We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We have stayed on Somerset House before and have always been happy with our experience. Somerset House is now even better as we were luckily enough to stay in a newly refurbished room. We can't wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pswdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you for your review, our newly refurbished rooms have certainly been very popular with guests and we are glad you got to enjoy one of these.

We hope to welcome you for another stay soon,

Kind regards

Somerset House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

From the lovely welcome to the time we left we had a fantastic time. We had one of the newly refurbished rooms, it was beautifully done and had an extremely comfy bed. The en-suite was spacious with a good range of toiletries and everything spotlessly clean. We found the staff friendly and helpful, giving us good advice on things to see and do in the area. Southsea sea front just a couple of minutes walk away. Brilliant location for everything. Excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guinnesscumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you for your review! We appreciate the time taken and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Somerset House Hotel,

We hope to see you again soon,

All at Somerset House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Roomy and luxurious room with a shower the size of a small country. Eager to help and utterly charming staff at check in and check out.

A pleasant ten minute walk to Palmerston Road (?) and shopping etc.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you for such a lovely review! We appreciate it and hope to welcome you again.

Best wishes

Somerset House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I booked at late notice AND had a request for a ground floor room which was accomadated without any problems. Staff were lovely and helpful. Our room was ideal for us, the bed comfy (although i agree with another review about the very soft pillows, but thatis only a minor thing for me!) and the shower sizeable. Had a really pleasant (continental) breakfast, my partner felt the price for a cooked one was a little steep considering it was quite small. All in all though we had a really pleasant stay and would def stay there again.

Room Tip: we had room 1 in somerset house, for us it was lovely, the shower sizeable and bed comfy. it was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank autumnsavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the hotel and would stay again with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Somerset House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I am in the area on business for approximately 6 months and have stayed in numerous hotels before stumbling across this excellent hotel!

Excellent hotel with friendly staff and a warm atmosphere. I've stayed in a variety of rooms ranging from the double to the superior suite all excellent quality, clean and tidy.

Would only stay in this hotel or the sister hotel Florence House (across the road) when in the area.

I would definately recommend to anyone coming to the area, for a comfy, friendly night's sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, General Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thank you so much for reviewing the hotel and recommending to other business travelers. We look forward to welcoming you again and are glad you enjoy what we offer guests in terms of both quality of accomodation and service.

Best wishes

All at Somerset House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the Somerset House Hotel over the Jubilee weekend 2-4 June a double room on the grounfd floor.
The room was nice and clean and hubby found the bed comfy although I would say the pillows were a little soft but that is just personal preferance.
Would have preferrred a room with a bath but due to some procrastination on our part there were not many rooms available by the time we booked.
Breakfast (Continental) was lovely and the staff were very attentive knowing just the right time to ask if we wanted coffee refills or more toast.
My only gripes and they are very small -No Iron or Ironing Board in the room although these could be obtained from reception in Florence House and more hangers in the wardrobes would have been helpful but all in all a very pleasant stay in a lovely hotel with some charming features from yesteryear/

Room Tip: If you can book well in advance so that you may have a better choice of rooms as the one we had numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayesha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards

All at Somerset House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed in room 2 which is shown as the four poster bed with blue strippy curtains and rug.
The website claims 'unique boutique style - with attention to detail'.
The bedroom was dirty, with yellow/orange flakes around the door frames and white marks/stains on the coffee table. The bathroom has large sandstone tiles and could look good if the pink mould between the tiles was cleaned with a toothbrush and bleach. The leaky shower and mould made the bathroom feel dirty.
Our overall impression was that it needed a good clean and coat of paint, plus a new mattress, as the current one is also very lumpy.
Not quite the standard I was expecting for a Superior Suite.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 674Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, however, we are disappointed we were not able to rectify your dissatisfaction with the hotel directly so we could have helped further. As you may have noted we are refurbishing the hotel currently and I am sorry you did not get to experience the updated rooms, many have been redesigned. We will be updating our website shortly to show this.

We are sorry you were unable to experience the hotel as the relaxed and comfortable place we aim to be, and many other reviewers note.

Best regards

All at Somerset House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.5 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
686 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Hotel

Address: 10 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £64 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset House Hotel has been restored to the original splendour of its Edwardian roots. It offers boutique rooms with free Wi-FI, just a 5-minute walk from Southsea Beach. The stylish bedrooms all feature satellite TVs and comfortable beds are adorned with Egyptian cotton sheets. The hotel is close to Southsea Common and Southsea Castle. Southsea Hovercraft Port is about 1 mile away, and is a quick way to reach the Isle of Wight. There is a Fine Dining restaurant opposite the hotel called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Gastro Pub The Florence Arms next door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Somerset House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing