We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Somerset House for 1 night in September 2013. Its very small and intimate just like the sister hotels. Good customer service. Nick, the gentleman on reception who checked us in was very friendly and carried our luggage to our room for us.

The breakfast was served in the Florence House hotel accross the road, but we had a wonderful breakfast in bed! The room was nicely decorated and very clean and comfortable.

Would reccommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
It’s the best compliment for us when our guests recommend our hotel for their friends and family. Thank you so much! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    68
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
66
187
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
welshman
Level Contributor
225 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed 1 night in this hotel but it's more like a 4star b&b as said by previous reviewers the breakfast is a very short walk to the Florence hotel just opposite.There are 4 hotels in this group and judging by the Somerset we would stay with this group again

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boodera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Many thanks for your review! Please do not hesitate to contact us if are planning on coming to Portsmouth – we’d like to see you again at The Mercer Collection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Somerset House Boutique Hotel is set in an old house which has many of the original features. The rooms were very clean & 'dressed' nice. You have to check in at the sister hotel 'Florence Hotel' which is also where you have your breakfast. We didn't mind & it is literally, just across the road. The breakfast was 'buffet style' & the staff were very pleasant. As it was an old house, you could hear your 'neighbours' but this is just part of it. There is parking on the road, however you do get a permit so it is free.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollpoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. It’s always nice to read compliments about our rooms. Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in August with partner, booked a superior room with shower. Room was big and very tastefully decorated. Loved the room, ordered room service which they deliver from the sister hotel Florence opposite, large red wine, diet coke and a lovely sandwich, total of 12.00 on bill, reasonable I think, breakfast was high quality and fresh, we had the full English and it was Devine. The staff were very nice and helpful and couldn't do enough for you, my only complaint is that I was woken by loud noise at 0630 which sounded like people in the room above banging suitcases down the stairs and the front door was then left open!!! Not the hotels fault I know but maybe soundproof the room above with carpets instead of wooden floors.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreahex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with services provided. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Its in the heart of Southsea!, It was beyond just the average B&B, My guest and I were escorted to our rooms, which were beautiful and tastefully decorated. Breakfast
was also charming. I just wish we had time to stay longer You must go there and stay!
Kym T.
Jacksonville, FL
USA

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kym60805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for a lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex.UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We spent one night at the Somerset House hotel at the end of June especially to visit the new Mary Rose exhibition and the historic dockyard.
We had no difficulty finding the road - just the hotel! There is no way that this is a 4* hotel. There was no name on the building, no reception. One had to book in at Florence House across the road.
The room, on the ground floor, was very clean, a comfortable bed and pillows - but hated the old fireplace and a rather tired looking armchair.
There was tea/coffee/chocolate making facilities and the bathroom was fine with 2 sets of towels.
It struck me as an upmarket B&B not a hotel.
Breakfast was taken across the road at Florence House (thank goodness it wasn't raining). the choice was very limited and pastries were listed on the continental breakfast menu but there were none evident.
Lastly - the parking, We were given a parking permit and one has to drive around to find a space which we did initially. We went out for dinner later and when we returned - no spaces. We had only taken our smaller car and finally found a space just within the lines. When we went out in the morning our car had been pushed back about 2 feet. The handbrake was fully on so it had either been pushed back by the car in front or manually lifted. If you need a parking space don't go there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTRSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn't like the original fire place and antique chair, all our rooms are very individual. Regarding the parking we are completely taken aback by your comments and really can't explain how or why a member of the public would have moved your car in the street. We have literally thousands of guests stay per month and have never had this comment nor do we struggle with parking in the quiet neighboring streets. We are sorry you had a bad experience here and hope it does not deter you from returning to us in the future.

Best wishes

All at Somerset House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights 3/4 July.
Whilst some of the rooms illustrated on the web site may well qualify as" Boutique " ours most certainly did not.
Very small and converted from what was obviously a former living room with the grate still insitu this was a great disappointment.

Bathroom was tiny with just one of each towels . Not good enough for two people sharing
Breakfast taken across the way at the sister Hotel was pleasant and adequate

This the second time in one month that i have booked rooms with Booking .Com only to find that the rooms have been downgraded on arrival at the Hotel wthout any subsequent reduction in the rate
2 nights in this . room was quite enough.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before commiting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotterMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We were most disappointed to read your review after going to such efforts to accommodate you on the ground floor.

As discussed with you on check in the room booked was top floor with a high free standing bath. We offered another room (brand new and on the ground floor) to you and this one was selected. It is therefore disappointing to see none of our efforts to juggle all our other guests around to allow for this has been noted. The room has a lovely fireplace feature - we are sorry you did not like this but naturally designs are not always to all guests' taste.

We would suggest - having now experienced problems with Booking.com twice - that booking with the hotel directly may be a suggestion. It is only the hotel that can find you the most suitable room - not a worldwide agent with a million hotels on their portfolio.

We hope you will try us again and call directly so we can find the best room possible for your needs and taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Hotel

Property: Somerset House Hotel
Address: 10 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset House Hotel has been restored to the original splendour of its Edwardian roots. It offers boutique rooms with free Wi-FI, just a 5-minute walk from Southsea Beach. The stylish bedrooms all feature satellite TVs and comfortable beds are adorned with Egyptian cotton sheets. Individually designed bathrooms feature fluffy towels, designer toiletries whilst some have either walk-in showers, spa or free standing baths. The hotel is close to Southsea Common and Southsea Castle. Southsea Hovercraft Port is about 1 mile away, and is a quick way to reach the Isle of Wight. Free secure parking is available at the hotel. There is an A La Carte Restaurant opposite the hotel called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Somerset House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing