We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerset House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Florence House(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sandringham Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
259
78
19
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
78
19
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflorence armsmercer collectionsuperior suitelovely hotelcooked breakfastparking permitmercer groupbeautiful roomclose proximityon arrivala ground floor rooml'occitane toiletriesa lovely stayquiet roadpower showergastro pubbooked rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We booked into the Florence house hotel but ended up in Somerset House across the road, which has no bar or lounge area, and we had to go back over the road for breakfast. Room was lovely, beautifully furnished and clean although small for an executive king, and bed was really comfortable, but the shower room was really tiny. Staff were really helpful about parking (on street with a permit) and local map. It's a shame there are no outside gardens in any of these 'hotels', as we would have liked to have afternoon tea/pre-dinner drinks outside, as we had lovely weather while there. Really, they are very nice b&bs rather than hotels. That said, we would stay in the area again if the deal was good.

Room Tip: If you want to use the bar or restaurant, try to get a room in Number 5.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1601Sgb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Owner at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to hear you will be returning to us in the future when you will find we have completed building a garden area opposite the hotel for our guests to enjoy.

We are sorry you only rated the hotel as 'average" for the stay and hope you will be able to review the hotel more positively when the garden is added.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at Somerset House for 2 nights with another couple. The rooms were nicely decorated and quite small for an executive double. overall impression - nice and clean but need some attention to detail. Breakfast was good, and staff and the manager was very helpful and friendly. The four of us had dinner in the restaurant, overall was ok. Nothing special and once again the dining staff were superb, very efficient, resourceful and professional. I credit Mary and her team for a job well done.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisasim88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed in Somerset House and upon arrival were informed that we had been upgraded..a lovely start to wonderful stay.The staff were very friendly ,the rooms were amazing and clean and the food and service was good too.Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to visit Southsea or Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah542014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

We will always upgrade guests when this is possible and we aim to be very friendly, so we are delighted you commented on this. We are thrilled you would recommend us and we would be more than happy to welcome you back at Somerset House. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed across the road at the sister hotel. When booking, the receptionist was very friendly and did her best to give us the best room possible. The room we stayed in was amazing, very boutique style and all amenities were of high quality. Unfortunately our let down was the service. Half the staff seemed like college girls who had a little bit of attitude and lacked experience. Did not feel as welcomed compared to other stays we've had. However some staff were super friendly, in particular Mary, who was a star.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nads216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I only stayed for a single night, but the personal service on arrival and welcoming staff, as well as well-appointed room and quirky nature of the 'hotel in several houses' brought a smile to my face. I will definitely choose to stay here again if I need to stay over in Southsea or Portsmouth

Room Tip: I really don't think it matters which room you choose - I took a peek in the rooms that weren't yet occupied on the way to mine and I couldn't see any 'short straws'!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews