We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical hotel, Hidden gem, Very helpful staff!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Somerset House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magical hotel, Hidden gem, Very helpful staff!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We originally booked for a break in October but unfortunatlely our son was taken ill and we couldn`t travel. So on the off chance we rung the hotel and we managed to postpone our stay at very short notice. We managed to rebook in november. The day before we travelled we had an unexpected email from the hotel asking if we would mind moving from their sister hotel into Somerset House, we obliged as we were offered an upgrade.
The room we moved to was the bridal suite and was immaculate.
The rooms are decorated to a very high standard with bathrooms to die for.

Surely if your reading this you are considering a stay at this hotel?
Book it now and be quick before the rooms are taken.

The hotel is a couple of minutes walk to a main shopping street, beach and Pyramid center, and a very short cab ride about £4.00 to GunWharf Keyes.

We will be booking again soon, hopefully two nights this time!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickandSally96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    67
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
64
182
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

My wife and I visited Somerset House when down to see our daughter at Portsmouth University. What a lovely find! Really comfortable large room at the top of the building where our younger daughter could also stay with us. The breakfast was superb with a huge selection of cereals, great fresh fruit salad, croissants and yogurt. There were also many cooked options above your standard full English including omelettes and kippers and poached eggs. A real treat. The staff were helpful in pointing us to various sights and even general local info to help our daughter settle into the area. We are pleased to have found this hotel at the start of our daughter’s four years in Portsmouth and will certainly be returning, there is a lot to do locally, much of it in walking distance or a short cab ride.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allenandisobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

Having not realised the Great South Run was on in Portsmouth when I booked a weekend away the hotel I usually use – Stattons - was already full. However the manager kindly upgraded me to a room at Somerset House – their sister hotel - for a long weekend away with my partner.

The room was incredible, huge 4-poster bed and sofa area with a spa bath room too. The area the hotels are in is really quiet and close to the seafront for walks and near to Gunwharf for shopping – and more shopping! Breakfast was lovely with the full English breakfast beautifully cooked to order and lots of toast and cereals too. We had drinks in the cosy lounge one night and were recommended a local restaurant to try. Always handy to have someone who knows the area well to recommend good places to eat if only staying a few days. Staff were very friendly and helpful despite the fact the hotel was incredibly busy. I’ll definitely be booking another break away here soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aria2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

Every year a small group of friends and I enter the Great South Run. Over the past four years we have stayed within this group of boutique hotels because we need some comfort after the run! It is just what we need - beautifully designed rooms which makes a real change from chain hotels which we had previously used. The staff are very accomodating and really make your stay special. They remember us each year and we see the same runners in the breakfast room on the day of the race! Breakfast is our fave thing about staying -there's your continental which is really substantial, loads of cereal and fruit, toast and 'proper' coffee - plus the best cooked breakfast for a treat the day after the run! You can't beat the full English or a smoked salmon and scramble egg bagel. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runningsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

We arrived approx 9pm ish, the reception we received as other reviewers have commented was cordial but not exactly friendly. We were advised that there may be a space in the car park if not we could park on the road. One of the reasons we had booked the hotel was for the onsite parking. If there had not been a space in the car park I am at a loss as to where a non resident would park as there was restricted on road parking.

We had a room in Somerset House which appears to have been converted into 7 separate bedrooms. The room itself was large and the bed was comfortable, however it was on the ground floor next to the entrance and so we could hear all the comings and goings of the other residents.

The room and bathroom had been converted well, apart from the toilet which was in a room we called the broom cupboard. The room was so small that my partners shoulders touched the sides and you could not comofortably use the toilet and close the door.

The other properties in the area appeared to be student digs and there was noise from a party until 2am in the morning.

Overall a pleasant room and good continental breakfast , however the local noise and the strange bathroom arrangments definitely spolied my stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkle19740711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

My wife and I took part in this years Great South run. We'd never stayed in Portsmouth but the Somerset, sister hotel to the Florence House (just over the road), was a magic find. Only two hundred metres from the front and, more importantly, the start/finish line; it was perfect. The room was well appointed. We only had a standard room, however it came with a jacuzzi! Oh the joy of finishing the race and then having a water jet massage. Heaven. We enjoyed our stay so much we've already booked a place in the 2011 Great South and ensured our reservation with this friendly, personal and quality hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookiemonster41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

The Somerset House hotel is a converted house opposite the Florence House hotel. Until you arrive it seems that they are completely separate but on arrival you find that you check in at Florence House, when you call reception it's Florence House etc, in fact Somerset House just seems to be a wing of the main hotel.

The rooms are spacious (although we did keep hitting our heads on the sloping ceiling in the attic room) and modern. Unfortunately our room did not have a shower, only a bath, and the door to the bedroom was only partially obscured - not ideal when you are staying with friends.

There were a few housekeeping problems (no kettle, broken bathroom door, no clean towels on one day) but things were resolved once we spoke to reception. Service was not particularly friendly but it was efficient.

The hotel is in a residential location and does not look too promising on arrival. However, it's really close to the seafront and only a few minutes drive from the central sites. We did not experience any noise and found that taxis into Portsmouth were very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelloverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Hotel

Property: Somerset House Hotel
Address: 10 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset House Hotel has been restored to the original splendour of its Edwardian roots. It offers boutique rooms with free Wi-FI, just a 5-minute walk from Southsea Beach. The stylish bedrooms all feature satellite TVs and comfortable beds are adorned with Egyptian cotton sheets. Individually designed bathrooms feature fluffy towels, designer toiletries whilst some have either walk-in showers, spa or free standing baths. The hotel is close to Southsea Common and Southsea Castle. Southsea Hovercraft Port is about 1 mile away, and is a quick way to reach the Isle of Wight. Free secure parking is available at the hotel. There is an A La Carte Restaurant opposite the hotel called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Somerset House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing