We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and inviting hotel close to the seafront.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A friendly and inviting hotel close to the seafront.”
Reviewed 26 October 2010

My wife and I took part in this years Great South run. We'd never stayed in Portsmouth but the Somerset, sister hotel to the Florence House (just over the road), was a magic find. Only two hundred metres from the front and, more importantly, the start/finish line; it was perfect. The room was well appointed. We only had a standard room, however it came with a jacuzzi! Oh the joy of finishing the race and then having a water jet massage. Heaven. We enjoyed our stay so much we've already booked a place in the 2011 Great South and ensured our reservation with this friendly, personal and quality hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookiemonster41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    73
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
68
197
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The Somerset House hotel is a converted house opposite the Florence House hotel. Until you arrive it seems that they are completely separate but on arrival you find that you check in at Florence House, when you call reception it's Florence House etc, in fact Somerset House just seems to be a wing of the main hotel.

The rooms are spacious (although we did keep hitting our heads on the sloping ceiling in the attic room) and modern. Unfortunately our room did not have a shower, only a bath, and the door to the bedroom was only partially obscured - not ideal when you are staying with friends.

There were a few housekeeping problems (no kettle, broken bathroom door, no clean towels on one day) but things were resolved once we spoke to reception. Service was not particularly friendly but it was efficient.

The hotel is in a residential location and does not look too promising on arrival. However, it's really close to the seafront and only a few minutes drive from the central sites. We did not experience any noise and found that taxis into Portsmouth were very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelloverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2010

If you are looking for a stylish place to stay in portsmouth this is the one .... Our room was really pretty, nice bathroom and lots of space. The downsides were - not changing the towels at all during our 3 night stay, the toilet roll holder falling off, the toliet seat not being fixed in place and the TV not worrying properly (although we were told this it impacted the overall feel). Probably the biggest disappointment was that we felt the staff didn't love us being there, the chaps that ran front of house were cordial but not overly welcoming .... Would have made a big difference to our stay if it was a bit more friendly. Still a cool spot in they city with an interesting cider house nearby, however they should take care if more options become available for returning guests looking for somewhere to stay...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iandhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Comfortable rooms, but still irritated that they took ALL the money for two rooms seven weeks in advance of our visit. And WHY do they have all the lights on in broad daylight, including the bathroom. This entails the fan is on ALL the time too. We turned some of them off. If they put out the lights, perhaps they could provide a full English breakfast with the money saved, instead of charging you £8 for it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliewackTruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

This is a wonderful boutique hotel which we have visited before and look forward to visiting again. Situated near Southsea front with the shopping centre a small walk away this hotel or its sister hotels Florence or Stattons are a must for any visitor wanting style and comfort.
All the staff seem to genuinely want you to have a good stay and will go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. Breakfast which is taken in a small dining room at Florence House is excellent with a choice of continental or full English. We visit Portsmouth on a yearly basis and since finding these truly wonderful hotels would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bshawManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We travelled to the UK for New Year with family in Portsmouth, and on previous trips we have stayed at Florence House Hotel, which is part of the same group and on this occasion we stayed in Somerset House. The quality of the rooms, the service and the friendly staff made it a thoroughly enjoyable visit. We would not hesitate to book into this hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briarglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

My partner and I have just returned from a two night weekend stay at the Florence House Hotel. We were actually placed in the Somerset House which is directly opposite. The rooms was decorated with a very modern twist and although we had a king size room which was more than adequate a couple of junior suites which were not being used had the doors left open providing a tantilising view of "what you could of had" Definitely worth pushing the boat out and booking one of these if the occasion warrants.
Staff were friendly upon arrival and offered assistance with our bags, no problem with parking despite it being residents as a permit was arranged for us.
The only minor problem would be the size of the dining area, we had to wait about 10 minutes for a table in the morning but the breakfast certainly made up for the wait - couldn't be faulted.
I would defintley book again should I return to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdm_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
649 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
656 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Hotel

Property: Somerset House Hotel
Address: 10 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset House Hotel has been restored to the original splendour of its Edwardian roots. It offers boutique rooms with free Wi-FI, just a 5-minute walk from Southsea Beach. The stylish bedrooms all feature satellite TVs and comfortable beds are adorned with Egyptian cotton sheets. Individually designed bathrooms feature fluffy towels, designer toiletries whilst some have either walk-in showers, spa or free standing baths. The hotel is close to Southsea Common and Southsea Castle. Southsea Hovercraft Port is about 1 mile away, and is a quick way to reach the Isle of Wight. Free secure parking is available at the hotel. There is an A La Carte Restaurant opposite the hotel called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Somerset House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing