We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Of The Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Of The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We booked this hotel for a 4 day stay where we wanted to sight-see by cycle, to Portsmouth, Southampton, Gosport and the Hayling Island.
In describing the service we experienced - we found ‘The Mercer Collection’ to be a luxurious place with fantastic designs throughout, and found the price on par with other similar hotels which were not as impeccable - according to their website picture gallery.
To describe what we liked - we have not found a more better place with a friendly, caring service provided by the management and staff team so we will be booking our next visit here to explore the differing design rooms available - see their website for yourselves!
In mentioning the location and amenities - there’s nothing like ‘The mercer Collection’ for that right level toward a personal touch which is so inviting & welcoming.
This said, the room we had was spacious, bright, thoughtfully decorated and relaxing.
In saying what we liked best - would be to mention the perceptive service @ breakfast which was exceptionally good and the location is close enough to all major attractions.
Without doubt, here is a place we will definitely recommend to friends and family time and time again.
Thank you very much for a memorable stay - be sure that you’ll see us again in the future!

Room Tip: An informative website with real pictures that match the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunFlowerSmile2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    68
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
64
183
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The staff were very attentive and polite, the room was immaculately clean with great facilities (L'Occitane). Roll top bath was fantastic. Breakfast was amazing using top quality products. There was lots of choice (cereal, fresh fruit salad, natural yogurt, toast, hot buffet style selection and although scrambled eggs were served, fried or poached could be requested easily and with no fuss. There was never a wait considering 3 or 4 properties share the breakfast room. Rooms were made up everyday. Great leafy suburb location. Couldn't want more from a stay. Thanks to all staff for making our break so lovely!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our first time staying here, been to Southsea few times and not found such a lovely place as this. Staff were so friendly, breakfast very good. The rooms were all very different and felt at home in the room we had. Will be going back again to stay soon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gekko333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Booked this hotel as a package (dinner at The Kitchen, bed and breakfast). Good value, room was very nice, a bit warm as it was at the top of the house, not sure what it would be like if the weather was really warm outside. A few cosmetic details that need attention - badly filled hole in the bathroom, tiles looked like they had been recently re-grouted and hadn't received a final clean and buff, grubby skylights. Enjoyed a nice evening in the restaurant, lovely atmosphere, encountered a small problem with one of our meals that was resolved with excellent customer service. All staff to be commended for their attentive manner and lovely interaction with their customers. Will definitely make a return trip to the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donmat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here the night before our ferry to Spain and we couldn't have asked for a better hotel. The room was very large and beautifully finished. For the quality of hotel I thought it was very well priced.
The breakfast was also of very high quality and the welcome we got at reception when checking in was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed the night before and the night of our wedding and this was a perfect setting. The rooms are luxurious, a great size for lots of bridesmaid and look stunning in the preparation photos. Can't wait for an excuse to come back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We used 2 rooms and they were both perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenhodgkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

After working so hard and long, my partner and I decided on a last minute relaxing get away for Bank holiday weekend and looking at available hotels/ B&B's we chose Somerset House. Warning, if you book online with booking.com they take your card payment even though they mislead you into believing you pay on the premises! On arrival we where told we had been upgraded which was a lovely gesture. I really loved this little gem and just wish to help with my comments rather than be taken as a complaint as we have already agreed to return and try out your sister hotels next time we come down! We stayed in the seperate building , just rooms, Somerset house. The staff where very welcoming and we could not fault them . Our room was unfortunately next to the front door. We loved our room on entrance, my partner had ordered Champagne as a surprise and it was there in our room on ice ! perfect! Our room looked beautiful on entering however we noticed cobwebs on the pretty light fittings and everytime the people upstairs walked about our ceiling shook and the crystals slid up and down! Unfortunately we had marks on our towels ( only had two) would be a nice touch to have more as I washed my hair too! and surprisingly no bath robes ( most boutique hotels would have these just a suggestion) we went out for the night and then from 6 in the morning we got woken by constant banging of the buildings front door next to our room, and the noisy stairs. We even heard someone maybe in the room next door turning tap on and off and brushing teeth!!So no relaxing lie in for us! At one point the voice of an older lady was so constant we heard her asking a male voice about an item that he had ordered for the hotel 'on Ebay' so loud and clear we thought she was in our room, turns out there was a door in our room marked as 'private' and she was standing behind it in some sort of storage room , bit of a shame as this chat and door banging went on all morning and we couldnt get back to sleep . Our toilet was seperate from our shower and was so tiny (my partner is over 6 ft ) not very comfortable closing the door on your loo and your knees touch it ! The showeroom had areas of peeling paint and marks/drips all down he walls by the kettle. On a plus point, we really enjoyed our stay and will book the Florence house next time we want to try them all! Our breakfast was fault less and over all experince a 9/10. With these little touches sorted this would be a total gem stay ! Keep up the good work and get these finishing touches sorted :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellebuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Hotel

Property: Somerset House Hotel
Address: 10 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset House Hotel has been restored to the original splendour of its Edwardian roots. It offers boutique rooms with free Wi-FI, just a 5-minute walk from Southsea Beach. The stylish bedrooms all feature satellite TVs and comfortable beds are adorned with Egyptian cotton sheets. Individually designed bathrooms feature fluffy towels, designer toiletries whilst some have either walk-in showers, spa or free standing baths. The hotel is close to Southsea Common and Southsea Castle. Southsea Hovercraft Port is about 1 mile away, and is a quick way to reach the Isle of Wight. Free secure parking is available at the hotel. There is an A La Carte Restaurant opposite the hotel called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Somerset House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing