We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Florence House A True Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Florence House A True Gem!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Its in the heart of Southsea!, It was beyond just the average B&B, My guest and I were escorted to our rooms, which were beautiful and tastefully decorated. Breakfast
was also charming. I just wish we had time to stay longer You must go there and stay!
Kym T.
Jacksonville, FL
USA

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kym60805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for a lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    69
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
68
187
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sussex.UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We spent one night at the Somerset House hotel at the end of June especially to visit the new Mary Rose exhibition and the historic dockyard.
We had no difficulty finding the road - just the hotel! There is no way that this is a 4* hotel. There was no name on the building, no reception. One had to book in at Florence House across the road.
The room, on the ground floor, was very clean, a comfortable bed and pillows - but hated the old fireplace and a rather tired looking armchair.
There was tea/coffee/chocolate making facilities and the bathroom was fine with 2 sets of towels.
It struck me as an upmarket B&B not a hotel.
Breakfast was taken across the road at Florence House (thank goodness it wasn't raining). the choice was very limited and pastries were listed on the continental breakfast menu but there were none evident.
Lastly - the parking, We were given a parking permit and one has to drive around to find a space which we did initially. We went out for dinner later and when we returned - no spaces. We had only taken our smaller car and finally found a space just within the lines. When we went out in the morning our car had been pushed back about 2 feet. The handbrake was fully on so it had either been pushed back by the car in front or manually lifted. If you need a parking space don't go there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTRSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn't like the original fire place and antique chair, all our rooms are very individual. Regarding the parking we are completely taken aback by your comments and really can't explain how or why a member of the public would have moved your car in the street. We have literally thousands of guests stay per month and have never had this comment nor do we struggle with parking in the quiet neighboring streets. We are sorry you had a bad experience here and hope it does not deter you from returning to us in the future.

Best wishes

All at Somerset House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights 3/4 July.
Whilst some of the rooms illustrated on the web site may well qualify as" Boutique " ours most certainly did not.
Very small and converted from what was obviously a former living room with the grate still insitu this was a great disappointment.

Bathroom was tiny with just one of each towels . Not good enough for two people sharing
Breakfast taken across the way at the sister Hotel was pleasant and adequate

This the second time in one month that i have booked rooms with Booking .Com only to find that the rooms have been downgraded on arrival at the Hotel wthout any subsequent reduction in the rate
2 nights in this . room was quite enough.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before commiting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotterMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We were most disappointed to read your review after going to such efforts to accommodate you on the ground floor.

As discussed with you on check in the room booked was top floor with a high free standing bath. We offered another room (brand new and on the ground floor) to you and this one was selected. It is therefore disappointing to see none of our efforts to juggle all our other guests around to allow for this has been noted. The room has a lovely fireplace feature - we are sorry you did not like this but naturally designs are not always to all guests' taste.

We would suggest - having now experienced problems with Booking.com twice - that booking with the hotel directly may be a suggestion. It is only the hotel that can find you the most suitable room - not a worldwide agent with a million hotels on their portfolio.

We hope you will try us again and call directly so we can find the best room possible for your needs and taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed in Somerset House for one night on our way to the IOW in late June 2013. Our room was on the ground floor and was a reasonable size for two people and pleasantly decorated. The en-suite bathroom was small but the whole place was very clean and comfortable. The king size bed was great, roomy and very comfortable.The pillows were plentiful and with the bed linen all smelled fresh and clean and the Egyptian cotton sheets felt really soft and made me want to sleep on contact with them. We slept like a log (well 2 logs). Good tea, coffee and choc drinks available in the room. A quiet area meant a peaceful night was due and it didn't disappoint. The staff were very helpful, courteous and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a choice of inclusive continental or pay extra for a cooked full English, though I thought that a cooked breakfast choice should have been included too for the price of the room but this is a minor gripe as there was a fair choice on offer included in the room price. Parking is available on the street (hotel permit supplied on registration) or on a small area opposite Somerset House. The adjacent side street is quiet and narrowed by the parking of both residents and guests on both sides, worryingly, too narrow to allow emergency vehicles through which would have been more of a concern for me had I have lived in the road. Fortunately, this didn't affect the hotel's safety, or access in an emergency. Gun Wharf is about 30 minutes walk away so I'd advise a taxi if you want to get there and back, it can be breezy along the front in the evening. Over all it was a pleasant and enjoyable stay and I would definitely recommend the place. Comfortable, clean and pleasant with good staff. Can't ask for much more... except maybe a cooked breakfast as an inclusive choice?

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room if you have a lot of luggage, unless of course you're feeling particular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank villa_fan_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for such a comprehensive and thoughtful review, we really appreciate it. We recently changed our breakfast service and now cooked breakfast is included in the room rate. It was nice to have you staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the end of June for a weekend, booked through booking.com at 'Number Four' which advertised availability. However 10 minutes later i Was then called and notified that there was actually no availability, but the great Receptionist offered us an alternative at Somerset House. We stayed in the loft, which was beautifully laid out and tastefully decorated and included the spacious Jacuzzi bath. Didn't hear any noise or other guests and also had a table booked for the 'Number Four' Restaurant. There was a free taxi service to the other hotel less than 4mins away. Welcomed on arrival but reception and the waiter was fantastic. Had a real intimate atmosphere. Service and hospitality was 2nd to none. And food was amazing, presentation was floorless! Taxi then was also ordered for our return to Somerset House. Breakfast was at Florence House in another well presented room beautifully laid out and decorated. The cooked breakfast was to a good standard and certainly filling enough to start the day. Somerset house is staffless, yet all requirements were taken care of punctually. Highly recommend and certainly will be rebooking, though direct next time other than the Internet booking sites.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroTraveller569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for an excellent review! The staff are always doing their best to make sure guests leave the hotel happy. Many thanks for choosing The Mercer Collection and please do not hesitate to contact us directly next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel enough we enjoyed our stay from the moment we arrived until we left the staff were friendly and courteous and the rooms really clean and well decorated with an excellent shower all the potential issues I.e parking had a solution and the local pubs and restaurants were within easy reach the breakfast although continental was adequate a full English was on offer at an extra rate but rather expensive for a breakfast we thought but throughout our stay we'll felt as though we couldn't have found a better place while we visited Portsmouth and on a separate note the naval dockyard at Portsmouth is a must for any visitor ..... Well done

Room Tip: Number 7looked the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Many thanks for your lovely compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We enjoyed our couple of days here. The room was pleasant, the staff were welcoming and helpful and it was easy to park right outside. The bathroom was tiny though, I wouldn't like to have been staying there for a long time.
There was no sign on the building which was a bit weird but we found where to check in eventually.
I had poached eggs for breakfast the first day and they were truly horrible I'm afraid. Rubbery and tasteless. As no-one asked me, I wasn't able to tell them I hadn't enjoyed the breakfast - in fact I gave it to my husband to eat. He enjoyed his bacon and fried eggs both days.
It would be useful to have had some information about the local area in the room and also a way of contacting reception which didn't involve going outside and walking to the other building.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindyournose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you found parking and staff great.
Our reception area Florence House Hotel is very clearly signed and we send all guests an email prior to their stay directing them here. I’m sorry if you did not receive this. Regarding breakfast we are sorry you did not send this back, we cannot understand what happened here but would have been happy to remake your breakfast again. We are glad you husband enjoyed his.
We would also like to note for other guests who will find this review very misleading that we have phones in ALL rooms to enable you to call reception so there is no need to walk outside to the other building! We also have extensive information about the area clearly on display in the reception area where staff can assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Hotel

Property: Somerset House Hotel
Address: 10 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset House Hotel has been restored to the original splendour of its Edwardian roots. It offers boutique rooms with free Wi-FI, just a 5-minute walk from Southsea Beach. The stylish bedrooms all feature satellite TVs and comfortable beds are adorned with Egyptian cotton sheets. Individually designed bathrooms feature fluffy towels, designer toiletries whilst some have either walk-in showers, spa or free standing baths. The hotel is close to Southsea Common and Southsea Castle. Southsea Hovercraft Port is about 1 mile away, and is a quick way to reach the Isle of Wight. Free secure parking is available at the hotel. There is an A La Carte Restaurant opposite the hotel called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Somerset House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing