satellite TVs and comfortable beds are adorned with Egyptian cotton sheets. Individually designed bathrooms feature fluffy towels, designer toiletries whilst some have either walk-in showers, spa or free standing baths. The hotel is close to Southsea Common and Southsea Castle. Southsea Hovercraft Port is about 1 mile away, and is a quick way to reach the Isle of Wight. Free secure parking is available at the hotel. There is an A La Carte Restaurant opposite the hotel called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Somerset House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing